We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful”
Review of Skyline Drive

Skyline Drive
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: 105-mile Scenic Drive Built In The 1930's Goes Through The Entire Length Of The Park.
Bangor, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
98 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
Reviewed January 16, 2013

It's a nice relaxing drive with plenty of places to pull over and enjoy spectacular views. The speed limit is 25mph so don't be in a hurry.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank JohnRG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,120 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,648
    391
    74
    6
    1
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 6 Contributor
1,758 reviews
1,330 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 629 helpful votes
“Fall Color to Die For....”
Reviewed January 15, 2013

but make sure you have a map of the trail you plan to hike. For my first Autumn back in the US in 4 years, I decided a drive down Skyline Drive was just what the doctor ordered. It had rained the day before so when I entered the park there was a low level fog that made for an eerie drive. But as I moved along, the fog started to clear and the color was just awe inspiring. I had heard about a great hike on the Rose River Trail and all the waterfalls along it. I found one end of the trail head and started along, but I must have missed a turn. I ended up at a lovely waterfall (later found out it was the Dark Hallow Falls) and took the trail from there. I ended up a mile from my car. So if you decide to go for a hike make sure you know EXACTLY where you are suppose to go. Otherwise it was a great morning in a beautiful place....

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank jehenson81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottesville, Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful Virginia”
Reviewed January 13, 2013

This drive is one of the most beautiful on the eastern Seaboard. Breath taking views and worth going in every season.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Jill P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax Station, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
210 reviews
94 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“Majesty of Nature Twelve Months a Year”
Reviewed January 11, 2013

One hundred five miles of natural beauty. Skyline Drive is located in the Shenandoah National Park. It begins at the northern park entrance at Front Royal Virgina and extends south to near Waynesboro, Va and the start of Blue Ridge Parkway. Along the east and west side of the drive are numerous overlooks providing vista of the mountains, valleys, rivers and communities of the Blue Ridge. The park is teaming with wildlife; it is not unusual to see hawks, owls, bear and deer in the course of a drive. It can be awe inspiring at anytime of year, but the fall colors are beautiful beyond words. In addition to the scenic drive there are several formal campsites, the Big Meadows nature Center and Museum and thousands of hiking trails. Vehicle access to the park ranges from $10 to $15US.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank HedoCouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Garden, Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Love this place!”
Reviewed January 7, 2013

We love the blue ridge parkway, but every so often we venture up the Skyline Drive. Lots of great hikes, resort areas, and beautiful scenery! You can't beat a day driving in this unique location.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank sydnergy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Skyline Drive also viewed

Shenandoah National Park, VA
Shenandoah National Park, VA
 
Shenandoah National Park, VA
 

Been to Skyline Drive? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing