We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Beautiful Drive” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Skyline Drive

Skyline Drive
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: 105-mile scenic drive built in the 1930's goes through the entire length of the park.
St. Marys, GA
Level Contributor
104 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Beautiful Drive”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

loved taking our time and driving the mountain road as the cool breeze refreshed us from the South Georgia humidity ~ it was a breath from heaven

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank loveavacation123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,688 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,336
    292
    55
    4
    1
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Culpeper, Virginia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Monthly visit!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

My family goes to Skyline Drive about once a month. We usually stay on the part that runs between Big Meadows and Rappahannock Co. There are a lot of hikes we love to go on. In the past, we usually did the mile trail that is handicap accessible because it is flat and easy to push a stroller on . Plus, if the kids want to get out and walk, it is very easy for them. There are a lot of benches on this trail so you can sit and enjoy the scenery.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Rebecca B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Ridge, Virginia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Even on a drizzly day, still beautiful!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Even though many of the leaves were "past peak" -- although the website said there were still plenty of green leaves, we didn't see any! It was still a lovely drive from Luray down to the bottom, Waynesboro -- even with the drizzle and chill! Plenty of color left and all very pretty!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank momworkdc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
70 reviews
39 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Skyline Drive in the fall”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

Traffic was extremely heavy this year but the changing tree colors were awesome. Worth the time to stay a night or two if you have the time.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Paula S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Level Contributor
42 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Go in October to see the leaves”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

It was gorgeous with all the autumn leaves turning such wonderful colours. We saw some deer and chipmunks but no bears even though we were looking!!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank KobbyUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Skyline Drive also viewed

Shenandoah National Park, VA
Shenandoah National Park, VA
 
Shenandoah National Park, VA
 

Been to Skyline Drive? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing