We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best place to visit in the fall, leaves are beautiful !”
Review of Skyline Drive

Skyline Drive
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: 105-mile scenic drive built in the 1930's goes through the entire length of the park.
winchester
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Best place to visit in the fall, leaves are beautiful !”
Reviewed August 19, 2011

We live close to this park and have visited there many times. The rangers are nice and very helpful. The park is very big and offers lots of trails and things to see. The best time of the year to visit is when the leaves turn. The colors are amazing and almost unbeleivable. It is a very nice place to take a picnic lunch and just sight see for the day. If you love the outdoors you will love this park !

Visited October 2010
Helpful?
4 Thank SYC12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,995 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,556
    364
    69
    5
    1
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mounds View, Minnesota
Level Contributor
306 reviews
106 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 182 helpful votes
“One of the most beautiful drives we've been on.”
Reviewed August 18, 2011

We drove through Skyline drive from the North Entrance in Front Royal to the Swift Run Entrance. It was beautiful! We stopped at the Elkwallow store for souvenirs and at some of the scenic overlooks, but other than that we just drove straight through. It was much slower than the main roads, but well worth the extra travel time.

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
3 Thank MNroadtrippers66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glen Burnie, Maryland
Level Contributor
159 reviews
44 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Breathtaking, Beautiful Wildlife, Peaceful, Lot's of Overlooks, Outstanding!”
Reviewed August 9, 2011

We decided to take a drive here while visiting in Harrisonburg Virginia. The ride was amazing. The price for the entrance to the State Park was very affordable. You can drive through the park at your own pace. While driving you can see wildlife frequenting the park that is absolutely amazing. We saw lots of deer that you could just about walk right up to. There were about 75 overlooks. Some up as far or further than 3000 feet. You could see the entire town below and it was breathtaking. On the way back out we experienced rain and clouds that were so close we felt like we could reach out and touch them and just about did. We spent most of the day looking at the campsites and visiting the stores all around the park. It was just beautiful. Much better experience than the Luray Caverns. Lots of beautiful mountains. The Cabins that you could rent were just adorable. The lodges clean, the employees kind and helpful. We searched for bears that were there but didn't see any. Lots of people we talked to there did see some of them. We just kept missing them. The ticket that you get to enter the drive is good for about a week so if you don't finish it all in one day you can come back the next day and show your receipt and go back to another entrance for the price that you already paid for at the first entry time. It was absolutely gorgeous! Outstanding drive! Very clean and well kept. VIsitors there respected it just as well. Everyone that you talked to was kind and very happy. Would definately recommend it to anyone that loves the outdoors and natures best!

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
4 Thank oceanfreeme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oak Ridge, New Jersey
Level Contributor
934 reviews
423 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 723 helpful votes
“A new experience with an old friend”
Reviewed July 29, 2011

I've visited Shenandoah numerous times over the years, as both a road tourist and hiker. It is beautiful at any time of year. This was the first time I visited in the winter, mostly as a break from I-81 (Though I-81 is scenic, the words "Interstate" and "boring" can be largely synonymous). In the winter, you need to be prepared to have to leave Skyline Drive due to snow/ice road closures. However, even this can be interesting if you have time. The back roads are the way to see America - mostly invisible from the Interstate.

Visited January 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank HowlnBubba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk, Virginia
Level Contributor
53 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“SOME OF THE BEST NP FOOD”
Reviewed July 27, 2011

My family and I ate in the two Dining Rooms at Shenadoah NP over the 4th of July weekend. We found the food to consistently be much better than almost all of the NP restaurants we have eaten at over the past 10 years (approximately twenty). Whether it was breakfast, lunch, or dinner - the food was very tasty with excellent service. I would highly recommend the Dining Rooms at Big Meadows Lodge and Skyline.

Visited July 2011
Helpful?
5 Thank Suppo28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Skyline Drive also viewed

Shenandoah National Park, VA
Shenandoah National Park, VA
 
Shenandoah National Park, VA
 

Been to Skyline Drive? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing