We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (715)
Filter reviews
716 results
Traveler rating
337
213
75
39
52
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
337
213
75
39
52
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsping pongbunk bedsarts and craftshorseback ridingbuffet stylehot tubbag lunchbeautiful lakeyear after yearfun activitiessalad barnew forestall meals includedwine and cheesetie dyefamily traditionevening activities
Filter
Updating list...
74 - 79 of 716 reviews
Reviewed July 11, 2017

I have been going here to family camp for over 12yrs, every summer. This year was my last. Personal and management at the desk/kitchen were rude, dismissing, and incompetent with reception, billing, and other reasonable requests. The camp activities are fewer each year (no artist of the week for the last three years, no ski boat to note a few). The food was the worst ever, running out of food only 30 min after meals commenced on most occasions, substituted with something stale/dry/leftover. And WIFI is so deficient that there is little chance of downloading your email unless done before 7 am in the front lodge only. Some of us do have to work occasionally. The rooms/lodge appear to be a stronger focus over the last 5 yrs and the upgrades are noted but the heart of the camp is lost. I can no longer recommend it.

  • Stayed: July 2017, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
6  Thank Wendy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2017

We just returned from our fifth straight year at Montecito Sequoia Family Camp. It is so relaxing, beautiful, and fun! The activities are endless, the staff is superb, and the food is scrumptious, varied, and plentiful. The accommodations range from high end condo-type cabins to lodge rooms to rustic cabins without plumbing to fit most tastes and price points. Check out my full review at cozyclothesblog.com!

  • Stayed: June 2017, traveled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Filedoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MSLodge, Owner at Montecito Sequoia Lodge & Summer Family Camp, responded to this reviewResponded July 11, 2017

Thank you Filedoc for you wonderful review, and amazing blog!

We appreciate your kind words as we strive to provide all of our guests the "Best Family Vacation," but especially during our Summer Family Camp, when we believe Montecito offers it's premiere experience for families!

Thank you again! We hope we see you again next summer!

Sincerely,
T. Dally
Owner
Montecito Sequoia Lodge & Summer Family Camp

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2017

Let me start with saying that this "lodge" is overpriced for the type of room you get but you are paying to be in the parks. We stayed in the lodge. Entering the hallway I was quite worried about what our room was going to look like. Worn carpet and very old doors lined the hallway. Room was fairly small and again old style. Paneling on the walls, worn carpet and bath. It was however very clean and the beds were comfortable and over all a good stay. Dinner and breakfast were included in the fee and there were also snacks available late at night. Food was buffet style and mediocre. Got there the last half hour dinner was being served and some things were gone and nothing was refilled so be sure to get there at least an hour before closing. Same at breakfast! Nice game room to hang out in in the evening also.

Room Tip: Be sure to check if you have your own bath or a shared bath
  • Stayed: May 2017, traveled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kklammers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MSLodge, Owner at Montecito Sequoia Lodge & Summer Family Camp, responded to this reviewResponded June 25, 2017

Dear KKlammers,

Thank you for your feedback on your stay with us. I'm glad to hear that you found the beds comfortable and had an overall good stay.

You are correct that the rooms in our Main Lodge are older and on the smaller side as the building was constructed in 1970, but all our rooms have been remodeled for our guests comfort, and we are constantly making improvements to our property.

For those looking for more spacious and newer accommodations, we also offer brand new Forest Cabins and Lake View Suites, with private baths and decks, for those guests who are looking for more upscale accommodations. We recommend that our guests look at our website before they book, in order to find the best accommodation that suits their needs.

It is important to note that our room rates are all-inclusive, so you get much more than just your room with you stay with us. Your room rate includes a complimentary Wine & Cheese reception between 5 & 6pm, buffet dinner and breakfast, evening s'mores, and access to our seasonal pool, year-round hot tub, and private lake with boats & life jackets for our guests. We also have a children's play area and a trampoline. These amenities are not offered by other lodges in the parks, and we are proud of the value this affords our guests.

We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your time in our public living areas in the evenings, and hope you took advantage of the books and games we offer to our guests as well.

One more note for those guests who plan to arrive to our lodge after 7pm, we recommend calling our Front Desk at 1-559-565-3388, press "0," in advance and we will be happy to set aside dinner for you for your arrival. Our public kitchen also offers a microwave, cereal, toast, bagels, tea, hot cocoa and other items 24/7 for our guests - all complimentary with your stay.

KKlammers, thank you again for your feedback. We hope you visit us again and perhaps try our Forest Cabins or Lake View Suites, and arrive in time to enjoy the complimentary Wine & Cheese reception. We think you would enjoy your stay even more -- which is always our goal.

Sincerely,
T. Dally
Owner Family
Montecito Sequoia Lodge & Summer Family Camp

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2017

Nice area, beautiful lake, decent food options.

Pricy, room is cramped.

We received little instruction about available activities and the surrounding area. Only warning about not to hike in the woods. But hike we did.

  • Stayed: June 2017, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank yyyzzz_utah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MSLodge, Owner at Montecito Sequoia Lodge & Summer Family Camp, responded to this reviewResponded June 25, 2017

Dear Sir,

Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We are glad that you enjoyed the surrounding wilderness area, our private lake, and our buffet meals.

I apologize if you felt that your room was pricey and cramped, but we would like to point out that we offer a variety of accommodations, from rustic cabins to vintage lodge rooms to our upscale Forest Cabins, and that all of our accommodations are All-inclusive, which is how we provide great value to our guests. We recommend looking at our website before you visit to access which lodging accommodation best suits your needs.

Our All-inclusive pricing means that for the price of a room at the other lodges in the parks, your Saturday-night summer stay at our lodge includes a complimentary Wine & Cheese reception from 5-6pm, dinner (5:30 - 7pm) and breakfast buffet (7:30 - 9am), access to free soft drinks, tea and coffee, and other snacks 24-7, evening s'mores, and access to amenities such as our seasonal pool, year-round hot tub, and private lake with canoes, SUPs, kayaks and paddleboats (with lifejackets provided for safety). We also have a play area for young children and a trampoline, foosball and ping pong tables, and large public rooms with fireplaces for guests to relax and socialize in front of in the evenings. We also provide books and board games for our guests to enjoy during their stay as well.

Additionally, we have amazing hiking trails right at the edge of our property, specifically the Big Baldy trail, which offers a spectacular 360-degree view of the Sequoia & Kings Canyon backcountry all the way across the Central Valley of California to the coastal mountain range on a clear day -- it also makes for an amazing sunset or sunrise hike. We absolutely encourage guests to explore the parks and forests on their visit, so I apologize if someone discouraged you from hiking...I can only imagine this was a miscommunication of some sort. I do recommend going to the front desk for information on our self-guided Saturday night/Sunday morning activities available to our overnight guests, or check our website for more information on our Saturday-night only stays in the summer.

We believe we offer visitors the best value on the mountain for their money, and we don't charge a resort fee for all the amenities we offer...they are included in your room rate. We think if you break down our room rates (understanding that they include meals, amenities, self-guided activities, and our great location inside the park gates), you would realize the value we offer our guests. Please also understand that our remote wilderness location and operating in the State of California, makes everything more expensive than if we were located in a more accessible location and/or in most any other state.

Thank you again for reviewing our property...we loved your photos and hope that your trip to these parks and forests were amazing!

Sincerely,
T. Dally,
Owner
Montecito Sequoia Lodge & Summer Family Camp

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2017

This was a wonderful location - close to Sequoia and Kings Canyon. We liked the fact that meals were served each day as there were not many places for meals. Plus, the food was excellent (we enjoyed the breakfast and dinner buffets each day - we were there for 4 nights). There were a lot of activities for children and they were having a lot of fun - so if you have kids, this would probably be a good place to stop. They roasted marshmallows each night. There's no A/C in the rooms but since our stay was in May, that was not a problem. Our room did not have a chair - a single chair would have been nice. The room was very clean and comfortable. Our room had a bathroom - some do not. Some require a person to walk to a bathhouse. The road from Generals' Highway to the lodge could certainly use some work. If you need anything, you need to ask for it at the front desk. The rooms are not serviced each day like regular hotels. This is a lodge.

Room Tip: If you want a room with a private bath, be certain to read the room descriptions to ensure you get the type of room you want.
  • Stayed: May 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Deborah W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MSLodge, Owner at Montecito Sequoia Lodge & Summer Family Camp, responded to this reviewResponded June 25, 2017

Dear Deborah,

Thank you so much for taking the time to review your stay with us! We love hearing that you enjoyed the meals and noted the excellent location and activities. Thanks for your suggestions, as we are continually trying to improve our property for our guests.

Happy travels! We hope you come back and visit us again sometime!

Sincerely,
T. Dally
Owner Family
Montecito Sequoia Lodge & Summer Family Camp

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews