We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (715)
Filter reviews
715 results
Traveler rating
337
213
74
39
52
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
337
213
74
39
52
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsping pongbunk bedsarts and craftshorseback ridingbuffet stylehot tubbag lunchbeautiful lakeyear after yearfun activitiessalad barnew forestall meals includedwine and cheesetie dyefamily traditionevening activities
Filter
Updating list...
588 - 593 of 715 reviews
Reviewed March 22, 2009

The staff were great and helpful. We called the front desk to find out what activities were available. They told us there were hills for tubbing and that the tow rope can bring us back up the hill. However noone manned the tow rope, even though several staff stood around watching us as we all tubbed down the hill. There were only two hills available to tube down and they were not really good at all. Before we made the reservations we asked about night entertainment and were told that they would be having Karaoke the evening we were staying. There was NOTHING going on during the evening. We paid $169 a night for our room which included two meals. Thought it was very overpriced for what we got. Our friends had booked a room for three people, but about a week before we were to leave one of the friends had to cancel out. Our friend called the reservation desk to delete that one person from the reservation. When we got to the lodge, the front desk stated that it was not their problem, but that they would have to telephone the reservation desk on the next business day. The front desk stated that they and the reservation desk are two seperate entities and cannot speak for them. Tubbing and Cross Country Skiing (which we dont do) were the only activities available to us. The rooms are not that great, but they were rooms. My wife locked the door to the bathroom, then the door would not unlock, so we had to call maintenance who had to take off the door knob. I know this can happen to anyone, so this really did not bother us. This lodge was just not the value for the money. And it seemed that what they advertise on the web, is not really what they offer. Its just to entice you to drive up and stay at their lodge. For the money, it just is not worth it and I would not recommend this lodge.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Suzy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2009

We booked a stay here to stay with some friends. The reservation process was a real hassle because they are pretty disorganized. After attempting to cancel our reservation within the 48 hours stated on our confirmation, the reservation personnel said we would still have to pay, as there was a 30 day cancellation policy. Our confirmation page said the cancellation was 48 hours and we were not made aware of any other terms. I didn't know how we could be held to that policy without 1) being told about the terms of cancellation or 2) not having those terms in writing. The manager stated only 'everyone knows it was a holiday' and thus the special holiday policy was therefore in effect.

Stayed: January 2009
5  Thank Anna040
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MSLodge, Owner at Montecito Sequoia Lodge & Summer Family Camp, responded to this reviewResponded February 4, 2009

As an owner of Montecito-Sequoia Lodge, I would like the TripAdvisor community to know the following regarding this reviewer's reservation:

First and foremost, we did refund this woman's full deposit when she cancelled her reservation 2-days before her arrival for the Martin Luther King Holiday Weekend. We did this despite the fact that our Holiday Reservations policy, as it appeared on this woman's Reservation Confirmation, clearly stated that there will be "No refunds at any time. Our cancellation policy is strictly enforced and does not allow for any exceptions." This guest attempted to recover her deposit by quoting from our 48-hour cancellation/refund policy that applies to our non-holiday and non-group reservations.

Secondly, under the Reservation Notes section of this reviewer's Reservation Confirmation, where our reservationists can make any special notes/requests that are specific to an individual guest's reservation, it states: "Guest is aware of Holiday Policy. Please keep both rooms as close as possible."

I have provide TripAdvisor with a copy of this reviewer's Reservation Confirmation as proof of the accuracy of our account.

Sincerely,
T.S. Dally,
Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2009

Although we have visited the Montecito Lodge over the years and even eaten dinner there as a part of Grant Grove's National Christmas Tree event, we had never lodged there. This Winter we decided to try it out. We arrived December 30th and checked into the Sequoia (main) Lodge. To be sure the lodge is a bit quirky; Like someone's hobby construction project. The second floor hallway is a good example. To get from one end to the other you must climb up and down seven steps in the middle. This is NOT a complaint. These features give the lodge character that fascinate young and old.

The outdoor winter activities are excellent and have been reviewed by others. What hasn't been made enough of is both of the big common rooms: dining and bar have huge, air circulating, stone fireplaces surrounded by big leather couches. The bar has a window wall and deck that overlooked the beautiful snow-capped Sierra Mountian range. When the outdoor fun was done these are the places everyone gravitated.

Although Montecito was just recovering from a Christmas blizzard that still had their business internet system down, the staff was displaying esprit de corps and aggressively putting things back together. Their New Year's party was perfect family fun. We'll be back.

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank JCLong46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2009

My family and I stayed a week in late December at the Montecito Sequoia and we absolutely loved it. The staff is just wonderful, so friendly. The vibe of the place is very relaxed and informal, which matches our style. It was wonderful not to have to worry about cooking meals or going to a restaurant, all you had to do was show up and eat. The food was good, not gourmet, but everyone liked it. The kids loved the activities and the parents loved having that time to go ski together as a couple. The room was a bit small, but we didn't spend much time in the room anyway. My only minor nit is that they did not have a white board or something stating what the menu for that day was.

We seriously did not want to leave this place and are already planning our next trip there!

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank reinrika
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 24, 2008

My wife and I stayed at Montecito in mid-September '08 as part of a group from American Thunder (M/C Riding Group). I cannot say enough about the lodge. We enjoyed every minute of our stay(4days/3nights). We enjoyed perfect weather and absolutely beautiful scenery! Our group consisted of approx. 40 people (and 23 bikes) from SoCal. It was our first trip, but the group had been here before. Our room overlooked the lake, a short walk from the Main Lodge. If you're expecting 5-star amenities, its not for you, but the rooms, food, and activities were MORE than adequate! The staff was excellent! We met and made many new friends, including many europeans on vacation, local families, etc. It was a very pleasant experience! The price/value we felt was excellent! We definitely plan on coming back! Thank you to Montecito for such a wonderful trip!

  • Stayed: September 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank luv2sing2u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews