We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Give your kids an active and fun vacation!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Montecito Sequoia Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Montecito Sequoia Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Berkeley, CAlifornia, USA
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Give your kids an active and fun vacation!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2014 via mobile

we just returned from our 9th consecutive Summer Family Camp. This is the best part of the year for everyone in the family. If you want outdoor activities in a beautiful natural setting, fun creative group activities, and strong positive role models for your kids, this is the place for you. If you want full service, high-end luxury accomodations, it might not be for you. The food is good, some of the accomodations are a little rustic but comfy.

The programs are fun for children and adults, with lots of variety, including hikes, music, art, athletics, and watersports. The counselors are an amazing bunch whom your kids will truly love. The days start with silly Powwow songs and end with singalong campfire songs. A sense of community is quickly established between old friends and new. Kids can go with their age groups for very fun activities but also have other options, including parent-child pursuits. Teenagers who do the multiweek counselor-in-training program (Kilts) will become real leaders, besides having the time of their lives. The setting is simply stunning high Sierra forests and meadows.

If you have had trouble getting your kids interested in outdoor pursuits, this camp is the answer. If they are already there, they will appreciate it even more. And happy kids mean happy parents with time to have their own fun.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Dr_Paisley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

584 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    287
    176
    53
    31
    37
See reviews for
269
197
18
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toluca Lake
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2014

We live in LA and very rarely get to enjoy the beautiful wilderness and mountain ranges not too far north of us. This is our second time here and it is a wonderful, exciting, entertaining and peaceful week for our family of five (11,8 and 4). I would highly recommend it to any family looking to enjoy the wonders of nature and some non-electronic peace.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tkehrli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anaheim
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2014 via mobile

Great alternative for camping, ideal for families with kids, and the price is more than reasonable. You get all the amenities, tasty buffet food for breakfast/dinner (can order lunch bag too), and beautiful views with a great location inside sequoia park.
Again... It's great alternative for camping, don't be expecting a luxury 5 star hotel in the middle of the forest, be realistic. I read some bad review that I have to disagree with. Also if you don't like kids running around, choose a different lodge. This lodge is aim toward families.
I took my whole family: husband, kids (2,6,11and 16yrs old), grandma and grandpa, we all have a blast. They have activities for all ages. The food was good, and the cook was extremely friendly and helpful. Some tips:
its better if you go off season, try to avoid June, July, mid August since those are the most crowded and hot months (unless you are planning to go for summer camp program).
Also if you go out, make sure you are back to to lodge on time for meals which are serve at a certain time.
It's better is you reserve directly through their own website or call them that way you can get better rooms. And if you reserve with time it's the same price as if you reserve with Expedia or similar site.

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
5 Thank cronica20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
90 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2014

I went to Montecito for one night. It is the picturesque lodge with a lake... for kids and adults. It was really a good experience for folks that know they are not going for luxuries... but for fun.

Quick notice before I go on. Expedia has a lower rate than if you call the lodge directly... However if you reserve through expedia, they will give you a cabin without a bathroom with 1 large bed and 2 sets of bunkbeds (for 4 people). The cabin will also have an amazing amount of spider webs. Just be aware of that and don't freak out.

The main problem is of course the lack of a bathroom and shower, not the spider webs.

If you call them on the phone the price will be slightly higher... but apparently you will have a bathroom in your cabin (maybe a shared bathroom) but a bathroom nonetheless.

As for the grounds...

Wow... I mean double wow..

My kids spent a lot of time "fishing" with nets and bits of bread. They had a lot of fun catching and releasing the fish. I went off on a canoe by myself, and at night the staff built a fire... and we roasted marshmallows.

It was perfect for my kids and I. I will probably end up going again. My kids even spotted deer coming to have a drink at the lake. It was a great time.

Room Tip: Call them directly, don't use Expedia
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank DrLife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Crescenta, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2014

This was the best vacation we have ever had. Just got back from a great week at Family Camp. The location could not be more beautiful. The staff was universally great! Fun, helpful and clearly loved their jobs. Tons of activities for both the adults and kids. Gorgeous hikes in the Sequoia National Park, mountain biking, rock climbing, archery, art, yoga and more. I could not recommend this place highly enough. We already know we are going back next year!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tom W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Täby
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2014 via mobile

We loved it. In the heart of Sequoia close to many trails. Has both a pool area and its own little lake with a beach. It is camp standard with high service level and a lot of all inclusive activities. The walk to Big Baldy starts here and was great. We saw Marmot at the top and a bear on the way back. We will be back.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MatteLindgren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chardon Ohio
Level Contributor
172 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 217 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2014

We stayed at the Montecito Sequoia Lodge for one night while visiting Sequoia National Forest in mid-May. It is right in the Park and we had no problem with the roads and the snow was gone except for some small remnants in shady areas. We really liked this place and wish we were staying another night. It felt like we were pulling into a summer camp. There are both multi room cabins and single cabins spread out near a large main lodge that houses the dining room, rec room, and is also where you check in.

The guys that checked us in were great. We arrived late and when they heard we drove there strait from Las Vegas and were hungry they took us in the kitchen and pulled out leftovers from the barbeque dinner and told us to help ourselves…in fact they said we could eat anytime we wanted 24 hours a day. The leftovers and cereal are always available. They also had fountain drinks, juice, coffee, tea, hot chocolate, espresso and cappuccino available 24 hours. This came in handy for our early morning bird walk before breakfast. We did have breakfast at the normal time and they had all the normal breakfast stuff served buffet style. Our meals were included in our room price.

The lodge has a large dining room and another large recreation room. This room has a TV, Ping Pong table, dart board, and a bunch of tables with various board games. The Lodge also has a large deck that overlooks the pool and an unbelievable view of the mountains and the forest. The mountain peaks had snow on them while we were there and lots of photos were taken.
Our room was in one of the cabins closer to the main lodge. Ours was called Red Fir Lodge and it also houses the ski shop in the winter. It is a bit of a walk with your luggage to get to any of the cabins, but I think they have people that will deliver your luggage to your room or cabin. Our room was on the second floor and the steps did not have a landing, so they were fairly steep. Ask for a ground floor room if you think you will have trouble with the steps. Our room was small but very clean and functional. It had a queen sized bed and a set of bunk beds. There was also a dresser, night table, refrigerator, and coffee pot. The room would be a bit tight with more than two people, but you do not really want to spend much time in your room. The water was hot in the shower and had good pressure. It was great to sleep with the windows open.

The grounds were great. There are a series of trails a pond with boats, a pool, and lots of staff led activities. There is an agility course, trampoline, tons of kids toys, a larger campfire area with a fire each night after dinner. We only had time to go on a few hikes but it looks like we could have had fun for a few days.

This is not a luxury hotel, there is no TV or phone in the room…but they have a great staff, everything is clean, lots of little extra in the dining area, and a vibe that just makes you want to be in a good mood. We would recommend it to anyone wanting to stay right in the Sequoia/Kings Canyon Forest.

Tip: The pop out of the vending machine in the recreation room is less expensive than the pop in the cooler near the front desk.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Bobo185
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
8.9 mi away
Wuksachi Lodge
Wuksachi Lodge
#1 of 4 in Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,117 reviews
5.9 mi away
John Muir Lodge
John Muir Lodge
#3 of 4 in Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 421 reviews
19.8 mi away
Lazy J Ranch-Americas Best Value Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.1 mi away
Cedar Grove Lodge
Cedar Grove Lodge
#4 of 4 in Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 140 reviews
16.4 mi away
Sierra Lodge
Sierra Lodge
#5 of 6 in Three Rivers
3.0 of 5 bubbles 279 reviews
18.7 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Sequoia Kings Canyon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Montecito Sequoia Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Montecito Sequoia Lodge

Property: Montecito Sequoia Lodge
Address: 63410 General's Hwy, Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA 93633
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Montecito Sequoia Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
ALL-INCLUSIVE RUSTIC MOUNTAIN LODGE INSIDE OF SEQUOIA & KINGS CANYON NATIONAL PARKS, CA - Buffet meals and seasonal activities included in the room rate! Spectacular view of the Great Western Divide of the Sierra Nevada Mountains. Rooming options include newly-built Forest Cabins with private baths & decks, Vintage Lodge Rooms all with private baths. Rustic Cabins with a wood-burning stove and shared bathhouse. Property features an outdoor hot tub open year-round, and a seasonal pool, private lake, and hiking trails directly on property. Lodge is open year-round. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Montecito Sequoia Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Montecito Sequoia Hotel Sequoia And Kings Canyon National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing