We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Paradise in the snow” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Montecito Sequoia Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Montecito Sequoia Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
35 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Paradise in the snow”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2014 via mobile

Amazing value for a family of five with all meals included, of very high standard and comfortable rooms. This is a beautiful, picturesque place for a family trip to the snow, and was thoroughly enjoyed by all. The kids loved the endless free hot chocolate and free sledding, there were plenty of optional cheap activities including cross country skiing, and the family Bingo night was enjoyed by all. Great kids program too! Service exceptional. We would highly recommend this beautiful lodge!

Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Smooth1e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

584 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    287
    176
    53
    31
    37
See reviews for
269
197
18
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cambria, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2014

We didn't know what to expect, as 14 of us headed to the lodge. We had reserved the forest cabins as well as one additional suite, for our family trip. The cabins were gorgeous! We all hiked and had some fun archery time for the first couple of days. Then it snowed! The lodge opened their rental facility to allow all of us to be outfitted with cross-country skis. We had 2 glorious days in the snow, before it melted. Just before we left, Ian (great, enthusiastic teacher) was teaching fencing. The food was great, the accommodations far exceeded expectations, the dance night was amazing, and we are all looking forward to a return trip sometime in the future.
All 14 of us had a wonderful time!!

Room Tip: Rooms in the lodge can be noisy, but are perfect for groups with young children.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sue H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Visalia, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2014

I was there from April and checked out on the 6th, a nice guy Nick was helping me and it was very busy. there was a lot of people attempting to check out but the desk clerk Nick was trying his best as I observed the manager sitting there next to him. She was not helping and she was just doing nothing. I saw another girl her name was Jennifer, and she was just yelling and slamming the phone down and yelling.

This was rude and the poor man helping us felt embarrassed as he was left to check us out as well as others. You could tell by the reactions of the other guests attempting to check out they as we where very unhappy with the guest services.

The time there was nice, but the guest service with the manager and host (female) was rude and juvenile. During our stay we where told the wifi was working, but it was not. I spoke to a male adult he said he was the maintenance supervisor "Norm or Norman" he replied, if I did not like it, I can always go to another hotel. Wow, rude.

Our stay was nice, other staff members were friendly and assist. Aside the manager and the rude assistant our trip was ok. Im not sure I will return, I might take up the advice of Norm and go elsewhere.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Simon971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sonoma, CA
Level Contributor
75 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2014

Booked with booking.com and got a great deal on a Forest Cabin for 4 with meals included. Really nice separate cabin away from the lodge, quiet, clean and new. Upstairs has a bunkbed and toilet/sink room, downstairs has king bed with reading lamps, full bath, walk in shower, small kitchenette (no microwave), seating/eating area, plus a private deck. There is also a fold out couch downstairs. Comfortable for all 4 adults. Meals served in the lodge were ok, expect lots of kids, go early and grab a table. We did not do any of the activities, but if you had kids between ages 5 and 9; this place would probably be fun for them. We enjoyed our short stay and used this as our halfway point to see both parks. Most of the facilities are well-worn, but our cabin was great.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JeaFran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Altos, California, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2014 via mobile

This place is fabulous. You get to experience a lot of activities while being in a phenomenal location. When we were there we hike, did archery, cross country skied, paint gun, dance, etc.
Their staff is friendly and very knowledgeable they treated us with astronomy and a great informative slide, they even thought the kids how to build a fire. Love this place! I highly recommend it to families.

Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Liliana P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
73 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for the night whilst visiting the National Park, dumped half a foot of snow whilst we were here which was an unexpected surprise. Staff were very nice and even checked us in early. Rooms are very basic but as long as you know this going in you won't be disappointed. Communal areas have TV and Wifi.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Outback_Australian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tilburg, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
200 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2014

Yes it is rustic and the rooms are basic. Our room was in the main lodge and was clean. The bed was good with a descent matras. The lighting of the room is very poor and everything has a dark color so that makes it a fine place to sleep but not to hang out.
The lobby downstairs is where the meals (all included) are used. Diner was OK, lots of veggies incl salads, crab, meat. The staff is great and can be described as authentic. No trained smiles here. The fire place is great and really cool to hang out.
The lodge is in the park.

Room Tip: Main lodge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Esdeka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
8.9 mi away
Wuksachi Lodge
Wuksachi Lodge
#1 of 4 in Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,117 reviews
5.9 mi away
John Muir Lodge
John Muir Lodge
#3 of 4 in Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 421 reviews
19.8 mi away
Lazy J Ranch-Americas Best Value Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.1 mi away
Cedar Grove Lodge
Cedar Grove Lodge
#4 of 4 in Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 140 reviews
16.4 mi away
Sierra Lodge
Sierra Lodge
#5 of 6 in Three Rivers
3.0 of 5 bubbles 279 reviews
18.7 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Sequoia Kings Canyon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Montecito Sequoia Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Montecito Sequoia Lodge

Property: Montecito Sequoia Lodge
Address: 63410 General's Hwy, Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA 93633
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Montecito Sequoia Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
ALL-INCLUSIVE RUSTIC MOUNTAIN LODGE INSIDE OF SEQUOIA & KINGS CANYON NATIONAL PARKS, CA - Buffet meals and seasonal activities included in the room rate! Spectacular view of the Great Western Divide of the Sierra Nevada Mountains. Rooming options include newly-built Forest Cabins with private baths & decks, Vintage Lodge Rooms all with private baths. Rustic Cabins with a wood-burning stove and shared bathhouse. Property features an outdoor hot tub open year-round, and a seasonal pool, private lake, and hiking trails directly on property. Lodge is open year-round. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Montecito Sequoia Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Montecito Sequoia Hotel Sequoia And Kings Canyon National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing