We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Love MSL” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Montecito Sequoia Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Montecito Sequoia Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Love MSL”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2014

We have been coming here for a few years and always have a great experience. We have tended towards winter, snow shoeing is our favorite. The trails are beautiful, some not too strenuous, well groomed. The cost is reasonable, the experience is rustic, if you love rustic you will love this place. And the cost is very reasonable, for bed and 3 meals. Coffee always available and good. A professionally run place, they always have a good attitude. Just step out the door and snow shoe away, immediately into beautiful trees. Or hike away.

Room Tip: Separate cabins are quieter, but the main building is reasonably quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mike T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

584 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    287
    176
    53
    31
    37
See reviews for
269
197
18
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bell Gardens, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2014

The lodge is about 1 1/2 hours into the park, a little long, but once your there the scenery is just beautiful. We arrived later then we thought but when we went into the main lodge we found they had saved us our dinner with plenty of leftovers in the fridge and a help yourself sign on it. (awesome!)The dinner, and breakfast the next morning were very tasty, way better then we expected and best of all, included in the price of the room. The main lodge itself was very warm and comfy with toys for our children to play with and a tv. Staff was extremely friendly. Our cabin was really nice, spacious and clean with a whole wall being a window so you could take in the scenery. The only issue we had with it was there was no t.v. and having a 1 and 3 year old that would of been nice but if it was just me and my husband it wouldn't have bothered us. Wi-fi good in the main lodge but not in the room. Overall we really loved our visit there, and wished we could have stayed a few days and done some of the activities. The price is extremely fair considering all your getting and the location. We will definitely be going back, and highly recommend it.

Room Tip: Recommend the family cabin.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Susana P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pismo Beach, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 21, 2013

Our whole family LOVED staying here for the 1st time. We will be back! It will be a tradition in our family!! The staff was EXCELLENT!!! They were friendly & helpful. The food was great and was included. We had so much fun on the hike and doing the archery. The fireplace, games, food, & scenery...can't go wrong. THANK YOU EVERYONE.

Room Tip: We stayed in the lodge. It was great. If you want a QUIET sleeping area, you might want to stay in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ginger b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 17, 2013

We spent 2 nights at Montecito last winter (Jan 2013). Overall we had a very nice time. The food was good, buffet style. The rooms were basic, but had all necessary amenities and were clean. Heater worked well. We stayed in the rooms off of the lodge, which seemed to be ideal as we heard the noise around the lodge was a bit much at times. Our room was nice and quite however. We rented cross country skis one day and snow shoes the next. Cost was extremely reasonable. The snow shoeing was a blast. LOTS of kids. This is a great place for families. We were here as a couple, and it was still fun. We ended up meeting some lovely families during dinner, which is 'family style' meaning people sit at large tables and interact w/ other guests. The location is remote. Very serene and peaceful. Overall I would recommend this place, especially to families w/ kids and if there is snow, the snow shoeing was great.

Room Tip: Pick one of the rooms outside, adjacent to the lodge, not directly attached for a quiet nights sleep...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Travelbugg9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CA
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 5, 2013 via mobile

MSL has something for everyone. Great family environment, fun couple's retreat, and not bad for single people if you can handle a trillion kids at meal times ;-) and no night life.
Inexpensive and all-inclusive makes this resort one of my faves for snow trips. The food ranges from delicious to mediocre. (May have been that the chef was just having a bad day. It happens to the best of us.)
Snow fun, for around $15 you'll get 24 hours of interchangeable snow boards, snow shoes, or boots, poles, & skis. There's free tubing, a variety of free lessons, musical instruments & games for check out, and plenty of food to keeps one busy all day. In the fall there was free canoing, instrument lessons, and fencing!! They even have a wee bar to purchase drinks (or BYOB). No night life per se unless ping pong, Foosball, and s'mores by the fire are your idea of an exciting eve. All in all, I still love this cozy place with a "hearts of gold" staff.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LJ4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marina, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2013

All meals were included. Service was excellent....very nice folks! Plenty of activities for the kids and for us. We had a great time...if you are not there for lunchtime, when they serve a hot meal, just let them know the night before and they fix a very full bag lunch for you all! Scenery was magnificent. They could not have done anything to make us feel more welcome! Will definitely return, maybe in the cold months next time.

Room Tip: We only used one room, on the ground floor, because we have mobility issues. So cannot help.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JOHN M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waynesville, Missouri
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2013

We got up to Sequoia late- and knew we needed to stay close. Although the trip in was 22 miles it felt like 99. We stopped on the chance of a room (Thanksgiving weekend) and they had a cabin available for the weekend for a party of 5. We were welcomed like family. Very helpful and friendly staff!! The family atmosphere is wonderful. The all inclusive price can't be beat! If ever I were to come back to Sequoia I would go again and again!

Room Tip: We stayed in the cabins. Be sure to get up early and watch the world come awake!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LadyJane460
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
8.9 mi away
Wuksachi Lodge
Wuksachi Lodge
#1 of 4 in Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,117 reviews
5.9 mi away
John Muir Lodge
John Muir Lodge
#3 of 4 in Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 421 reviews
19.8 mi away
Lazy J Ranch-Americas Best Value Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.1 mi away
Cedar Grove Lodge
Cedar Grove Lodge
#4 of 4 in Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 140 reviews
16.4 mi away
Sierra Lodge
Sierra Lodge
#5 of 6 in Three Rivers
3.0 of 5 bubbles 279 reviews
18.7 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Sequoia Kings Canyon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Montecito Sequoia Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Montecito Sequoia Lodge

Property: Montecito Sequoia Lodge
Address: 63410 General's Hwy, Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA 93633
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Montecito Sequoia Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
ALL-INCLUSIVE RUSTIC MOUNTAIN LODGE INSIDE OF SEQUOIA & KINGS CANYON NATIONAL PARKS, CA - Buffet meals and seasonal activities included in the room rate! Spectacular view of the Great Western Divide of the Sierra Nevada Mountains. Rooming options include newly-built Forest Cabins with private baths & decks, Vintage Lodge Rooms all with private baths. Rustic Cabins with a wood-burning stove and shared bathhouse. Property features an outdoor hot tub open year-round, and a seasonal pool, private lake, and hiking trails directly on property. Lodge is open year-round. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Montecito Sequoia Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Montecito Sequoia Hotel Sequoia And Kings Canyon National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing