We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Gem within a gem” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Montecito Sequoia Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Montecito Sequoia Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Waynesville, Missouri
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Gem within a gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2013

We got up to Sequoia late- and knew we needed to stay close. Although the trip in was 22 miles it felt like 99. We stopped on the chance of a room (Thanksgiving weekend) and they had a cabin available for the weekend for a party of 5. We were welcomed like family. Very helpful and friendly staff!! The family atmosphere is wonderful. The all inclusive price can't be beat! If ever I were to come back to Sequoia I would go again and again!

Room Tip: We stayed in the cabins. Be sure to get up early and watch the world come awake!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LadyJane460
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

584 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    287
    176
    53
    31
    37
See reviews for
269
197
18
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2013

This is our second time to Montecito Sequoia Lodge. We had a group of 19 people ranging from 2 to 48 and there was something to do for everyone. No need to cook or clean, other than your plate from each meal. The scenery is awesome any way you look. The staff was very friendly and so much fun. We hope to make this a family tradition.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alison C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CA
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2013 via mobile

MSL has something for everyone. Great family environment, fun couple's retreat, and not bad for single people if you can handle a trillion kids at meal times ;-) and no night life.
Inexpensive and all-inclusive makes this resort one of my faves for snow trips. The food ranges from delicious to mediocre. (May have been because the chef was just having a bad day. It happens to the best of us.)
Snow fun, for like $15 you get 24 hours of interchangeable snow boards, snow shoes, or boots, poles, & skis. The free tubing, variety of lessons, musical instruments & games for check out, and of course food keeps one busy all day. In the fall their was free canoing, instrument lessons, and fencing!! They even have a wee bar to purchase drinks (or BYOB). No night life per se unless ping pong, Foosball, and s'mores, by the fire are your idea of an exciting eve. All in all, I still love this cozy place with a "hearts of gold" staff.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LJ4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2013

My room was very cozy and nice, exactly what I was looking for in the middle of the forest. I visited as a solo traveler, and didn't realize that this place is probably more geared towards families with children.

Your room includes dinner and breakfast, but these meals are buffet style at very specific hours (one hour windows). I believe dinner was 7-8pm, and breakfast was 8-9am. Most of the food was good -- dinner even had crab legs, and breakfast had an omelette station that cooked to order.

Overall, it seemed a little strange being there as a solo traveler amongst a bunch of couples with their kids, but I suppose I should have researched more to know what I was getting into. Really, though, there was nothing that made me feel uncomfortable...everyone was very friendly and welcoming. It just had a YMCA camp kind of feel to it, with all kinds of planned activities (S'Mores roasting, archery classes, etc).

I think this would be great for people with kids, but if you don't have kids you may feel more at home elsewhere. Overall, though, it was a great experience with beautiful scenery all around and a very friendly staff.

Room Tip: There are about a dozen rooms in the main lodge, and then there are separate cabins on site. I stay...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joshua H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2013

I stayed here for two nights and enjoyed some of the local scenery with the expert assistance of the staff. They were all friendly and able to solve my problems and had a wealth of local knowledge about what to see and how to see it. The food was excelent on the first night and good on the second night. Equally, it is worth pointing out that their website says they only provide breakfast, however, all meals were provided. Overall excellent.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jonathan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2013

This is our family's second trip to Montecito Sequoia Lodge. It is located between Kings Canyon and Sequoia National Park, making it very convenient to see both parks. We love this lodge because the setting is beautiful, surrounded by majestic trees, hills, rocks, mountains. And the staff is very friendly and helpful. While the lodging is a bit outdated, some of the rooms have been recently remodeled. We have always stayed in rooms with private baths, just makes it more convenient. They recently built 4-5 new self-standing cabins 2-stories which look very nice. We also really love the fact that there are 3 meals provided, with unlimited drink stations in the kitchen/dining area. They do provide bagged lunch for when you are planning to be away from the lodge. This lodge provides a lot of activities such as canoeing on the pond, archery, rock bouldering on a man made wall, trampoline, fooseball, ping pong, and camp fire in the evening with s'mores provided. One night, we played Bingo with all the lodgers there and had a blast. Beautiful scenary, friendly people, lots of activities, good meals--what more could you ask for?

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sabrina L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
37 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2013

Montecito Sequoia Lodge staff welcomed us warmly and was very helpful. The meals were delicious and the views spectacular. The rooms are comfortable. The only drawback is the lack of handicap access (too many stairs for my 92-year-old mother).

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marlene V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
8.9 mi away
Wuksachi Lodge
Wuksachi Lodge
#1 of 4 in Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,114 reviews
5.9 mi away
John Muir Lodge
John Muir Lodge
#3 of 4 in Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 420 reviews
19.8 mi away
Lazy J Ranch-Americas Best Value Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.1 mi away
Cedar Grove Lodge
Cedar Grove Lodge
#4 of 4 in Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 140 reviews
16.4 mi away
Sierra Lodge
Sierra Lodge
#5 of 6 in Three Rivers
3.0 of 5 bubbles 279 reviews
18.7 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Sequoia Kings Canyon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Montecito Sequoia Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Montecito Sequoia Lodge

Property: Montecito Sequoia Lodge
Address: 63410 General's Hwy, Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA 93633
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Montecito Sequoia Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
ALL-INCLUSIVE RUSTIC MOUNTAIN LODGE INSIDE OF SEQUOIA & KINGS CANYON NATIONAL PARKS, CA - Buffet meals and seasonal activities included in the room rate! Spectacular view of the Great Western Divide of the Sierra Nevada Mountains. Rooming options include newly-built Forest Cabins with private baths & decks, Vintage Lodge Rooms all with private baths. Rustic Cabins with a wood-burning stove and shared bathhouse. Property features an outdoor hot tub open year-round, and a seasonal pool, private lake, and hiking trails directly on property. Lodge is open year-round. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Montecito Sequoia Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Montecito Sequoia Hotel Sequoia And Kings Canyon National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing