We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Excellent” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Montecito Sequoia Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Montecito Sequoia Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Carrollton, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

Location is superb,staff is excellent in everything they do, several choice for food and beverages,room size is small but comfortable.lots of activities for all ages.driving distance from Los Angeles is about 5 hours and 2 hours from Fresno,ca.this facility does not have fitness center .

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ketan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

524 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    256
    161
    45
    28
    34
See reviews for
250
163
16
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Coppell, Texas
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

I stayed at this lodge from 27th Sept. through 2nd October 2013. I chanced upon it by default through Sequoia and Kings canyon National Park's website. I am glad that I chanced upon it. It's a great place to stay in Sequoia National Park. I had a single room, which was basic but quite comfortable. The bathroom size was quite nice. My room as well as the bathroom, each, had a nice size window overlooking a small lake. The view from this window in the morning as the sun rose was out of this world.

The staff is very friendly, helpful and eager to take care of the guests with smile. My dealings were with Nancy, the Lodge manager, Nick and Finch, the hike guide. I enjoyed interacting with them. The food is buffet style with a great deal of variety and excellent. Sometimes for breakfast they have "made to order" omelets! One can also request picnic/sack lunch the previous evening. Chefs, Bob and John do a great job.There is a basic bar and they allow you to bring your own wine. The corkage fee is the lowest I have ever seen anywhere! Price of various drinks is quite.
comparable to other places.

They have a variety of activities every day for adults as well as kids. Every day they offer one trail hike with a trail guide. The other activities available are paddle boating, canoeing, table tennis, basket ball, trampoline, volley ball, swimming pool, and hot tub. Some nights they do campfire.

Free WI-fi is available in the dining hall. Adjacent to the dining hall is a huge deck offering panoramic views of the mountains forming the Western Divide. One can just sit there for quite sometime and take in the views!

Overall, a great place to stay in Sequoia National Park. I hope I would have an opportunity to return to this place.

Room Tip: If you are reserving a single room , ask for the room # 137 in Sugar Pine Lodge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank PradipMehta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wrea Green, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
501 reviews
105 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 189 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

I know it has Lodge in the title but I booked this after searching for 'hotel' and even this review offers the site as a Hotel. It was liking going back to school with 'quiet time after 10.00'.I still await whether dinner in the evening was in my bill - I assumed not as not mentioned in my 'reservation' but staff spoke as of it should be. .. There may be a need for places like this and can see a better fit with skiing but in September seemed a very odd experience I wouldn't want to repeat .The prices was sky high for an individual. Anyone walking in corridors at 6.00 woke everyone else up.Couldnt finish the breakfast - very unusual .

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Larry M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Euless, Texas
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

It was one of the best places I have stayed. The chief was so nice that he cooked veg. food for the vegetarian guest. All the guest were really helpful and kind. Thanks, for the great time. The location is also the best and the view are really good.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jay P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eugene, Oregon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

We have stayed at Montecito Sequoia a few times before, but there's something new that I didn't see on the website-- new beautiful 2-story cabins. They are more like condos. I didn't stay in one because I didn't know about them when I booked, but new friends (met over a game of Scrabble our first night) let us take a peak. OK, back to our main lodge room experience. The Lodge rooms are comfortable and clean. We were in 102, which looks out over the Western Divide. Yummy meals. Plus juice, coffee, soup, etc. available all the time. We mostly did day hikes, rode bikes, and rowed around the lake. You can pretty much head in any direction from the lodge to get fabulous views. We hiked the nordic ski trails but without the snow. We asked to have a picnic lunch to take with us each day. No extra charge. I like the all-inclusive part of the deal because I love to eat and get hungry after so much exploring. Evenings in the great room were really fun. Also, the lodge staff was quite friendly and helped us with everything we needed. An A+ vacation. Kids vote we do it again soon!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Anna M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

My stay in this place was perfect. I slept in the cabine a pefect quiet night. The food is amazing for this kind of place, a lot of fresh vegetables and fruits, fish, beef and marvelous desserts.
The staff is also perfect, gentle and polite.

The lodge is situated in the middle of the park, close to the Kings Canyon and the other attraction.

Thank you so much for the best experience in the west.

Room Tip: The cabin, even without bathroom, is so marvelous, because has a fireplace, it's so romantic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pstgelais
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sedona, Arizona
Level Contributor
440 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 160 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

We spent one day/evening at the Montecito Lodge in beautiful Sequoia National Park. The lodge was not exactly what we expected. When I hear "lodge" I think of a very large building with guest rooms, dining facilities, shops (maybe), coffee shop. This is really none of that. It has a very large "lodge" building that is quite old and just plain out of date. I believe there may be some rooms on the 2nd floor but not sure. The furniture is old and outdated. Something out of the 60s. Kind of reminded us of the "Griswolds go to Montecito Lodge." When you arrive down a long dirt road (1/2 mile maybe) off the main park road, you drive up to within about 50-100 feet of the lodge. You then have to walk through dust/dirt to get to the reception area. No cars allowed. We stayed in a two-story "cabin" located about another 100 feet from the lodge. We were not allowed to drive to the cabin either so we had to drag/carry our luggage/cooler, etc. across dirt and dust to get to the room. Not good. We had to park our car about 300 feet away in a public parking area. The rooms were spartan, dated, uninviting to say the least. The pillows were hard as a rock and THICK! Our bed tilted slightly so we had to be careful not to fall out....seriously. Luckily the guests in the room next to ours were quiet. Had they been the least bit loud it would have been a miserable night. Paper thin walls. The views from the lodge were beautiful. They served three meals as part of their package. We ate dinner (buffet) and had chicken, fish, vegetables, noodles, salad bar so not too bad at all. They have a bar area with wine, beer and alcohol. The property has a swimming pool, hot tub, trampoline, patios with nice chairs. But rustic, very rustic and not well maintained. It's like a step up from camping. They also have a really beautiful large pond on property that has canoes, paddle boats, a floating platform in the middle. Sandy beach area too. So if you're into roughing it a little bit as far as the accommodations I mentioned you might enjoy this lodge. One thing to keep in mind is that it is located at the midpoint of the park so you can drive to the furthest parts of the park in maybe an hour or so. The driving is very windy, slow and beautiful. Average 30 MPH.

Room Tip: Someone we talked to while there said they were in the "new" rooms which were nice. Our r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dps_Sedona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
8.9 mi away
Wuksachi Lodge
Wuksachi Lodge
#1 of 4 in Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
4.0 of 5 stars 1,963 reviews
5.9 mi away
John Muir Lodge
John Muir Lodge
#3 of 4 in Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
4.0 of 5 stars 363 reviews
16.4 mi away
Sierra Lodge
Sierra Lodge
#5 of 6 in Three Rivers
3.0 of 5 stars 264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.1 mi away
Cedar Grove Lodge
Cedar Grove Lodge
#4 of 4 in Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
4.0 of 5 stars 121 reviews
19.8 mi away
Lazy J Ranch-Americas Best Value Inn
18.7 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Sequoia Kings Canyon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Montecito Sequoia Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Montecito Sequoia Lodge

Property: Montecito Sequoia Lodge
Address: 63410 General's Hwy, Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA 93633
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Montecito Sequoia Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All Meals and seasonal activities included in the room rate: A Rustic Mountain Lodge & Summer Family Camp located in Sequoia & Kings Canyon National Parks, California. Spectacular view of the Great Western Divide of the Sierra Nevada Mountains. All Lodge Rooms have private bath. Cabins have shared bathhouse. Open year-round. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Montecito Sequoia Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Montecito Sequoia Hotel Sequoia And Kings Canyon National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing