We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Casual Lodge”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Montecito Sequoia Lodge & Summer Family Camp
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 22, 2013

My husband and I spent one night here at the lodge. I'm not sure what I expected, but the lodge itself is old and very casual. The common areas, dining room and fireplaced activities room had a very casual feel, there were books on the shelves that you could borrow, board games, ping pong and foozeball. Everything was help yourself. We walked around outside and felt the grounds needed some attention. There was lots of debris and odd items scattered around, a general lack of organization. In all fairness, it was early spring and perhaps they hadn't done the spring clean-up yet. It had the feel of a camp with a variety of water craft and activities for the guests. There is an outdoor pool which was not open when we were there. The view from the front deck was amazing. Our room was upstairs in the main lodge. It had a king size bed and a bunk bed. The beds were covered with plaid quilts, a nice touch. The bed was comfortable and had nice bedding. Although the place is old, it was clean. I was surprised by the excellent quality of the toiletries! The food was included in the price. It was set up buffet style with self clean-up. The food was good with plenty of choices for both meat eaters and vegetarians. There was an hour set aside for each meal and as soon as the hour ended, they started to clear away any remaining food from the buffet. Sorry was the person who showed up late for a meal! Overall, it was well worth the price we paid, but I feel it is more suited to families.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Christine N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (654)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

389 - 395 of 654 reviews

Reviewed May 18, 2013

Wonderful lodge, plenty of delicious food & drinks, friendly staff, lots of activities, convenient location for both Kings Canyon & Sequoia Park.

Strongly recommend, especially for families with kids!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marina G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2013

We had great fun at Motecito Sequoia! Plenty of activities (like sports, water activities, hiking, games...), beautiful lake, good food (3 meals included), very friendly stuff.
The rooms are OK, much or less what we expected.
Staying there was the best choice we made. Exceeded our expectations.

Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
2  Thank Yaron B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Very international crowd (surprising !) - Met people from Alaska to Israel, UK to Australia...Great place for families... Comfortable rooms... with king size bed and bunk bed; Lots of food choices and 24x7 availabilty of food and drinks (cereal, various types of bread, milk, coffee, etc). Lots of activities for kids including ping pong, train sets, fooseball, fun 2 hour camps; Lots of books and board games to borrow/check out. There is also a beautiful lake nearby and you can go boating with kids (just make sure you tell the front desk before you go and you put on life jackets!). The only small issue was the water pressure in the shower was not that great and the toilets did not seem to be cleaned 100% - usable, no odor, etc but not 100% clean. Also great smores and campfire in the evenings - friendly crowd!

Room Tip: Room 101 is the best - no question! Also 102 is an option if you don't get 101. Hard to locate h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Globecommuters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2013 via mobile

I recently stayed at Montecito sequoia lodge with my husband and three children. We loved our stay! The room was comfortable and clean with a view of the mountains. There was plenty of food and it had a wide variety. Several members of our family are vegetarians and they also felt they had plenty to choose from. The staff were sweet and helpful without being too invasive. The kids loved the childrens activities. The setting was fabulous. I was able to walk several miles through the forest before breakfast, then we could easily drive to all the sequoia attractions for day trips. I can't wait to stay here again.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank misstripsalot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2013

My wife made the reservation over the web and was worried the whole way there. When we arrived her concerns evaporated. Beautiful brand new "cabin" that was quiet and relaxing. It is more like a summer camp environment which means, wonderful for children, families. Their staff was wonderful and very accommodating. Only thing they may want to improve is how to get your luggage to the room.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Mariano P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2013

My wife and I stayed here in our recent visit to USA from Melbourne, Australia. It was end of March 2013, chilly spring but beautiful blue skies. There were remnance of snow on the ground which adds to the dramatic scenery. We had a room overlooking the lake. What a beautiful lake. The room was rather small but it holds a queen size bed and two bunk beds although the bathroom was rather big in comparison. The decor was rustic country which was what I expect from a country lodge. What my wife and I loved about this place was the common room where we had breaky and dinner. There were lots of parents with children. It was a great place to bring children and most the kids were not staring at their ipads or iphones during meal times. They were toasting mashmallows at the fireplace. You can only get internet in the common room. The rate for the room includes all meals. The buffet meals were better than what I had in most hotels. There is a good chef working there. Although we did stay in many 5 star hotels in cities, I must say that we enjoyed staying here. From what I observed, it is best to book early. The place was full when we were there. By the way, both Google and Apple maps showed the wrong location. The difference is like 45 mins drive. It s best to come from the north which is the shorter distance.

Room Tip: Get a room overlooking the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank cheemengtham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
8.9 mi away
Wuksachi Lodge
Wuksachi Lodge
#1 of 4 in Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
2,451 reviews
5.9 mi away
John Muir Lodge
John Muir Lodge
#2 of 4 in Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
550 reviews
16.4 mi away
Sierra Lodge
Sierra Lodge
#5 of 6 in Three Rivers
313 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.1 mi away
Cedar Grove Lodge
Cedar Grove Lodge
#4 of 4 in Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
182 reviews
19.8 mi away
Lazy J Ranch-Americas Best Value Inn
18.7 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Sequoia Kings Canyon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Montecito Sequoia Lodge & Summer Family Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Montecito Sequoia Lodge & Summer Family Camp

Address: 63410 General's Hwy, Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA 93633
Location: United States > California > Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
Price Range: $164 - $378 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Montecito Sequoia Lodge & Summer Family Camp 2.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
ALL-INCLUSIVE RUSTIC MOUNTAIN LODGE INSIDE OF SEQUOIA & KINGS CANYON NATIONAL PARKS, CA - Buffet meals and seasonal activities included in the room rate! Spectacular view of the Great Western Divide of the Sierra Nevada Mountains. Rooming options include newly-built Forest Cabins and Lake View Suites with private baths & decks, Vintage Lodge Rooms & Suites all with private baths. Rustic Cabins with a wood-burning stove and shared bathhouse. Property features an outdoor hot tub open year-round, and a seasonal pool, private lake, and hiking trails directly on property. Lodge is open year-round. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Montecito Sequoia Lodge & Summer Family Camp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Montecito Sequoia Hotel Sequoia And Kings Canyon National Park
Montecito Sequoia Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing