We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Terrific stay!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Montecito Sequoia Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Montecito Sequoia Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
56 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Terrific stay!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

Wonderful lodge, plenty of delicious food & drinks, friendly staff, lots of activities, convenient location for both Kings Canyon & Sequoia Park.

Strongly recommend, especially for families with kids!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marina G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

537 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    259
    166
    48
    28
    36
See reviews for
255
170
16
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013 via mobile

We had great fun at Motecito Sequoia! Plenty of activities (like sports, water activities, hiking, games...), beautiful lake, good food (3 meals included), very friendly stuff.
The rooms are OK, much or less what we expected.
Staying there was the best choice we made. Exceeded our expectations.

Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Yaron B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cupertino, California
Level Contributor
50 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Very international crowd (surprising !) - Met people from Alaska to Israel, UK to Australia...Great place for families... Comfortable rooms... with king size bed and bunk bed; Lots of food choices and 24x7 availabilty of food and drinks (cereal, various types of bread, milk, coffee, etc). Lots of activities for kids including ping pong, train sets, fooseball, fun 2 hour camps; Lots of books and board games to borrow/check out. There is also a beautiful lake nearby and you can go boating with kids (just make sure you tell the front desk before you go and you put on life jackets!). The only small issue was the water pressure in the shower was not that great and the toilets did not seem to be cleaned 100% - usable, no odor, etc but not 100% clean. Also great smores and campfire in the evenings - friendly crowd!

Room Tip: Room 101 is the best - no question! Also 102 is an option if you don't get 101. Hard to locate h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Globecommuters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013 via mobile

I recently stayed at Montecito sequoia lodge with my husband and three children. We loved our stay! The room was comfortable and clean with a view of the mountains. There was plenty of food and it had a wide variety. Several members of our family are vegetarians and they also felt they had plenty to choose from. The staff were sweet and helpful without being too invasive. The kids loved the childrens activities. The setting was fabulous. I was able to walk several miles through the forest before breakfast, then we could easily drive to all the sequoia attractions for day trips. I can't wait to stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank misstripsalot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlsbad, California
Level Contributor
58 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

My wife made the reservation over the web and was worried the whole way there. When we arrived her concerns evaporated. Beautiful brand new "cabin" that was quiet and relaxing. It is more like a summer camp environment which means, wonderful for children, families. Their staff was wonderful and very accommodating. Only thing they may want to improve is how to get your luggage to the room.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Mariano P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
62 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

My wife and I stayed here in our recent visit to USA from Melbourne, Australia. It was end of March 2013, chilly spring but beautiful blue skies. There were remnance of snow on the ground which adds to the dramatic scenery. We had a room overlooking the lake. What a beautiful lake. The room was rather small but it holds a queen size bed and two bunk beds although the bathroom was rather big in comparison. The decor was rustic country which was what I expect from a country lodge. What my wife and I loved about this place was the common room where we had breaky and dinner. There were lots of parents with children. It was a great place to bring children and most the kids were not staring at their ipads or iphones during meal times. They were toasting mashmallows at the fireplace. You can only get internet in the common room. The rate for the room includes all meals. The buffet meals were better than what I had in most hotels. There is a good chef working there. Although we did stay in many 5 star hotels in cities, I must say that we enjoyed staying here. From what I observed, it is best to book early. The place was full when we were there. By the way, both Google and Apple maps showed the wrong location. The difference is like 45 mins drive. It s best to come from the north which is the shorter distance.

Room Tip: Get a room overlooking the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank cheemengtham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

The only good thing I can say, is mother nature rocks! The lake and surrounding area is beautiful. Our room had leak rot in the ceiling and walls. The lights in the hallway were out. The door at the top of the stairs was torn from it's hinges. The smoke alarm in the next room was chirping from low battery. The single heater made it impossible to close the door to any room, less you freeze that room. ZERO amenities. No mini fridge or TV, hair dryer... The food was beyond my belief. The meal for the night was room temperature chicken, with uncooked rice. You would think they could at least make coffee. Oh no. INSTANT COFFEE!!! This place is an absolute drive by only. No consideration should be given to stay here, EVER.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WeLove2hike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
8.9 mi away
Wuksachi Lodge
Wuksachi Lodge
#1 of 4 in Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
4.0 of 5 stars 2,014 reviews
5.9 mi away
John Muir Lodge
John Muir Lodge
#3 of 4 in Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
4.0 of 5 stars 383 reviews
13.1 mi away
Cedar Grove Lodge
Cedar Grove Lodge
#4 of 4 in Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
4.0 of 5 stars 135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.4 mi away
Sierra Lodge
Sierra Lodge
#5 of 6 in Three Rivers
3.0 of 5 stars 269 reviews
19.8 mi away
Lazy J Ranch-Americas Best Value Inn
18.7 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Sequoia Kings Canyon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Montecito Sequoia Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Montecito Sequoia Lodge

Property: Montecito Sequoia Lodge
Address: 63410 General's Hwy, Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA 93633
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Montecito Sequoia Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All Meals and seasonal activities included in the room rate: A Rustic Mountain Lodge & Summer Family Camp located in Sequoia & Kings Canyon National Parks, California. Spectacular view of the Great Western Divide of the Sierra Nevada Mountains. All Lodge Rooms have private bath. Cabins have shared bathhouse. Open year-round. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Montecito Sequoia Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Montecito Sequoia Hotel Sequoia And Kings Canyon National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing