We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“A hidden gem...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Montecito Sequoia Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Montecito Sequoia Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Cupertino, California
Level Contributor
50 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“A hidden gem...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Very international crowd (surprising !) - Met people from Alaska to Israel, UK to Australia...Great place for families... Comfortable rooms... with king size bed and bunk bed; Lots of food choices and 24x7 availabilty of food and drinks (cereal, various types of bread, milk, coffee, etc). Lots of activities for kids including ping pong, train sets, fooseball, fun 2 hour camps; Lots of books and board games to borrow/check out. There is also a beautiful lake nearby and you can go boating with kids (just make sure you tell the front desk before you go and you put on life jackets!). The only small issue was the water pressure in the shower was not that great and the toilets did not seem to be cleaned 100% - usable, no odor, etc but not 100% clean. Also great smores and campfire in the evenings - friendly crowd!

Room Tip: Room 101 is the best - no question! Also 102 is an option if you don't get 101. Hard to locate h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Globecommuters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

538 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    259
    166
    48
    28
    37
See reviews for
255
171
16
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013 via mobile

I recently stayed at Montecito sequoia lodge with my husband and three children. We loved our stay! The room was comfortable and clean with a view of the mountains. There was plenty of food and it had a wide variety. Several members of our family are vegetarians and they also felt they had plenty to choose from. The staff were sweet and helpful without being too invasive. The kids loved the childrens activities. The setting was fabulous. I was able to walk several miles through the forest before breakfast, then we could easily drive to all the sequoia attractions for day trips. I can't wait to stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank misstripsalot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlsbad, California
Level Contributor
58 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

My wife made the reservation over the web and was worried the whole way there. When we arrived her concerns evaporated. Beautiful brand new "cabin" that was quiet and relaxing. It is more like a summer camp environment which means, wonderful for children, families. Their staff was wonderful and very accommodating. Only thing they may want to improve is how to get your luggage to the room.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Mariano P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
62 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

My wife and I stayed here in our recent visit to USA from Melbourne, Australia. It was end of March 2013, chilly spring but beautiful blue skies. There were remnance of snow on the ground which adds to the dramatic scenery. We had a room overlooking the lake. What a beautiful lake. The room was rather small but it holds a queen size bed and two bunk beds although the bathroom was rather big in comparison. The decor was rustic country which was what I expect from a country lodge. What my wife and I loved about this place was the common room where we had breaky and dinner. There were lots of parents with children. It was a great place to bring children and most the kids were not staring at their ipads or iphones during meal times. They were toasting mashmallows at the fireplace. You can only get internet in the common room. The rate for the room includes all meals. The buffet meals were better than what I had in most hotels. There is a good chef working there. Although we did stay in many 5 star hotels in cities, I must say that we enjoyed staying here. From what I observed, it is best to book early. The place was full when we were there. By the way, both Google and Apple maps showed the wrong location. The difference is like 45 mins drive. It s best to come from the north which is the shorter distance.

Room Tip: Get a room overlooking the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank cheemengtham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

The only good thing I can say, is mother nature rocks! The lake and surrounding area is beautiful. Our room had leak rot in the ceiling and walls. The lights in the hallway were out. The door at the top of the stairs was torn from it's hinges. The smoke alarm in the next room was chirping from low battery. The single heater made it impossible to close the door to any room, less you freeze that room. ZERO amenities. No mini fridge or TV, hair dryer... The food was beyond my belief. The meal for the night was room temperature chicken, with uncooked rice. You would think they could at least make coffee. Oh no. INSTANT COFFEE!!! This place is an absolute drive by only. No consideration should be given to stay here, EVER.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WeLove2hike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

We have visited the lodge twice and are already planning our third visit. We have only stayed here in the winter and so cannot comment on what it is like in any other season. This place is a bit rustic, family friendly and a lot of fun! There was over five feet of snow on the ground during our first visit. We actually had to exit the park and drive all the way around to the north entrance in order to get here as the park roads were closed. We were told to check in with the park service at Grant Grove Village and wait for an escort to the lodge (only available twice a day when we were there in 2010).

The lodge was a winter wonderland when we arrived! The summer cabins were half buried in snow and everything was glistening white and beautiful! We stayed in the main lodge in a big room with bunk beds for the kids. Most of the rooms are big enough for families and all their stuff. Meals are included and are served cafeteria-style. the food is basic, plentiful and filling. Nothing fancy, but not bad (and with plenty of options for various diets and tastes). They have juice, water, coffee, tea and simple snacks like cookies and cereals out 24/7.

The main lodge has two massive rooms downstairs. One has the dining area, some comfy couches and a big fire place. The other has some additional tables for dining, more comfy couches and another big fire place as well as a foozball table and shelves filled with games and activities for kids.

Best of all, they have plenty of outdoor activities available free or at a very low cost. Sleds are free while cross country skis, snowboards and snow shoes can be rented for approx $15/day. They have counselors on staff who take the little kids out every day for sledding and hikes and then bring them back for games and snacks .. all free!

We had so much fun the first time, we came back the next winter with four other families. There was hardly any snow on the ground for the second trip, which was upsetting to us, but the new families had a great time. We are all planning on going back this winter (and hope to find snow on the ground once again).

From what I understand, they have even more activities in the summer, but beware as the prices go up dramatically that time of the year. Perhaps three times as much as in the winter.

Room Tip: Check the weather before visiting in the winter time. When the snow comes, it comes hard and road ma...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Findasilver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorba Linda, California
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

Just returned on Saturday, April 6. Our extended family--grandparents, parents and kids had a great time. Stayed in the main lodge in king bed rooms with bunk beds. Everything was comfortable, clean and well managed. Staff in the lodge and out around the camp were excellent, helpful, friendly and always willing to help make this a marvelous trip for all ages. Food was abundant and plentiful. Lots of choices for vegetarians and meat eaters alike. Great season to visit Sequoia and Kings Canyon.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank YorbaLindaLinda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
8.9 mi away
Wuksachi Lodge
Wuksachi Lodge
#1 of 4 in Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
4.0 of 5 stars 2,016 reviews
5.9 mi away
John Muir Lodge
John Muir Lodge
#3 of 4 in Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
4.0 of 5 stars 383 reviews
13.1 mi away
Cedar Grove Lodge
Cedar Grove Lodge
#4 of 4 in Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
4.0 of 5 stars 135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.4 mi away
Sierra Lodge
Sierra Lodge
#5 of 6 in Three Rivers
3.0 of 5 stars 269 reviews
19.8 mi away
Lazy J Ranch-Americas Best Value Inn
18.7 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Sequoia Kings Canyon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Montecito Sequoia Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Montecito Sequoia Lodge

Property: Montecito Sequoia Lodge
Address: 63410 General's Hwy, Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA 93633
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Montecito Sequoia Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All Meals and seasonal activities included in the room rate: A Rustic Mountain Lodge & Summer Family Camp located in Sequoia & Kings Canyon National Parks, California. Spectacular view of the Great Western Divide of the Sierra Nevada Mountains. All Lodge Rooms have private bath. Cabins have shared bathhouse. Open year-round. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Montecito Sequoia Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Montecito Sequoia Hotel Sequoia And Kings Canyon National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing