We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Very happy” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Montecito Sequoia Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Montecito Sequoia Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Very happy”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 8, 2012

We arrived late but phoned ahead to tell them. They said they would keep us a dinner warm but we arrived in time to partake.

Look the food wasnt great hence 4 * but the staff, the room, the open fire,the ambience more than made up for it. We didn't have younger children and t would ave bee. Reflect for them but our older boys had fun reliving youth with fusball etc (aged 16 -53)

Would recommend in a heart beat

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Heather B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

584 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    287
    176
    53
    31
    37
See reviews for
269
197
18
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Woodbury, Minnesota
Level Contributor
47 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2012

After reading a few poor reviews of this place, I was a bit apprehensive about staying here. We were limited in our options for places to stay near the park, so we decided we would take our chances and prepare for the worse. After all, there were a number of reviews that were positive; maybe we would be one of the lucky ones.

Upon our arrival, we were greeted by a friendly staff person at the desk. She told us all the information we needed to know and informed us of the brown bag lunches they offered to guests that were going to be out and about during the day and wouldn’t be able to be back for lunch at the lodge.

Our room was in the main lodge on the top floor. There is no elevator, so you have to lug your bags upstairs. Our room was quite nice. There was a king sized bed and a bunk bed. We had our own bathroom, which was small, but clean and adequate. The view from the room was terrific, as it looked out east into the woods and mountains. We got a great view of the sunrise the next morning.

The meals are included in the room price, which is great, as there are no other restaurants close by. Having said that, the food is of the quality you would find in a buffet style restaurant. We had no problems with the food, but some people could have issues with it. I would suggest getting down there early to get through the line first, before all the kids with their dirty hands get the chance to handle all the utensils and stick their hands in the food.

They have flavored water, coffee and hot chocolate available at all times, as well as cereal and some snacks. The small bar does have some alcoholic beverages for sale during certain times, too.

There is a ping pong table and board games for kids and families to entertain themselves. There is a TV in one of the main rooms, but not in the individual rooms. No phones in the rooms, either, but one in the stairwell for guests to use, if needed. This was not an issue for us, but some people might find it a turnoff. Also, there is wi-fi in the main room, but we found that it worked in our room, too. It just depends on where you are and how good the signal is.

Now for some of the drawbacks: the carpeting in the hallway was pretty worn and in need of replacement. The walls are paper thin, so you will hear everything that goes on in the rooms next to you or above you (I would imagine). They ask you to be quiet in the hallway, but even doing that can’t disguise the fact that you are walking out there.

The room didn’t have air conditioning, but in mid-October, that wasn’t an issue. We had snow and blustery winds one night, so we actually had to turn on the heater, which worked fine. If you are staying in the summer, however, you may have an issue with trying to stay cool.

If you don’t have kids or don’t like kids, this is definitely not the place for you. There are many kids roaming and running throughout the lodge. This is can be off-putting if you are expecting to relax and unwind in front of the fire with a good book. If you have a family, then this probably doesn’t bother you.

I read one review that complained about mice. While we did see a rodent trap in the den area, we never saw any actual mice or rodents, so they must have things under control. What do you expect when you are staying that close to the woods?

All in all, the experience was much better than we had anticipated. Sometimes there is something to be said for low expectations!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
16 Thank DandVtravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, Michigan
Level Contributor
62 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2012

The staff was friendly, however the room was outdated and not clean. There is no TV or internet connection in the rooms. The food served at night was not the best. If you want to relax and enjoy your room, keep on driving.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kristesk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oceanside
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2012

Staff extremely friendly, food very good, hearty, with different menu each night, buffet style. 3 meals/day included in room rate! I don't see how they can do that. Also, they prepare bag lunches if you're on the road the next day. I took advantage of that several times.

Communal dining with big fireplace great for meeting people and enjoying conversation with fellow travelers from all over, families, singles, etc. Ping Pong, other games in game room, along with a very small wet bar, large flatscreen, addl dining tables.

Sun deck has great views of mountains, rest of compound's cabins, pool, etc. My main Lodge room was clean, private bathroom - walls are thin, so earplugs would be recommended which I always take on trips. Weren't too many guests in Oct, but I would imagine it could be a bit noisy with a lot of guests coming and going in the hallway. There is a landline available to all guests off lobby area. No phones in rooms.

It's in a good location near Kings Canyon and not too awfully far from Sequoia.

It's not luxurious, so don't expect that, rustic all the way! But, I would definitely return, it's a great deal and a very friendly experience.

Room Tip: If you choose a cabin, make sure to ask about heating - have to use firewood, wall heater, is bathro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Marc O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kentucky
Level Contributor
66 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2012

We stayed at Montecito Lodge in late October this year. You could not ask for a better location for exploring Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Parks. We had three generations in our group- grandparents, parents and four young children. Everything from check-in to food to activities was professional, friendly and accommodating. The breakfast and dinner buffets were excellent; the salad bar was fresh and varied. The staff packed lunch for us daily which really helped in caring for the children. The two-bedroom Lakeview cottage was perfect for the young family, while the grandparents stayed in the main lodge. The whole experience was wonderful. During our stay we had a sudden and unexpected snowstorm. We weren't prepared insofar as clothing was concerned, and had to leave early. Management could not have been nicer about the situation. I most heartily recommend Montecito Lodge for visitors to Sequoia.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank batsfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
170 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2012

We accidently found the Montecito Lodge as we were driving through Sequoia National Park. It was late in the evening and we saw the sign for the lodge. We were surprised, but pleased that they had a room available. The second surprise was the lodge itself. If you want a 5star resort, keep driving. The check-in is located in a corner of the main dining area. The person that checked us in was very welcoming and advised us to eat immediately since they would quit serving in a few minutes. The food is served buffet style with most tables accommodating 8 to 12 people, very much “family style. The food was OK and you could get a nice glass of wine and good coffee. After eating, we finished checking in and went to our room. The room was basic but the bath had been recently renovated. The room was clean and comfortable.
We awoke the next morning to a couple of inches of snow. The buffer breakfast had a good variety and was very good for a complimentary breakfast. The room and meals were a great value. This lodge seems like a great place to bring your family for a vacation. For us, two people and one night, it was still an enjoyable experience in a beautiful location.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank jes22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reno, Nevada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2012

I only wish we could have stayed longer. If people have a problem with this lodge, it is because they were expecting a hotel. For what it is, it was perfect ( well almost). When we checked in, there was a surprise awaiting us in the toilet (which made my wife curious whether the bathroom had been cleaned at all). The room was nothing special, but it had comfortable beds, and enough room for our family of 5 (2 in the bunk, and our 5 year old with us in the huge king-sized bed). There is no TV in the room- if you need a TV in your room, you shouldn't be going to a national park. There were lots of opportunities for good family time- we had smores around the campfire and played games in the common room downstairs, as did several other families that we saw there. The food was very good, plentiful, and included in the room charge. My kids eat cereal between almost every meal, and there were 8 varieties available 24 hours. I thought the rooms were clean, although a little spartan, but again I didn't expect to spend too much time in the room anyway. We also received excellent service form Rufio and another gentleman on Saturday morning (I didn't catch his name) They were very helpful with hiking routes as well as general information. If we get the chance to go back to the park, we'll definitely stay here the entire time we're in the park. The location is great and the views are amazing!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank hikingfool24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
8.9 mi away
Wuksachi Lodge
Wuksachi Lodge
#1 of 4 in Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,117 reviews
5.9 mi away
John Muir Lodge
John Muir Lodge
#3 of 4 in Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 421 reviews
19.8 mi away
Lazy J Ranch-Americas Best Value Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.1 mi away
Cedar Grove Lodge
Cedar Grove Lodge
#4 of 4 in Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 140 reviews
16.4 mi away
Sierra Lodge
Sierra Lodge
#5 of 6 in Three Rivers
3.0 of 5 bubbles 279 reviews
18.7 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Sequoia Kings Canyon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Montecito Sequoia Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Montecito Sequoia Lodge

Property: Montecito Sequoia Lodge
Address: 63410 General's Hwy, Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA 93633
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Montecito Sequoia Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
ALL-INCLUSIVE RUSTIC MOUNTAIN LODGE INSIDE OF SEQUOIA & KINGS CANYON NATIONAL PARKS, CA - Buffet meals and seasonal activities included in the room rate! Spectacular view of the Great Western Divide of the Sierra Nevada Mountains. Rooming options include newly-built Forest Cabins with private baths & decks, Vintage Lodge Rooms all with private baths. Rustic Cabins with a wood-burning stove and shared bathhouse. Property features an outdoor hot tub open year-round, and a seasonal pool, private lake, and hiking trails directly on property. Lodge is open year-round. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Montecito Sequoia Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Montecito Sequoia Hotel Sequoia And Kings Canyon National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing