We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (719)
Filter reviews
719 results
Traveler rating
338
213
75
39
54
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
338
213
75
39
54
Show reviews that mention
All reviews ping pong bunk beds arts and crafts horseback riding buffet style hot tub bag lunch beautiful lake year after year fun activities salad bar new forest all meals included wine and cheese tie dye family tradition evening activities
Filter
Updating list...
463 - 468 of 719 reviews
Reviewed October 15, 2012

This is not a typical motel. This is not a typical resort. This is not a typical lodge-within-a-national-park. This is a summer camp as you might remember it from the '50s....only with campers of all ages. It's reminicent of family resorts in the Catskills in byegone eras. The overall effect is wonderfully warm and nostalgic, but if you really wanted a hotel, you will not be happy here.
We stayed in a 4 unit cabin. Definitely dated, and somewhat worn, although the bathroom was nicely upgraded. Beds were comfortable and the unit was clean. Lighting was dim, and a personal flashlight is a must. Finding enough power outlets was a challenge.
Meals are served all-you-can-eat buffet style in the dining hall, and there is 24 hour availabililty of beverages and snacks. These are all included in the lodging price. The food is simple, but very good, and lots of it. A small bar sells beer, wine, and mixed drinks for reasonable charges.
Since we were leaving before lunch, we opted to purchase box lunches to go. These were not up to the standard of the dining hall meals.
There is a large deck with a breathtaking view of mountain sunsets and more stars than you can see anywhere else. Lots of activities for kids, but the deck and the indoor fireplace lounge keep the adults happy in the evenings.
Wi-Fi is available only in the dining hall and is extremely slow. (maybe that's a hint to slow down and relax?)
We were happy campers and found this an excellent value.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank GypsyRoverPittsburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2012

We were going to visit the Sequoia and Kings Canyon National parks. There are a smattering of facilities inside the park, but many were closed by October. The places outside the park are a really long drive (especially those in Three Rivers, because of the road construction at the south entrance). We booked this place with low expectations, and were pleasantly surprised.

Not fancy, but a great value for families with children. A lake with canoes, archery, riflery, s'mores at the campfire. The staff were very helpful. 3 meals included per day. If you're going hiking (and in the summer most folks are), they will make you a sack lunch for your hike. We came in late the first night (dinner was from 7-8 PM, and we arrived closer to 9:30), and the staff was willing to whip up some dinner for us anyway. The food was not gourmet, but generally well prepared and tasty, and lots of quantity if you're hungry. They make a space available in one of their coolers for lodgers. The dry goods part of the kitchen (and drinks dispensers) are on all the time.

Game room for the kids.

Pretty centrally located in the park, so you can get to Moro rock, or Grant's grove easily enough.

Not Ahwahnee fancy, but our room was clean, if a little tight.

Surprisingly enjoyable. Would go back.

Again, if you have younger children, this place would be great.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank ridgetop1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2012

We were not expecting luxury because of the location (which was convenient), but it was down-hill from the beginning. We had asked for two rooms close together in Feb....when we arrived, one room was in the lodge and the other in a cabin. The room was VERY dirty as was the bathroom. There was very little light by which to read, etc. I would say that the service was not bad,....there was NO service. There were no glasses or ice buckets in the room When I asked for ice they said that would be $1. The food could have been nice since there was a good selection, but the meats, etc. were poorly prepared. The lunch they packed for us was very good and helpful. The staff's reply to everything was "you don' t understand." The people I observed enjoying themselves were families who could let their children have the run of the place. There seemed to be activities for the kids.All in all I would say that it was the worst place I have ever stayed.

Room Tip: After making reservations in Feb. we were surprised that our request for two room close together was not honored. The answer for this was that we should have paid the $20 no change fee. Now really!
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Carol H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2012

This was my second stop on my 4 day ride thru California. I found this place on the internet and booked a single queen sized bed and bath room for my overnighter. Got there just in time for dinner which is INCLUDED and very nice. It was a small salad and hot food buffet with deserts and drinks. Was nice to sit at large tables and listen to or join in table conversation with other visitors. This is a rustic place in a rustic place and an excellent value family oriented resort. Breakfast in the morning was much the same as dinner the night before with plenty of solid comfort food that would stick to you for a day of hiking, biking or motorcycling. The staff were all very friendly and made me feel welcome. They went out of their way to help a fellow biker perform a minor repair to his bike before riding on. The views are captivating and sunrise was awesome. Picturesque lake for canoeing or fishing. For the value this was really hard to pass up and to have 2 full meals included sealed the deal and you are so close to other points in the park. Hope you enjoy it as much as I did. Peace2U.

Room Tip: I stayed in the Marmot Lodge, had my own bath, think the cabins may share a bath house.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank abstractdaddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

Stayed at the Montecito Sequoia Lodge in Sequoia & Kings Canyon Parks. The rooms were clean even though showing some wear. The staff was so friendly and helpful. Meals were buffet style and the food was plentiful and nutritious with fresh fruits and salads. They even fixed us a lunch for our day hiking so we wouldn't miss a meal. While the meals were pretty standard, where else can you sit and share a meal with people literally from all over the world? The kitchen was open to view and CLEAN! If you are going and expecting luxury, stay somewhere else. If you are looking for clean and affordable with an outstanding setting, then this is the place for you. The beds were reasonable comfortable, but the sleeping experience was not the best due to noise level from other rooms, but there was a fan in our room that provided some "white noise." The lodge is attempting to upgrade its image and I have a few suggestions: walls in the rooms are extremely thin and sound-proofing would be a major improvement. The door to our room literally had daylight showing underneath it so this would be an area for improvement. No ice machine available while lots of other things like coffee, tea were available 24/7. Our shower had so little water pressure that it was difficult to rinse off. A shower head that is made for low water pressure would have made such a difference. These are relatively small improvements, except for the sound-proofing that would have made a huge improvement in our overall experience. We would stay here again though as the location was AWESOME!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Linda_Stephen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews