We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (715)
Filter reviews
715 results
Traveler rating
337
213
74
39
52
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
337
213
74
39
52
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsping pongbunk bedsarts and craftshorseback ridingbuffet stylehot tubbag lunchbeautiful lakeyear after yearfun activitiessalad barnew forestall meals includedwine and cheesetie dyefamily traditionevening activities
Filter
Updating list...
464 - 469 of 715 reviews
Reviewed September 25, 2012

This was my second stop on my 4 day ride thru California. I found this place on the internet and booked a single queen sized bed and bath room for my overnighter. Got there just in time for dinner which is INCLUDED and very nice. It was a small salad and hot food buffet with deserts and drinks. Was nice to sit at large tables and listen to or join in table conversation with other visitors. This is a rustic place in a rustic place and an excellent value family oriented resort. Breakfast in the morning was much the same as dinner the night before with plenty of solid comfort food that would stick to you for a day of hiking, biking or motorcycling. The staff were all very friendly and made me feel welcome. They went out of their way to help a fellow biker perform a minor repair to his bike before riding on. The views are captivating and sunrise was awesome. Picturesque lake for canoeing or fishing. For the value this was really hard to pass up and to have 2 full meals included sealed the deal and you are so close to other points in the park. Hope you enjoy it as much as I did. Peace2U.

Room Tip: I stayed in the Marmot Lodge, had my own bath, think the cabins may share a bath house.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank abstractdaddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

Stayed at the Montecito Sequoia Lodge in Sequoia & Kings Canyon Parks. The rooms were clean even though showing some wear. The staff was so friendly and helpful. Meals were buffet style and the food was plentiful and nutritious with fresh fruits and salads. They even fixed us a lunch for our day hiking so we wouldn't miss a meal. While the meals were pretty standard, where else can you sit and share a meal with people literally from all over the world? The kitchen was open to view and CLEAN! If you are going and expecting luxury, stay somewhere else. If you are looking for clean and affordable with an outstanding setting, then this is the place for you. The beds were reasonable comfortable, but the sleeping experience was not the best due to noise level from other rooms, but there was a fan in our room that provided some "white noise." The lodge is attempting to upgrade its image and I have a few suggestions: walls in the rooms are extremely thin and sound-proofing would be a major improvement. The door to our room literally had daylight showing underneath it so this would be an area for improvement. No ice machine available while lots of other things like coffee, tea were available 24/7. Our shower had so little water pressure that it was difficult to rinse off. A shower head that is made for low water pressure would have made such a difference. These are relatively small improvements, except for the sound-proofing that would have made a huge improvement in our overall experience. We would stay here again though as the location was AWESOME!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Linda_Stephen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2012

Who-ever is planning to visit Sequoia NP - this is absolutely the place to stay. Conveniently located just in the middle of Sequoia and Kings Canyon NP, this place is a gem! Beautiful setting on the quite crystal clear lake, surrounded by forest and mountain view behind - the place is breathtaking as you just arrive. And the it is getting better - as you just move in - you realize what you are here for - just to enjoy all this beauty around - the room has no TV, set up like a cabin, but very nice, clean and cozy. There is hour-around activities going on - the group of stuff of young and energetic guys and girls are ready to entertain you and your kids whole day long! SO much stuff going on, so much fun, I don't even know where to start - our only regret was that we didn't come there with kids! Food is all included and it is nice and various food, simple but pretty decent and again it all served in their absolutely nice place with huge fireplace! so again, it is nice for everyone, but if you come with family, kids, it is just MUST to stay there, I've NEVER seen anything that family friendly.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Olga67_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2012

Yes, a lot of trip advisors like this lodge because it is family oriented and geared for the summer vacationer. However, this review is based on a middle aged couple touring the parks in the fall. There are not a lot of hotels to choose from in Sequoia or Kings Canyon National Parks. Most are more expensive than this one. The Montecito Sequoia Lodge has location working for it because it is conveniently located between the two parks. Our room rate was $119 for a King bed and it included dinner and breakfast- which actually were decent considering they were served buffet style. . What warrants my rating is the lodging itself. The rooms are rustic to say the least, but clean. If TV and phones are your thing- the rooms don't have them. They do have Wifi in the lodge. You cannot park right next to your room. The lodge served its purpose for one night. The staff was friendly. A tip- wine and beer in the lodge is not cheap. You can bring in your own bottle during the evening meal and nobody will hassle you. Just don't have them open it or a corkage fee will be applied.

Room Tip: There is a lake on the property- ask for a room that faces the lake
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank apacheap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2012

This hotel is in a good location in the Sequoia national park countryside. The rooms are not luxurious (no tv) but are comfortable given you are out in the wild and the toiletries were nice. We stayed in a queen room with ensuite overlooking the lake which was nice. There are also cabins with communal showers/toilets which you could choose if you have a big group. However, you need to think whether you are happy to stay somewhere where there is a strong likelihood of lots of teenagers/ children doing summer camp trips - we came on the same day 100 odd 14 year olds came to stay and it was very lively, to say the least. The dining area is communal and buffet style, but the food is actually pretty good and it is eat as much as you can. We enjoyed the food - although basic it was quite refreshing from eating out in nice restaurants as we have done during most of our trip. There was also a good selection of tea and coffee/ water and fresh fruit throughout the day.
You can also use the pool and jacuzzi. The latter is open until 11pm and we took advantage of it - the place is perfect for looking at the stars under a clear sky with the odd bats flying about and deer roaming near the cabins.
The camp also has a bonfire in the evenings and one of the guides/ mentors working there gave guests marshmellows/ smores while chatting and telling stories.
You can also sign up for one of the group activities the night before and ask for a packed lunch. The lodge also has leaflets on good trails to follow and we took a few.
We enjoyed our stay and would recommend coming here if you want a real campy feel (without having to stay in a tent). One thing to note is that we came in the first week of September and it was beautiful weather and very hot. However, we were informed snow has fallen on or immediately after Labour Day weekend so be prepared to bring snow tyres if you come to Sequoia during this time.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Chris A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews