We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (715)
Filter reviews
715 results
Traveler rating
337
213
74
39
52
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
337
213
74
39
52
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsping pongbunk bedsarts and craftshorseback ridingbuffet stylehot tubbag lunchbeautiful lakeyear after yearfun activitiessalad barnew forestall meals includedwine and cheesetie dyefamily traditionevening activities
Filter
Updating list...
469 - 474 of 715 reviews
Reviewed September 14, 2012

This place is in a very convenient location and the setting is also nice. There are canoes you can use for free if you want to.

The food is very basic and served buffet style to be eaten at large tables. I felt the place lacked care, for example a broken plastic chair had been left by the lake.

The views from the deck are stunning though and the lodge room we stayed in was certainly spacious.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Clare059
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2012 via mobile

The location is perfect, situated in beautiful countryside between Kings Canyon and Sequoia National Parks.

Staff are friendly and helpful, and there are free hot and cold drinks available 24/7. The breakfast and evening meals are good.

Do not book if you are looking for a luxury resort, this is more of a hostel. Rooms are very clean but also quite tired and ours had a damp smell.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MattP1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2012

We've been every December for the past few years and just love it. One year we had snow so we learned how to cross country ski. It was sooo beautiful! One year no snow so we took archery, hiked and at night skated on the frozen lake while enjoying the beautiful stars! It is just an awesome place. Not fancy at all. No TV's or phone in room, which we love. The food was amazing last December...so much of it and throughout the day. We highly recommend it!

Room Tip: We enjoyed staying in the lodge as opposed to the outer cabins. You can walk down in your slippers to play ping pong or eat your meal:)
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank altenergy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2012

this is the bargain of your vacation. Clean, lots of activities and all meals included. The food is home cooking and all you can eat, tree meals a day. The staff is friendly and well informed. We enjoyed visiting with the other guests.

Room Tip: we stayed at the main lodge and liked being close to the main dining area and the one phone available to guests.
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank judyII
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2012

I should start off by saying that we didn't completely do our research before staying here. We wanted to stay somewhere in Kings Canyon or Sequoia for a few days and didn't want to be camping, which limited our choices. Due to the way the National Park Service website is set up, you end up looking at lots of different lodging choices and only seeing prices and not really where they are/what they offer. So, we picked this one because it had a private bath, included meals, and was a lower price than other lodges in the area.

We pulled up expecting to find a lodge/hotel - nothing five star, nothing fancy, just an ordinary hotel. It was much more like summer camps that we had stayed at as kids. Lots of family activities, paddle boats, archery, s'mores every night, buffet styles meals, etc. Not what we had expected.

As for the room, it was very spartan. Clean, everything worked, but again, not what we expected. There was an alarm clock - but we searched for outlets to plug in our phones (not that we had reception.) The bathroom was huge, but the bedroom was tiny and we were tripping over bags. The first night was very quiet but the second night two other families (with small children) checked into the rooms near us and the walls were so thin that we could hear every drawer closing and toilet flushing. I should point out that we were lucky to have a private bath - some rooms shared bathrooms.

The meals were buffet, cafeteria type meals. Nothing special, but it was great to have food provided. Since there isn't exactly a grocery store nearby, it was good to have meals before and after hiking and exploring the area. Tripping over running children in the dining area, however....Another point is that all but two of the workers I saw there seemed to be college type interns, so if you're wanting the best customer service, this wouldn't be the right place.

So,staying here was a mixed bag. Yes, we got the private bath, meals and beautiful scenery we wanted. The location is great and the property would be a dream if we had children since they have children's camps and activities. However, for a couple without kids it was a bit awkward and didn't fit our needs. I think next time we'll spend a bit more (and do more research) and find a more traditional type lodge.

Room Tip: Choose a room with a private bath unless you want to hike outside. Some rooms have lake views.
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank garzeneshct
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews