We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“excellent stay for the money” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Montecito Sequoia Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Montecito Sequoia Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Omaha, Nebraska
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“excellent stay for the money”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2012

this is the bargain of your vacation. Clean, lots of activities and all meals included. The food is home cooking and all you can eat, tree meals a day. The staff is friendly and well informed. We enjoyed visiting with the other guests.

Room Tip: we stayed at the main lodge and liked being close to the main dining area and the one phone availabl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank judyII
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

590 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    290
    177
    55
    31
    37
See reviews for
272
199
19
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2012

I should start off by saying that we didn't completely do our research before staying here. We wanted to stay somewhere in Kings Canyon or Sequoia for a few days and didn't want to be camping, which limited our choices. Due to the way the National Park Service website is set up, you end up looking at lots of different lodging choices and only seeing prices and not really where they are/what they offer. So, we picked this one because it had a private bath, included meals, and was a lower price than other lodges in the area.

We pulled up expecting to find a lodge/hotel - nothing five star, nothing fancy, just an ordinary hotel. It was much more like summer camps that we had stayed at as kids. Lots of family activities, paddle boats, archery, s'mores every night, buffet styles meals, etc. Not what we had expected.

As for the room, it was very spartan. Clean, everything worked, but again, not what we expected. There was an alarm clock - but we searched for outlets to plug in our phones (not that we had reception.) The bathroom was huge, but the bedroom was tiny and we were tripping over bags. The first night was very quiet but the second night two other families (with small children) checked into the rooms near us and the walls were so thin that we could hear every drawer closing and toilet flushing. I should point out that we were lucky to have a private bath - some rooms shared bathrooms.

The meals were buffet, cafeteria type meals. Nothing special, but it was great to have food provided. Since there isn't exactly a grocery store nearby, it was good to have meals before and after hiking and exploring the area. Tripping over running children in the dining area, however....Another point is that all but two of the workers I saw there seemed to be college type interns, so if you're wanting the best customer service, this wouldn't be the right place.

So,staying here was a mixed bag. Yes, we got the private bath, meals and beautiful scenery we wanted. The location is great and the property would be a dream if we had children since they have children's camps and activities. However, for a couple without kids it was a bit awkward and didn't fit our needs. I think next time we'll spend a bit more (and do more research) and find a more traditional type lodge.

Room Tip: Choose a room with a private bath unless you want to hike outside. Some rooms have lake views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank garzeneshct
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kailua, Hawaii
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2012

We visited for our third summer recently and once again thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. Hiking, wakeboarding and all the other outdoor activities make the family camp a memorable experience. Many of the friends we made during previous summers were also visiting again and it was great to catch up with them and see the kids reconnect with one another. One week was not enough. We will be back!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cdbatch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2012

I am astounded at the positive reviews for this "camp". If I could have given this a negative rating, I would for the complete lack of a value proposition. First of all, 'lodge' is simply a misnomer. This is a campground with buildings -- period. Their website lists amenities that do not exist (i.e., there is NO air conditioning or televisions or restaurant). Most of the rooms lack a private bath -- it is communal and they are 'rustic' and unclean feeling. The 'restaurant' is a cafeteria just like at the Boy Scout camps my son attends with meals offered for a single hour at breakfast, lunch and dinner. There are no other food options so show up at meal time.

Now here is our real beef -- unhealthful conditions. When we checked into our room (a 2nd floor 'suite' because we needed multiple beds), there was a familiar sour/gassy smell which we did not recall until we saw the mouse run across our floor. Upon inspection, not only did we find a mouse trap, but we also found a rat trap. Clearly, signs of an ongoing rodent problem. Mice, we could deal with, rats....We checked right back out. They reluctantly, but nicely, refunded our very expensive room rate (about four times what it should have been for the accommodations) and claimed they were "surprised" we saw a mouse and what a 'very rare' thing that was. We did not mention that we have found the multiple traps (and photographed them in case there was any issue with the refund), but clearly their comment was disingenuous at best. Our advice is if you want a camping experience, camp. This place should be shut down as a public health hazard. The website content on their website and the National Park Service website should be revised to provide greater truth in advertising. Conveniently, neither website offers a comment space. Shame on both of them for perpetrating a falsehood on the general public given the lack of lodging in Sequoia park.

Room Tip: Just stay at the Wuksachi Lodge
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Eileen N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2012

Somehow I booked our reservations for the Montecito without realizing that this place is a lot more than just a place to stay for the night. We had spent the day in King's Canyon National Park and arrived at the Montecito just before 7 p.m. As we were checking in, the girl at the front counter asked if we'd eaten dinner yet. We had not eaten and were planning on just eating granola bars because we didn't think there was anywhere to eat in the area. The girl told us that she would get the staff to wait on us to get our plate before they started cleaning up. We had no clue what she was talking about! Then, she politely informed us that meals were included with our stay at the Montecito. We had a good meal from the buffett, which was a great unexpected treat for us that evening. We settled in the room, which had a king bed and a bunk bed. The room was very clean. We went down to the common area of the lodge later that evening to the sight of people sitting around telling stories, others reading on the couches and families playing board games. We enjoyed the endless juice and flavored water while browsing through the library which had lots of different hiking and nature books. We planned out our hike for the next day sitting in the common area, it was very relaxing. There was cereal and bagels available throughout the night also. The room was simple, but the bed slept great and that's all we were worried about. The next morning we had a good breakfast from the buffet-eggs,sausage, waffles, etc. We didn't stay long enough to enjoy the other ammenities but we saw the lake, pool, tennis courts, ping-pong table, etc. After our one night stay we wished we could've stayed longer. It was great family atmosphere. I would recommend knowing the meal and activity times before you arrive so that you can plan accordingly. We would've loved to have joined in on the s'mores that were being made at the campfire in the middle of camp, but we arrived a little late. We would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Beanyray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maple Grove, Minnesota
Level Contributor
301 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 172 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2012

I will echo the comments of others - this is a lodge that is oriented towards a family experience. There are lots of activities and things to do for kids and families. When I booked it I looked at the price, which is very good or even better compared to other lodges in/near the park when you consider that meals are provided, even though as a couple we weren't able to take advantage of the amenities and activities. Our room was very nice, and even with all the kids around it was very quiet. Our dinner the evening and breakfast the next day were very good, with a nice selection. (Although we couldn't understand why milk wasn't provided as a beverage option for dinner.) There is a small bar area for the adults to relax, and they have a reasonable, but small, selection of beer and wine. Dinner was from 6:00-7:00 and breakfast from 8:00-9:00, so you have to plan around that. The staff was very helpful and courteous, and the lake/pond provided welcome relief from our sore and tired feet.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank parksvisitor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2012

I agree whole-heartedly with BryanRWA - "Know what you're looking for." This is the second trip we've taken to the Montecito Sequoia Lodge, and enjoyed both thoroughly. Before kids, my husband and I used to love to backpack and tent camp. With young kids we're almost ready to try. In the meantime, this facility has provided a nice compromise for us. I love that all meals are included, and we all (kids included) loved the food. We haven't gone during the "family camp", but instead off-weekends. It is still all meals provided, as well as limited activities that we enjoyed - canoeing/sailing on the lake, trampoline and small playground for the kids, s'mores every night, and at a much reduced price. We also took advantage of the "kids program" one day, where the kids went down to the lake to boat and fish, and my husband took part in the rifle shooting offered. We took some time on the other days of our stay to go on a long hike and to go on a cave tour (sack lunches were also provided free of charge when requested the night before). All in all a very relaxing trip. It may not be the Ritz, but there are deer wandering through the camp, and that's a trade off I like!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank hkkc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
8.9 mi away
Wuksachi Lodge
Wuksachi Lodge
#1 of 4 in Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,196 reviews
5.9 mi away
John Muir Lodge
John Muir Lodge
#3 of 4 in Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 448 reviews
16.4 mi away
Sierra Lodge
Sierra Lodge
#5 of 6 in Three Rivers
3.0 of 5 bubbles 284 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.1 mi away
Cedar Grove Lodge
Cedar Grove Lodge
#4 of 4 in Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 142 reviews
19.8 mi away
Lazy J Ranch-Americas Best Value Inn
18.7 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Sequoia Kings Canyon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Montecito Sequoia Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Montecito Sequoia Lodge

Property: Montecito Sequoia Lodge
Address: 63410 General's Hwy, Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA 93633
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Montecito Sequoia Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
ALL-INCLUSIVE RUSTIC MOUNTAIN LODGE INSIDE OF SEQUOIA & KINGS CANYON NATIONAL PARKS, CA - Buffet meals and seasonal activities included in the room rate! Spectacular view of the Great Western Divide of the Sierra Nevada Mountains. Rooming options include newly-built Forest Cabins with private baths & decks, Vintage Lodge Rooms all with private baths. Rustic Cabins with a wood-burning stove and shared bathhouse. Property features an outdoor hot tub open year-round, and a seasonal pool, private lake, and hiking trails directly on property. Lodge is open year-round. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Montecito Sequoia Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Montecito Sequoia Hotel Sequoia And Kings Canyon National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing