We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“So much more than we expected” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Montecito Sequoia Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Montecito Sequoia Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Hudson, FL
Level Contributor
74 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“So much more than we expected”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2011

We knew that this was a lodge in the mountains, so we had an idea of what to expect but it was so much more than we imagined! Starting with the beautiful lake outside the lodge, to the wonderful chef prepared food and the caring employees, especially Jessica at the front desk. She was so friendly and attentive, and even remembered that we had taken a day trip to Yosemite, asking how it was the minute we walked in the door. Our room overlooking the lake was clean, functional and everything we needed including a very comfortable bed. Having dinner with fellow travellers was a great way to get advice and give advice that was helpful for all of our vacations. I travel a lot and trust me this place is so clean including when I look up at the light fixtures in the dining hall. The campfire and smores were great as well as the wonderful different types of coffee, tea, drinks and snacks that were always available. Having your lunch packed for you for the day is really a bonus as well as being able to make a long distance call home (no charge) since cell phones do not work in the mountains. I can't say enough about this facility and would recommend it to anyone considering vacationing in this area. The only downside while we were there (for some people) was that the one tv in the common room was not working. Thanks so much for making our vacation so enjoyable!

Room Tip: Make sure you order your lunch for the following day by 730pm the night before
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank willia999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

583 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    286
    176
    53
    31
    37
See reviews for
269
196
18
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
nj
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2011

I was very very happy with this place. I had to book at the very last minute because of some cancelled plans to yosemite (dyb). I had been trying for a cedar grove area lodge, but was unable to get a reservation. Instead I "settled" for this place and i am so glad I did. It was 3 nights in a cabin (bathroom across the way... it was not too cold at night).... the cabin had a wood stove that I tried to keep lit. when not the extra blankets did the trick.
Montecito Sequoia is very centrally located and allowed me to see both national parks easily (an important factor when you consider the slow, windy and under-repair nature of the roads). the lake was beautiful and the 3 included meals were very good - w/ excellent trail lunches.
Moreover, it is the unexpected extras you really appreciate. the free wifi. the free domestic phone calls (a huge plus in an area with zero cell coverage). the free use of canoes on the lake. all inclusive.
Sometimes you end up in a place that was your second choice, and find that the vacation accommodations exceed your expectations. yes... I liked this place..

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Donald M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
67 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2011

A very good place to stay at the Sequoia Kings Canyon National Parks. Room was neat with a King bed and Bunk. Dinner (with some good options) and Breakfast were included. Both were good. They also provide some of the breakfast items 24 hours. There is a nice lake and Kayaks available. Lots of things for Kids to play. Location is nice and in between the major attractions of both the parks. The view from the room was awesome especially during sunrise and sunset. Staffs are very helpful.
On the flipside, the rooms, hallway and kids play area are outdated and needs some renovation. Hopefully the management will take this seriously.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Pgsdeepak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington Beach, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2011

If you are looking for a family vacation in the mountains - this is it.
Counselors from all over the globe will take care of your kids while you go hiking, horse backriding, yoga, art class, tie dye, archery, or whatever. They even feed you and do your laundry!!!
Talk about a stress free vacation!
Best part - you get to enjoy the beautiful Sequoias and get out of the city.
This is a camp though - you need to know that - not a resort. Expect marmots, deers, and maybe a bear and occasional mouse- but that just makes all the more fun!
Highly reccomend for families that love the outdoors, hiking boots, and general silliness.

Room Tip: Request a mountain view cabin - beautiful views all day
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank SarahParra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flower Mound, Texas
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2011

We stayed here one night because thats all we could stand! This place is run down and dirty inside & out. It is in need of repair everywhere. There was even a bat colony living in the wall of our cabin. The staff didn't express any concern when we told them. I'm sure the health department might be concerned, but not hese folks.
The meals were included in the rate buts that's because they were so bad that no one would buy them if they had a choice. The one night rate of 220 was insane for what you get.

Don't go here if you expect anything more than a 1950s summer camp without the nostalgia.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank UTornsfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
32 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2011

We just spent a week at the Montecito Sequoia Lodge and absolutely loved it. Perfect balance of divine landscapes and relaxing setting, abundant and delicious food, engaging and plentiful activities, plenty of opportunities for social contact while never taking away from ability to disconnect and get away from it all.

Room Tip: No bad room - recommend the cabins for most authentic experience
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank bruno68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2011

Our family did our second family camp week at Montecito this summer, and it was hard to adjust to normal life after having so much fun. The place has the feel of a real mountain camp amongst the trees, with a great view. But what distinguishes the whole place are the activities and the people – the kids are grouped by age doing activities all day, and the adults can also choose from a huge range of things to do – we did archery, canoeing, mountain biking, swimming, astronomy, hiking, riflery, a massage, tie-dye, paintball, soapstone carving, fencing, water skiing (there’s a pretty lake on the property), and lots more. Aside from those, though, there are other traditions and activities like campfire songs, a variety show, overnights for the kids – I am admittedly an old cynic who would normally not be caught dead within a mile of anything as cheesy as an ‘if I had a hammer’ sing-along, but the moment you get there you enter a cynicism and judgment-free zone, where adults and kids can be silly and have fun together trying new things and learning the traditional camp ways.

The staff is amazing, with a huge number of enthusiastic counselors who are devoted to the kids (and vice versa - our kids became very attached to their group leaders), and are obviously enjoying themselves as well – it’s not cruise-ship enforced smiling, it’s a genuine experience with what quickly feels like extended family. That’s not too far off in fact as people come year after year (guests are really devoted), see their kids go through counselor training then end up leading activities – some have been coming almost their whole lives.

Aside from that there is a big and varied buffet three times a day with access to food and drinks around the clock. It’s really relaxed place in that regard - people wander in and out of the lodge getting coffee, sitting on the couches reading a book, raiding the cereal bins for a late snack. You feel right at home and are never pressured by anyone.

The facilities are a mountain lodge and cabins – they’re not meant to be like a Hilton in the city, and people don’t come for the shower pressure (which personally seemed fine to me, but anyway). We did have a distant forest fire affecting the air one day, but only a couple of people with pre-existing conditions had to take it easy for that one day. I still did a lot of physical activity, with no ill effects. In the Sierras summer fires are just part of life, so people take it in stride. Last year we didn’t see anything.

Montecito is really an amazing place. By the end of the week people form real friendships and inevitably the question is always ‘which week are you coming in next year?’

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank skipflip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
8.9 mi away
Wuksachi Lodge
Wuksachi Lodge
#1 of 4 in Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,113 reviews
5.9 mi away
John Muir Lodge
John Muir Lodge
#3 of 4 in Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 420 reviews
19.8 mi away
Lazy J Ranch-Americas Best Value Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.1 mi away
Cedar Grove Lodge
Cedar Grove Lodge
#4 of 4 in Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 140 reviews
16.4 mi away
Sierra Lodge
Sierra Lodge
#5 of 6 in Three Rivers
3.0 of 5 bubbles 279 reviews
18.7 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Sequoia Kings Canyon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Montecito Sequoia Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Montecito Sequoia Lodge

Property: Montecito Sequoia Lodge
Address: 63410 General's Hwy, Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA 93633
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Montecito Sequoia Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
ALL-INCLUSIVE RUSTIC MOUNTAIN LODGE INSIDE OF SEQUOIA & KINGS CANYON NATIONAL PARKS, CA - Buffet meals and seasonal activities included in the room rate! Spectacular view of the Great Western Divide of the Sierra Nevada Mountains. Rooming options include newly-built Forest Cabins with private baths & decks, Vintage Lodge Rooms all with private baths. Rustic Cabins with a wood-burning stove and shared bathhouse. Property features an outdoor hot tub open year-round, and a seasonal pool, private lake, and hiking trails directly on property. Lodge is open year-round. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Montecito Sequoia Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Montecito Sequoia Hotel Sequoia And Kings Canyon National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing