We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Apprehensive to write review becasue this place is beautiful” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sunset Campground

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Sunset Campground
Save
You added Sunset Campground to your Saves list
Akron, Ohio
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Apprehensive to write review becasue this place is beautiful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2011

After reading reviews from this site I figured I would stay here for a few nights in my most recent visit to Sequioa NP. The location is great (Not too far from the main entrance) and in close proximity to Grant Grove Village.

We visited in June 2011 and there were definately bear proof boxes (very large) at each campsite. I did notice some Raccoons in the campground and witnessed them first hand stealing food that was not protected. A couple was cooking diner and they were only 10 feet away from their open bear box and a brave Raccoon was able to steal their bread right out of their open box. Keep your food box closed when not in use and you will have no issues.

Like previous reviews state sites 37, 38, 40 and 41 have the best views and extra space behind them to explore (Sites 49, 50 and 54 would be the next best after those). These spots are all close to the trash area and shower. The shower was good for NP standards but nothing fancy... the water was hot. Everyone we chatted with very much enjoyed their choice to stay there as the beauty was unmatched.

I was apprehensive to write the review becasue I wanted to be selfish and keep it a secret to only those who know about it, but its too nice to keep it secret. The photo I took is directly behind campsite 38 at Sunset.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
17 Thank OhioKevin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    4
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
9
5
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2011

Sunset is an alright campground. It's attractive enough and shady. The elevation makes for nice summer days (August). The nights even have a bit of chill to them. Everyone was respectful of others on our trip. We had zero people-related problems. The bathrooms were clean and plentiful. There was never a line. And the campsite is located close to the general store for firewood or whatever else you might need.

Unfortunately, Sunset is boring. There's nothing special or interesting about the campsite. Local hiking is limited to a 4 mile round-trip hike to Sequoia Lake (4000ft descent). It's an attractive hike but a lot of work for a somewhat wimpy water fall and YMCA infested lake surrounded by private roads.

Sunset is covered in a fine layer of tree dust. Pack dark clothing, preferably brown. Or pack white clothing and watch it turn brown. Water runs down the hills in a very weird way, never soaking into the ground but rather becoming soot balls. I'm guessing the dust would just rebound even after getting 12 inches of rain. My tent ended up brown. So did my sleeping bags. This easily ranks as the most dusty campsite I've ever seen.

Odds and ends. Sound carries very far here. It really made me miss the white noise other campsites enjoy. Next time, it'll definitely be a campsite near a river for us. We never saw any wildlife besides a few opportunistic squirrels and chipmunks.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
5 Thank Brian F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clovis, Ca
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2010

Okay, so here is the deal. Normally the campgrounds in Kings are nice and I would recommend them to everyone. Last night we stayed at sunset and around 1am a large group of drunk and very loud young adults decided to move in right across from our camp site. Party ended around 5am. After sunrise, we decided to end our vacation, packup and head back home (which thankfully is not to far). Here is what you need to know about all of Kings Canyon. There is no cell coverage at all...anywhere. The rangers and camp staff go home after 10pm. You will not be able to contact anyone until 7:30 the next morning. There is no camping host. There is a payphone at the general phone if you have an emergency. You pay $18.00 a night to stay there. You will have to deal with your neighbors yourself if there is an issue. That being said, its really luck of the draw. I would say 1 out of every 10 camping trips will end up this way...it just would be nice to have a way to deal with it when it happens and not the next morning.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
10 Thank genie555m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Negaunee, Michigan
Level Contributor
30 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2010

I'm so glad I read the reviews on Trip Advisor prior to our trip to Kings Canyon/Sequoia Nat'l Parks. My husband was thinking of camping at a different campground, but I read so many favorable reveiws on here. Sunset is right inside the park entrance, so we were able to get in and set up before driving the winding roads with our camper in tow. Even though we arrived in August after 6 pm, we were able to get a campsite close to the "sunset loop". Prior reviews mentioned sites 37, 38, 40. We were at 51, across from those prime sites, but were able to walk across the road and view the amazing sunset from the rocks. Absolutely gorgeous! I would recommend this campsite to anyone!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
Helpful?
6 Thank splindenberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
camperniner
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2009

My wife and I decided to go on a last minute camping trip for the 4th of july weekend. We loaded up our camping gear and two dogs and headed to the sequoia national park. We wanted to get away from the city and into a forest sourounded with trees. We had never been camping there but we heard it was beatiful. We kinda took a chance becuase it was 4th of july weekend and we had no reservations, but we looked it up and noticed that the sequoia national park has quite a few 1st come 1st serve campsites. We arived late around 10 pm so we couldn't see much(all apart of the excitment:). The first coulple of camp sites were full so we ended up at sunset campground. There was plenty of campsites to choose from and we picked one close to the edge sourounded with beatiful pine trees and large boulders. Also as a bonus, through the trees, it had a view of the city off in the distance. Our particular campsite was small but its all we needed(the ones in the middle were a lot larger). The next day we went exploring all over the park. It was awsome, just what we needed. And the best part is that there was hardly any crowds. There were penty of people there, but not too much. I didn't get to see any fire works, but i didn't even care. We had our campfire, some beer, and a great campsite!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
9 Thank camperniner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
34 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2009

A group of us stayed in campsites #38 and #40 (right next to #37 as described in another review which directed us to this great location!) There are 4 campsites along the ridge towards the back of Sunset Campground, superb location! We arrived on an early Friday afternoon and lucked out with these two spots. The sunsets are amazing, it is quiet and not an overrun campground, and the facilities are clean and well-maintained. Also, the rangers were very nice and helpful.

Sunset Campground also seemed to be in it's own microclimate. It was rainy throughout most of Sequoia the weekend we were there, including Lodgepole, and it was rainy the last day in Kings Canyon but Sunset was always in the sun and comfortable. It was slightly windy on the ridge the first night we arrived but by sunset the wind died down.

Sunset is in between Kings Canyon and Sequoia, so it is a great location. Highly recommend!

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank surfbug77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2008

Excellent does not say it adequately. Not within a Texas Mile or more. This is a superb CG and it runs right to the ridge overlooking Sequoia Lake below. If you read my previous review for Azalea CG, next door, my wife and I spent 110 days in the Sequoia--KC complex. We stayed the vast majority in Sunset and of that time the majority of that in site #37. Now this site overlooks Sequoia Lake. You go straight back and go all the way to the back. Just as you begin to go left, look up to your right, and there she is. And what a jewel this campsite is. You'll be the envy of all who camp there. You have a private walkway out unto the Ridge at night, where I set up my telescope and spent the nights traveling the heavens, in search of planets and galaxies, and the like. The Sunsets here--the name of the CG no doubt has something to do with it--are BREATHTAKING. Fire overhangs the ridge, like a descending caldron of bright red and orange and yellow and purple. Venus appears, ultimately, over the ridge, and governs many nights during the Summer, along with Jupiter and Saturn. The Belt of Venus is stunning from this location--utterly stunning in its beauty. It is a short walk to the restroom. all other campsites are beginning to drop away below you, to your left more so, and to your right also, but less rapidly. On a Monday morning we stood without a view of another camper as we arose for coffee after a summer rain. Everyone else went home except the RV's and trailers near the front, by the road. This is THE CAMPSITE. Lodgepole is a bit down the road but a lovely drive. Grant grove is right next door almost. The Converse Basin, a monument to the stupidity of mankind, is just around the corner, on a dirt road that is easily driven. Nearby, towards Sequoia is the Redwood Grove, the largest standing grove of Giant Sequoia on planet earth. You may have racoons visit at night as well as bear. We had a bit of a flurry with hornets but we prevailed by burying their hive underneath the rocks with dirt and with sticks and with rocks. And we did not get stung. The ranger and other staff are friendly and supportive IF you know what you're doing, you live by the rules, and you don't make a nuisance of yourself--e.g. with drugs and alcohol. Loud and foulmouthed Drunks and Druggies won't much like it here because they have a jail ready for you. Go elsewhere if that's you, you're not likely to have a good time if you're rowdy and into chemicals. This is a superb CG, for peace and quiet. It is great for families. and it is quiet. I say that a bit tongue-in-cheek because overhead you can often hear the wind going thru the trees at a pace that roars, truly like a river, even the nearby Kings River, except at the picnic table, only a small, delicate breeze. You've never seen anything like it anywhere else. One last thing, think about how to park without Jeffrey Pine cones (very, very large) landing on your car or SUV, as they can do damage. Enjoy~!

Helpful?
19 Thank FUJITA6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
9.8 mi away
Wuksachi Lodge
Wuksachi Lodge
#1 of 4 in Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
4.0 of 5 stars 2,012 reviews
14.6 mi away
Montecito Sequoia Lodge
Montecito Sequoia Lodge
#2 of 4 in Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
4.0 of 5 stars 534 reviews
7.4 mi away
Lazy J Ranch-Americas Best Value Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Sierra Lodge
Sierra Lodge
#5 of 6 in Three Rivers
3.0 of 5 stars 268 reviews
19.0 mi away
John Muir Lodge
John Muir Lodge
#3 of 4 in Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
4.0 of 5 stars 383 reviews
5.9 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Sequoia Kings Canyon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunset Campground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunset Campground

Property: Sunset Campground
Address: Grant Grove, Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA
Location: United States > California > Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 20 Specialty Lodging in Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 157
Also Known As:
Sunset Campground Hotel Sequoia And Kings Canyon National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing