We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Amazing place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Silver City Mountain Resort

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Silver City Mountain Resort
Save
You added Silver City Mountain Resort to your Saves list
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Amazing place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014 via mobile

Our 2 families spent three days there with 5 kids. This place is in the middle of the Forrest totally back on time.
We were spleping in the sawtooth cabin which is great for 2 families.
The only thing you have to know is that the road to get there is though and 2 of the kids were sick. So you cannot move easily to the other area of the park. But beyond that point everything was perfect. This place is magical and the staff is really nice!!!! I recommend this place.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Klalo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    69
    24
    5
    4
    7
See reviews for
46
27
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Portland, OR
Level Contributor
59 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

We stayed in the historic Forest Glen cabin for one night ($100) prior to a backpacking trip in the Mineral King area. It was the perfect transition from the hotels of the valley to the tent we'd sleep in on the trail.

The cabin appears to be pushing 100 years old: original wood, dark inside save for two propane lamps, propane four-burner stove and oven, sink with cold running water, double and twin beds, small kitchen table inside, large deck with patio table and four chairs outside. Pots, pans, dishes, glassware, and utensils are provided.

The rustic bathrooms are about 50 feet down the hill from the Forest Glen cabin, and offer toilets, showers, and an outdoor sink.

Be prepared: bring your own linens and towels, be sure to get the Wi-Fi password when you check in, and bring a calling card or plenty of coins to be able to use the resort's pay phone -- there is no cellular phone service in the area.

We played horseshoes on site (free) and enjoyed some delicious homemade pie in the cafe (not free but worth every penny!).

Picking up groceries in Visalia before heading up the adventurous Mineral King road allowed us to cook a great meal in the cabin's kitchen. Dinner on the sunny deck, amidst the trees, was fabulous until the mosquitoes forced us back inside.

The road to Mineral King is not for everyone, and the rustic cabin isn't for everyone. But, if you're an outdoor adventurer looking for a bed to sleep in before exploring this remote corner of Sequoia National Park, Silver City hits the spot.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AWeekOrAWeekend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coto, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

We spent 6 nights in the Sawtooth Chalet with our family. We'd planned the vacation months in advance and have looked forward to the beauty of Mineral King. Our stay was delightful! The cabin was roomy enough for all eight of us including 3 little ones. The kitchen had lots of storage space for food and was well equipped. We were slightly concerned about the accessibility of the cabin as my husband is in a wheelchair. We needn't have worried...it more than met his needs. The roll-in shower is incredible. The campfire ring is right at the porch so all of us could enjoy S'mores and toasted marshmallows. My favorite part was sitting on the porch swing each morning to watch the sun hit the peaks across the valley. We saw mountain quail, black bears and deer from our chalet. Our three year old granddaughter loved the small park and the dollhouse. We took short hikes to waterfalls and streams. Of course, we enjoyed the pie and coffee at the restaurant! The 21 mile trip on the road back to Mineral King wasn't as bad as we had expected...just take it slow and easy.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mecon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

We stayed in the Paradise Ridge cabin for 2 nights. Everything about this place is absolutely perfect: the views, the outdoor fireplace, the hammock strung between 2 trees, the attentive and friendly staff and the proximity to Mineral King's hiking trails. Besides the spectacular views through the cabin's huge windows, the cabins here are quite spacious, very comfortable and come equipped with most everything you'll need to cook if you'd prefer to not eat at the restaurant (excluding electrical appliances: the fridge is propane-powered).

There are far fewer people on this side of the park, so outdoor adventures are a bit more rustic--if you must see the Sherman tree or go up Moro Rock along with 20,000 other tourists, it'll take some time to get there, but in the end it's not that long of a drive. At Mineral King, we went up to Eagle Lake, which is one of the top stretches of trail I've ever seen: rewarding views from the very first step.

Go to this place, you'll not regret it.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Heinrich G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jerusalem
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

Went there with my husband as part of our 'national parks honeymoon'. It was a great experience - having our own log cabin and being basically in the wilderness (surrounded by incredible trees and views). The area is much quieter and less built up than other parts of the Sequoia park (ie round the Sherman tree) so great if you want a quiet getaway. The food was utterly delicious, and included everything from gourmet burgers to homemade pies. Also the guy on the front desk when we were there - Mike - was absolutely lovely, super friendly and gave us loads of advice on trails. Overall a fantastic experience! Hope to go back there some time :)

Room Tip: We had the a regular cabin which we liked (although there are a bunch of bigger fancier ones which l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jj123Jerusalem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newark, Ohio
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2014 via mobile

During a 5 month road trip across the U.S, I had the amazing opportunity to spend a few days at Silver City Mountain Resort. The view from our cabin was spectacular. Surrounded by trees and mountains, our cabin provided great views. We even had our own camp fire. The innkeepers were more the generous and were always willing to help us find our way around. This was definitely my most favorite place to stay while traveling.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank eandp-reviews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fresno, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2014

My family and I stayed in the Florence Peak Chalet at Silver City in October of 2013. By far our best experience in Sequoia. This was my 6th trip to Sequoia National Park. Although the park is one of my favorites I had never been impressed with the accommodations or food. Silver City is different though. The Chalets are wonderful, spacious, clean, beautiful and well worth the price. Also the pie is the best I've ever had! We will definitely be back and I would recommend to anyone.

Room Tip: Bring food unless you want to eat at the restaurant grocery stores are an hour away.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Neil H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
11.5 mi away
Wuksachi Lodge
Wuksachi Lodge
#1 of 4 in Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
4.0 of 5 stars 2,016 reviews
20.1 mi away
Montecito Sequoia Lodge
Montecito Sequoia Lodge
#2 of 4 in Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
4.0 of 5 stars 538 reviews
25.8 mi away
John Muir Lodge
John Muir Lodge
#3 of 4 in Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
4.0 of 5 stars 383 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.4 mi away
Lazy J Ranch-Americas Best Value Inn
22.4 mi away
Cedar Grove Lodge
Cedar Grove Lodge
#4 of 4 in Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
4.0 of 5 stars 135 reviews
13.3 mi away
Sierra Lodge
Sierra Lodge
#5 of 6 in Three Rivers
3.0 of 5 stars 269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Silver City Mountain Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silver City Mountain Resort

Property: Silver City Mountain Resort
Address: Mile 21 Mineral King Road, PO Box 56, Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA 93271
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 20 Specialty Lodging in Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Silver City Resort is a small boutique resort nestled deep in Sequoia National Park just minutes away from the breathtaking high altitude Mineral King Valley. What makes this destination so unique is that it shares its history with two of the oldest alpine settlements in the western United States. Within the Sierra Nevada mountain range of California, Silver City Resort and the neighboring seasonal communities of Silver City and Mineral King, contain more chapters of shared human history than any other community in the High Sierras for over 130 years. Silver City Resort offers a truly unique mountain experience. Located 21 miles up Mineral King Road Silver City offers lodging away from the hustle and bustle of the main tourism. Silver City offers guests an authentic mountain experience perfect for families, avid hikers, adventure seekers, and people who love nature. We provide private cabins each with a fully stocked kitchen, including pots and pans, dishes, cooking utensils, baking bowls, cutlery, silverware, etc… We have beautiful spacious chalets with open beam ceilings, bathrooms and showers. If luxury is not your cup of tea we also have smaller family cabins and last but not least our rugged historic cabins. Whether you are an adventurer looking for lodging in Sequoia, or a family looking for a great getaway Silver City Mountain Resort offers lodging during the summer months in Sequoia National Park. Opening up Memorial Day weekend in May and closing in mid to late October depending on snow fall. Silver City also includes a small store and restaurant. The resort is located 21 miles up Mineral King Road in the little cabin communities of Silver City and near the beautiful Mineral King Valley. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Silver City Mountain Hotel Sequoia And Kings Canyon National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing