We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect wedding location!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Silver City Mountain Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect wedding location!”
Reviewed June 6, 2013

Wedding? After searching high and low for an outdoor wedding venue where I could stay the whole weekend with family and friends, I found Silver City Resort and had my wedding at the location September 2012. My husband and I were determined to have a weekend wedding in the mountains. Silver City is perfect for this type of wedding. Laid back, no dress code for guests, no structured seating arrangements. I can’t say enough good things about this place. Management and staff were friendly, helpful, and non-intrusive. We had a small wedding, just under 50 people. We put together a menu that was executed perfectly. The food was cooked perfectly and tasted delicious. Everyone had a large enough portion to be full and everyone finished their plates. The prices were very fair. They really worked with us to make sure we had everything we needed.
Food? The menu for the main restaurant is small, and has good quality food. The main restaurant has a small general store that has trinkets, supplies such as Gatorade, and some medical items like Advil etc…
Location? All of the cabins are different sizes and ages. The historic cabins do not have a shower. But there are clean showers with HOT water on location. They work great. We stayed in the Shooting Star cabin during our stay and loved it. Clean, spacious and has a beautiful fireplace. You can also bring your own food as cabins have refrigerator/stove utensils etc. This is a good place to stay and go backpacking out from as well.
Where? Silver City is located in a remote location which makes it perfect for a wedding. If you are passionate for the outdoors, wouldn’t you want to have your wedding at a place that really means something to the both of you? If you want to avoid traffic, noise, nosey passerby’s or worse, sharing your location with others waiting to get married, this is a good place to do it. We rented all the cabins for our wedding (early on) to ensure we had the place to ourselves all weekend. You do have to do a bit of planning on your part since they are far from a town. We pre-stuffed all the gift arrival bags, ordered everything necessary for the wedding (cake platter etc), and took everything up with us. For flowers we did our research beforehand, stopped in the main town before heading up and purchased them and threw them in an ice-chest. Worked out perfectly, no damage!
What? What to expect on the road up: Going up to the location you will come to a long windy road on your last trek before getting there. EXPECT a long, windy road. The road is narrow but in good shape. Get a seasick patch behind the ear if you get car sick. It does WONDERS. The ride up is gorgeous and peaceful. Keep your camera ready!
Who? Silver City is a serene place in the forest where you enjoy nature, listen to the river, listen to birds, explore, and see a million stars at night. Very laid back. People aren’t going to be constantly bugging you and asking you if you need things. So if you are looking to get waited on hand and foot, it might not be the right place for you. You go to your cabin, and have time to yourself. You can sit out on the deck of your cabin and have some hot tea on a cool night or get your fire on inside with a wood burning stove. This is not a pretentious, obnoxious, loud place. If you are afraid of camping in cabins, long drives in the mountains, are looking to get your “spa on”, or you hate nature, peace and quiet, this may not be the right place for you. I personally am completely in love with the place.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Private P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    77
    27
    6
    4
    7
See reviews for
54
29
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
North Hollywood, California, United States
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2013

This is the only place in the world where I can nap. Besides the spectacular views, fresh air and stunning vegetation, unplugging the phone, computer, and TV is something that we, as human beings, should do more often.

The chalets are clean, well stocked with every kitchen tool you'd ever need, and very comfortable. The porch swing and fire pit right outside the door (White Chief Chalet) are definitely plusses.

The staff is friendly, helpful and kind.

This was our 16th year staying at Silver City. We look forward to it every year and hate to leave! This place is extremely special.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank Jennifer J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2013

My husband and I stayed in the Honeymoon cabin during the Memorial Day weekend and we loved, loved, loved it! We arrived pretty late on Friday evening, so all we did on our first evening was heating up the cabin. There is a little oven in there and its kind of fun to make fire, but be advised to bring really warm blankets if you go there in May or early June, since it can get really chilli during the night. So we heated as much as we could in the evening and while we were sleeping the cabin cooled down a lot, so first thing in the morning to do was making fire. But I am super sensitive with temperatures, so I guess its not bad if you tuckle in to the cozy bed.
The cabin itself has everything you need, but bring your own food, the store does not sell any fresh food. If you dont want to do so, you still can go to the restaurant there. We only got coffee and pie in the restaurant and the pie is delicious, so safe some space for at least one piece while you are there!
The Mineral King area is breathtaking, if you go up the mountain just a little further its going to knock you off your feed, you will see! And yes, the road up there is very curvy, as already described in various other reviews. So if you afraid of driving on mountain roads its probably not a good idea to go there. I personally did not mind driving there at all, but I grew up in a mountain area. One note on the directions. If you use Google Maps to find the cabin, please know that Google shows that you are driving about 13 miles on the mineral king road, but it really is a view miles longer, somewhere between 17 and 18 miles, so especially if you arrive during the night, do not freak out if you cant find it after 13 miles.
What I loved about the area is that you do not want or have to leave until your time is up. We spent half a day just lying in the sun in front of our cabin, and it is sooo peaceful! Loved it!
The on side bathroom is placed in the center, which is convenient, but I would not necessary place it that way. However, there is hot water, but no electric outlet, so dont even bother to bring a hairdryer if you are staying in one of the historical cabins.
The chalets looked nice too, its probably great for families or groups.
So overall the experience mountain is so authentic, being away from cellphone coverage and internet (the wifi in the store only works a few hours a day) is a nice change from our busy life. We would definitely come back!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michaela M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Encino, New Mexico
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2013

First of all our Much appreciation goes to the staff of The Silver City Mountain Resort,specially to Mark who assisted us from the first contact all the way to the end, by promptly answering any and many of the questions we came up with and replying to all the emails.

Secondly the Sawtooth home we stayed at was large and very spacious to comfortably accommodate the 10 of us, and the staff were quick to respond in any additional request me made for having any extra sheets, towels, toiletries , etc............

Thirdly, the house was very very clean, big bathe room with continuous hot water.

Forth, ample fire wood was ready to be used anytime.

Majestic snow covered mountains surrounded the surreal view combined with gigantic sequoia and pine trees. Creeks on either sides of the house made a beautiful surround sound.

Finally, we all came back as a big bunch of HAPPY CAMPERS.


Thank you, with much appreciation,

Joseph

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Joseph S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
Level 6 Contributor
208 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2012

Very nice chalet with incredible view out of front living room window. Take note, this was the chalet...not the cabins which looked rustic and small. There was a living/dining area. Kitchen was stocked with cooking baking needs, refrigerator, stove, no microwave. Seperate bedroom and bath. Had to rent or bring your own linens. Also, theres no electricity between 10 pm and 12 noon. So, no hairdryer, toothbrush or toaster if you needed it.....everything runs on gas between those hours....that was hard to get used to. Also, they want you to clean up after yourself when you leave...I dont think thats really a positive. We paid a lot for the chalet and I dont think you should have to clean it...we didnt make any mess so it wasnt a big deal and the staff was very nice about how much you were expected to "clean" up. We didnt know where to get ahold of staff when the general store/small "restaurant" was closed. Some negatives to consider....but if you like the outdoors and hiking and wonderful views....this place certainly delivered. I think in the summer it could be noisy...theres outside firepits and some of the places are rather close. We didnt have any trouble when we went later in the season. We seen bear and deer everyday we were there. Birds of all kinds and squirrels all over the place. The drive up is bad...thats all I can say. It takes an hour and a half to get there on very, very, twisty narrow roads only wide enough for one and a half cars. Definitely take heed to the bad reviews about this road....its so true. So going back down into town or over to other side of park is really tiresome and uses up a lot of your time and energy everyday. (3 hours up and down total) So we spent a couple of days at the Chalet doing hikes up on the mountain.

Room Tip: I think the Chalets look way more roomy, better furnished and better views than the tiny cabins...bu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank geminigirlNewYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 9, 2012

Great experience. The property was v clean and neat. Loved spending our time in lap of nature. The commute to the resort is strenuous.Takes around 50 minutes on zig zag roads.
And ya bring your own linens
The staff was v friendly and nice

Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank amit_ou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mishawaka
Level 6 Contributor
49 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2012

I did not stay in the cabins, but I did stop to grab a bite to eat. The pie was fantastic!
It was very quiet & peaceful. I would like to come back and stay at the cabins.
There is a ranger station a few miles past Silver City. Beyond the ranger station is the end of the road.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank photohiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
11.5 mi away
Wuksachi Lodge
Wuksachi Lodge
#1 of 4 in Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
2,340 reviews
20.1 mi away
Montecito Sequoia Lodge & Summer Family Camp
Montecito Sequoia Lodge & Summer...
#2 of 4 in Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
625 reviews
25.8 mi away
John Muir Lodge
John Muir Lodge
#3 of 4 in Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
497 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.3 mi away
Sierra Lodge
Sierra Lodge
#5 of 6 in Three Rivers
296 reviews
16.4 mi away
Lazy J Ranch-Americas Best Value Inn
15.2 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Sequoia Kings Canyon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Silver City Mountain Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silver City Mountain Resort

Property: Silver City Mountain Resort
Address: Mile 21 Mineral King Road, PO Box 56, Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA 93271
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 19 Specialty Lodging in Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Silver City Mountain Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Silver City Resort is a small boutique resort nestled deep in Sequoia National Park just minutes away from the breathtaking high altitude Mineral King Valley. What makes this destination so unique is that it shares its history with two of the oldest alpine settlements in the western United States. Within the Sierra Nevada mountain range of California, Silver City Resort and the neighboring seasonal communities of Silver City and Mineral King, contain more chapters of shared human history than any other community in the High Sierras for over 130 years. Silver City Resort offers a truly unique mountain experience. Located 21 miles up Mineral King Road Silver City offers lodging away from the hustle and bustle of the main tourism. Silver City offers guests an authentic mountain experience perfect for families, avid hikers, adventure seekers, and people who love nature. We provide private cabins each with a fully stocked kitchen, including pots and pans, dishes, cooking utensils, baking bowls, cutlery, silverware, etc… We have beautiful spacious chalets with open beam ceilings, bathrooms and showers. If luxury is not your cup of tea we also have smaller family cabins and last but not least our rugged historic cabins. Whether you are an adventurer looking for lodging in Sequoia, or a family looking for a great getaway Silver City Mountain Resort offers lodging during the summer months in Sequoia National Park. Opening up Memorial Day weekend in May and closing in mid to late October depending on snow fall. Silver City also includes a small store and restaurant. The resort is located 21 miles up Mineral King Road in the little cabin communities of Silver City and near the beautiful Mineral King Valley. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Silver City Mountain Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Silver City Mountain Hotel Sequoia And Kings Canyon National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing