We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Wonderfully Romantic and Adventurous” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ranch Champagne

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Ranch Champagne
Save
You added Ranch Champagne to your Saves list
fl
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderfully Romantic and Adventurous”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

The cabin was perfect for a romantic getaway. The were stocked with everything we needed and exceptionally clean! We were there to visit the Sequoias and Kings canyon and the cabins were the perfect distance, bringing us home each night to bbq with a breathtaking view of the mountains. After dinner each night we had a perfect view of the milky way and more shooting stars than you could even hope to see. What makes Ranch Champagne so special is the wonderful staff, there wasn't a need that went unfulfilled, we hated to leave just as much for our new friends as for the beautiful atmosphere surrounding us. We can't wait to come back! I don't know what people are saying about the roads, they are the same roads that lead to the Sequoias so if you can't drive to the cabins then you aren't driving anywhere in the mountains.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank surfsuntan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    5
    2
    2
    5
See reviews for
14
16
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012

Perfect place to stay if you're going to visit the Sequoias. It takes a about 20 to 25 minutes to get up the one road mountain, but once you get up there the view is perfect. We stayed in cabin three and recommend that cabin to everyone. We visited early June, the weather perfect. It was so nice to live off solar panels in the mountains, It had everything we needed to survive for four days. Stove, refrigerator, big comfy bed. My son is five and had a blast running around outside and playing in the cowboy hot tub. We encountered absolutely no problems, The owner was super friendly! its two months later and I'm still wishing I was there.

Room Tip: Cabin Three best view ever!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Robyn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oceanside, California, USA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2012

This was the worst travel experience I've ever had and I've traveled extensively and in third world countries. I truly do not know what other people are talking about unless the people who own this place are writing their own reviews. Words cannot describe the "road" leading to this cabin. It is a sliver of a dirt road cut into the side of a hill with a sheer cliff on one side; we were seriously afraid driving it. And yes, it takes forever to drive the 7 miles to get to the cabin. The pictures are extremely deceiving. It is not next to a river--that is about a 1/4 of a mile away. It IS on a dirt road--the same one you drive up only by the time you cross the river (on an ancient questionable bridge after 15 minutes of driving) you are no longer on the side of the hill but on the hill itself so there are other cabins around you--not secluded as the site says. Again, the cabin is right ON the road. And when we were there in September, there were face flies. Millions of them. Terrible! Made unloading from the car to the cabin horrible and once inside the tiny --and I mean tiny--cabin life wasn't any better. There was hardly room to move. We obviously couldn't go outside to sit on the deck because of the bugs, but not sure we would have anyway--what were we going to look at --the cars driving by or the ugly trailer parked just below where the caretaker lived (although we could not find him) or the other cabins around us? It was far from lovely. When I initially called to get information before booking, they did say it was a 7-mile road but never mentioned that it was up a steep climb with only room for one car and the drop off on one side. This is not a minor detail! If you plan on spending time in the park as we were and as I told them we were, this would not be the place to stay EVEN IF it was a decent place (which it is not). We did not stay because the situation was so awful. The owners refused to take any responsibility and would not refund any part of the money we prepaid. So BEWARE!!!

Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
Helpful?
11 Thank Netta D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, CA
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2011

This place is very relaxing, mountain fresh air & quiet! Perfect for a couple as their website states. First off, if a narrow winding road bothers you this might not be the place. Road is paved but as they say it is 7 miles, which is great because there are hardly any cars. As others have mentioned make sure to bring what you need with you as a trip into town will be an hour min. Bed was very comfortable & the room had all the utensils / dishes needed with country home touches. Towels were soft & plentiful.
We stayed for 2 nights over the holiday weekend & Jamey came by the first night to check to see if we needed anything. First night was cloudy so we couldn't see much, but the second night was amazing, more stars than I’ve seen in ages. Living in San Jose makes coming here a wonderful change that we needed.

Room Tip: Rooms 1 & 3 have the best decks.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Celicabob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silverlake
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2011

Normally we stay at Silver City. This weekend we tried Ranch Champagne and we extremely happy with our choice. Comfortable beds. Good sheets. Soft fluffy towels. Everything in perfect working order. Clean and tidy. Owners extremely helpful.
The only thing I would say is - Remember - this is a cabin in a pristine area - no electric service, no phone service - you're in the wilderness. It's 7 miles in on a winding road. It's another 20 miles down the same road to Mineral King. The winding road had a big advantage - it keeps the crowds away. In crowded California you can't put a price on some free space.

Room Tip: Cabin 1 or 3 are the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NicoofSilverlake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethesda, Maryland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2011

We spent very pleasant and relaxing day/2 nites at Ranch Champagne in mid-Sept., while exploring nearby Sequoia Natl. Park. The remoteness and picturesque mountains imparted a Shangri-la character. This was the first that these big-city Easterners had seen the Milky Way in ages. Was fun cooking dinner on the gas grill on the deck, and spending the evenings serenaded by nite sounds and a stream coursing thru rocks at the bottom of the hill, and looking for shooting stars . NOTE: Be sure to bring your food/drink with you when you come -- not practical to duck out to a restaurant or market, owing to distance from town over a steep, twisting road (don't even think about it at nite or in fog or bad weather). Our hosts, Jamey and Kylie, were very personable, helpful, and concerned for our comfort.

Room Tip: Only several similar cabins, all good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Don R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newbury Park
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2010

We drove the 7 miles of switchback roads and realized that we would not want to do that for the following 2 days, at night or more than once per day. We found another cabin to rent for the night and left a message for the owner at Ranch Champagne indicating that had we known the road conditions, we would never have booked with her and to please try to re-book our room. She left a voice mail for us saying that she could have booked the cabin 22 times that day but in the end, she did not re-book our cabin and we were out 2 nights lodging.

The views were amazing and the cabin was clean and well appointed. The space is definitely not large enough for 2 adults and one teenager.

There are plenty of cabins to rent in town, near the river and without the hassle of dealing with dangerous road conditions.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
Helpful?
2 Thank Flowerpalooza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
11.3 mi away
Wuksachi Lodge
Wuksachi Lodge
#1 of 4 in Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
4.0 of 5 stars 1,918 reviews
15.6 mi away
Montecito Sequoia Lodge
Montecito Sequoia Lodge
#2 of 4 in Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
4.0 of 5 stars 522 reviews
1.8 mi away
Sierra Lodge
Sierra Lodge
#5 of 6 in Three Rivers
3.0 of 5 stars 253 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Lazy J Ranch-Americas Best Value Inn
19.7 mi away
John Muir Lodge
John Muir Lodge
#3 of 4 in Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
4.0 of 5 stars 348 reviews
4.4 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Sequoia Kings Canyon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ranch Champagne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ranch Champagne

Property: Ranch Champagne
Address: Mineral King Road, Champagne Canyon, Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA
Location: United States > California > Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 20 Specialty Lodging in Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
Number of rooms: 2
Also Known As:
Ranch Champagne Hotel Sequoia And Kings Canyon National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing