We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Congress Trail

Congress Trail
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Level Contributor
98 reviews
57 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Ok”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2014

I couldn't help comparing the Redwood trails (sorry, no reviews for these) to the Congress trail and Sequoias. If you have a chance, go see the Redwoods closer to the coast. As for the Congress trail and the Sequoias, I wasn't as excited to see these trees and wasn't as impressed. The trail is ok (make sure to bring some water if you go). We walked this trail after visiting the General Sherman tree (that was nice to see) and thought it was ok, but wouldn't say I would do it again.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank 44Renee44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    69
    12
    2
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cincinnati
Level Contributor
38 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Walk this trail when you visit General Sherman”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

Beginning at the Sherman Tree, this two mile paved trail has striking and unique collections of giant sequoias: the House and Senate Groups, the fallen Telescope Tree, the President Tree, and others. The trail is mostly gentle ups and downs, but take water.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank dneumann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, CA
Level Contributor
66 reviews
41 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Good addition when visiting General Sherman tree”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

The Congress trails adds several impressive Sequoias that make a trip to see General Sherman even more enjoyable. Its a 2-mile trip with very little elevation gain. If you find yourself at GS then I would definitely recommend adding this short hike.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank mrlove82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tyler, Texas
Level Contributor
439 reviews
143 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
“Oh my! Don't Miss!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014 via mobile

Spent the day in Sequoia National Park and this was my favorite hike. Hike started off seeing a moma bear and her 3 cubs. Me and my wife hike regularly and the hike was fairly easy. The loop takes you though a forest that is breathtaking! You also walk by the General Sherman tree, this hike can make you feel small, beautiful and easy hike! Don't miss it!

Helpful?
Thank WildHaireHiking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgia
Level Contributor
76 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Two mile trail that takes you to some of the larger Sequoia trees”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

This is one of, if not the best trail in the Giant Forest. So many people are interested in simply seeing the General Grant Tree, that they miss this trip and miss an amazing group of trees. We were told he Giant Forest has many miles of trails, some of them we found to be not clearly marked, but the Congress trail is easy to follow, and takes you to some of the larger trees. If you have the time, don't pass up this one.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Colbert M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Congress Trail also viewed

Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA
Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA
 
Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA
Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA
 

Been to Congress Trail? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing