We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Bearpaw High Sierra Camp
Nearby Hotels
Silver City Mountain Resort(Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park)
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Potwisha Campground(Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park)
Montecito Sequoia Lodge & Summer Family Camp(Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Wuksachi Lodge(Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Cedar Grove Lodge(Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (40)
Filter reviews
40 results
Traveler rating
38
2
0
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
38
2
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgreat western dividehot showermile hikecrescent meadowtent cabinsbuck creekgranite mountainsspent two nightstoilettrailmilesflushing
Filter
Updating list...
33 - 38 of 40 reviews
Reviewed June 21, 2013

I concur 100% with Electric2's review - that really says it all. The hike is an adventure of a lifetime, with meadows, dropoffs, sweeping views, butterflies swirling around your head, wildflowers, creek crossings, and strenuous elevation gains. To arrive at Bearpaw High Sierra camp is truly like finding an oasis. We were greeted with brownies, lemonade, and hospitality that can't be beat. Mike, Chad and Carly went out of their way to make us feel welcome, and there was a hiker-nature-lover vibe that ran through the camp and made us all fast friends. I loved the family-style dining and we exchanged email addresses with a few fellow hikers.

Mind you, this is not "glamping." The tents are basic but super comfortable, cozy and rustic. I loved reading by the kerosene lamp and waking to birds and a view that never got old. We were in tent #6 which just added to our total elevation climbs - ha! The warm showers (2) and flush toilet (only 1 - be patient!) were a treat and nothing over the top. And the food was INCREDIBLE. Kudos to the chefs!

We were only there for two nights but I would definitely add a third next time. We spent our full day there hiking to Hamilton Lakes which tested my fear of heights ... not for the faint of heart.

It was incredible to share this experience with a dear friend and we decided we will return again with our men next time. I hope to see some of the same, smiling faces. Thank you for a trip of a lifetime.

Room Tip: #4 had the best view with #6 coming in second, though that's a hefty climb up to the bathroom and dining hall. But it is such a small camp and you get what you get when you get there. There's no bad view - trust me.
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Deborah L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2012

What a great time my wife and I had! Our two nights at Bear Paw High Sierra Camp was an experience of a lifetime. We spent our first night at Lodge Pole Campground (site 132 - great site) to acclimatize to the elevation. The following morning we got an early start as we wanted to avoid the heat on the trail. We left for the camp from Crescent Meadow trailhead at six AM. Left our car parked in the lot and food/lotions, etc. in the bear lockers at the trail head.
The hike out to the camp, even though moderate, took us nine hours. We made several stops to enjoy the views, make water, and have a picnic lunch. The hike was spectacular. We came across a bear and two cubs! This alone made the trip worth the effort. Our return trip took six hours.

Once at the Camp we were met with incredible hospitality and camaraderie. Two of the staff who we got to know the best, Sean and Michael, made sure we got as comfortable as possible. They graciously answered all of our questions and were quietly in the background waiting to offer service. These guys were responsible for the meals which were delicious. The entire staff was great. They truly made the experience for us. We had two nights in paradise.We will do this again. I highly recommend the experience.

Room Tip: Ask for the room with a view!
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ohtony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2011

It is a long way from the Crescent Meadows trailhead, but the effort is well worth it when you finally arrive at Bear Paw. Although the trail is verrrrry long, it is well engineered with very few steep or difficult sections. Along the trail you are constantly rewarded with great views looking south across the canyon with occasional glimpses of the Western Divide. Frequent stream crossings provide plenty of opportunities to refill your water, and there are several places to stop and take a break including a strongly recommended rest at Buck Creek before beginning the last push of 600 feet of elevation gain before arriving at Bearpaw Meadows. Once you finally drag your body into camp, the staff is ready to greet you with fresh baked brownies, fruit, lemonade, and a very friendly welcome. The camp has a good hot shower facility, a flush toilet, and the tent cabins are simply but adequately furnished with comfortable beds, fluffy comforters, and a kerosene lantern for light. With only about twelve guests a night, the service is personal and friendly--more like staying at a friend's mountain retreat than at a government facility. There is a substantial library of books available as well as cards and board games if you can take your eyes off the panoramic view of the Western Divide that is available off the comfortable chairs on the front porch of the lodge.

Dinner is early at five thirty, but everyone is more than ready to dig into the generous and excellent family style meal. We enjoyed delicious grilled pork loin, fresh (!) asparagus cooked perfectly, Coffee and tea are available at all times as is a large container of cold drinking water. Wine can be purchased by the glass for five dollars. Breakfast is equally generous in terms of both quality and quantity with eggs, breakfast meats, hash browns, orange juice, fruit, and muffins or pancakes. If breakfast won't last you until dinner, then you can purchase sandwiches to have during the day, along with fruit and snack bars laid out for your selection. All purchases are recorded by writing on a slip and settling up at the end of your stay. I have hiked the Sierra and around the world for over forty years, and I believe that Bearpaw Meadow and its staff are simply the best in the mountains.

Room Tip: Tent four has a spectacular view
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
5  Thank Electric2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2011

It takes a lot of work to get to Bearpaw but it is very much worth the journey. It's a long walk with wildflowers and ferns along the trail, and there is a 600' climb in the last mile. But when you finally walk into camp the Great Western Divide is there in your face and a hot shower awaits.

There is nothing bad I can say about the staff. They did their jobs with skill and with smiles. All were friendly and helpful and appeared to love what they were doing and where they were.

The food is very good and there is plenty of it. The beds, while basic, are just fine and the tent cabins go well with the environment of the Sierra. Down comforters were provided and with the weather we had last week were almost too warm (there are also a couple of spare blankets per person in each cabin).

The worst part: having to leave after our 3 nights were over.

Room Tip: Don't take cabin 6 unless you enjoy an uphill walk to the bathroom. ;)
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank eeekster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2011

The idea of hiking 11.5 miles into the mountains may seem daunting, however, when you arrive at Bear Paw, you will find yourself richly rewarded. A breath taking view of the Great Western Divide comes into view as you take those last few steps towards the cook house. A friendly host offers you a chair on the porch and a glass of lemonade. Watch the light play on the mountains then head off to your cabin. Comfortable mattresses and down comforters await you. Take a nap, then a hot shower followed by a delicious meal. The next day there are miles of trails to explore. The trip to Hamilton Lake is especially nice. A long hike to reach the place, but a wonderful place to relax once you are there.

Room Tip: Cabins 4 and 6 have the best views. Cabin 1 is closest to the shower and cook house.
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank wosli3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews