We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Trip of a Lifetime” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bearpaw High Sierra Camp

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Bearpaw High Sierra Camp
Agoura Hills, California
Level Contributor
85 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Trip of a Lifetime”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2013

I concur 100% with Electric2's review - that really says it all. The hike is an adventure of a lifetime, with meadows, dropoffs, sweeping views, butterflies swirling around your head, wildflowers, creek crossings, and strenuous elevation gains. To arrive at Bearpaw High Sierra camp is truly like finding an oasis. We were greeted with brownies, lemonade, and hospitality that can't be beat. Mike, Chad and Carly went out of their way to make us feel welcome, and there was a hiker-nature-lover vibe that ran through the camp and made us all fast friends. I loved the family-style dining and we exchanged email addresses with a few fellow hikers.

Mind you, this is not "glamping." The tents are basic but super comfortable, cozy and rustic. I loved reading by the kerosene lamp and waking to birds and a view that never got old. We were in tent #6 which just added to our total elevation climbs - ha! The warm showers (2) and flush toilet (only 1 - be patient!) were a treat and nothing over the top. And the food was INCREDIBLE. Kudos to the chefs!

We were only there for two nights but I would definitely add a third next time. We spent our full day there hiking to Hamilton Lakes which tested my fear of heights ... not for the faint of heart.

It was incredible to share this experience with a dear friend and we decided we will return again with our men next time. I hope to see some of the same, smiling faces. Thank you for a trip of a lifetime.

Room Tip: #4 had the best view with #6 coming in second, though that's a hefty climb up to the bathroom an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Deborah L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
14
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ojai, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2012

What a great time my wife and I had! Our two nights at Bear Paw High Sierra Camp was an experience of a lifetime. We spent our first night at Lodge Pole Campground (site 132 - great site) to acclimatize to the elevation. The following morning we got an early start as we wanted to avoid the heat on the trail. We left for the camp from Crescent Meadow trailhead at six AM. Left our car parked in the lot and food/lotions, etc. in the bear lockers at the trail head.
The hike out to the camp, even though moderate, took us nine hours. We made several stops to enjoy the views, make water, and have a picnic lunch. The hike was spectacular. We came across a bear and two cubs! This alone made the trip worth the effort. Our return trip took six hours.

Once at the Camp we were met with incredible hospitality and camaraderie. Two of the staff who we got to know the best, Sean and Michael, made sure we got as comfortable as possible. They graciously answered all of our questions and were quietly in the background waiting to offer service. These guys were responsible for the meals which were delicious. The entire staff was great. They truly made the experience for us. We had two nights in paradise.We will do this again. I highly recommend the experience.

Room Tip: Ask for the room with a view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ohtony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
51 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2011

It is a long way from the Crescent Meadows trailhead, but the effort is well worth it when you finally arrive at Bear Paw. Although the trail is verrrrry long, it is well engineered with very few steep or difficult sections. Along the trail you are constantly rewarded with great views looking south across the canyon with occasional glimpses of the Western Divide. Frequent stream crossings provide plenty of opportunities to refill your water, and there are several places to stop and take a break including a strongly recommended rest at Buck Creek before beginning the last push of 600 feet of elevation gain before arriving at Bearpaw Meadows. Once you finally drag your body into camp, the staff is ready to greet you with fresh baked brownies, fruit, lemonade, and a very friendly welcome. The camp has a good hot shower facility, a flush toilet, and the tent cabins are simply but adequately furnished with comfortable beds, fluffy comforters, and a kerosene lantern for light. With only about twelve guests a night, the service is personal and friendly--more like staying at a friend's mountain retreat than at a government facility. There is a substantial library of books available as well as cards and board games if you can take your eyes off the panoramic view of the Western Divide that is available off the comfortable chairs on the front porch of the lodge.

Dinner is early at five thirty, but everyone is more than ready to dig into the generous and excellent family style meal. We enjoyed delicious grilled pork loin, fresh (!) asparagus cooked perfectly, Coffee and tea are available at all times as is a large container of cold drinking water. Wine can be purchased by the glass for five dollars. Breakfast is equally generous in terms of both quality and quantity with eggs, breakfast meats, hash browns, orange juice, fruit, and muffins or pancakes. If breakfast won't last you until dinner, then you can purchase sandwiches to have during the day, along with fruit and snack bars laid out for your selection. All purchases are recorded by writing on a slip and settling up at the end of your stay. I have hiked the Sierra and around the world for over forty years, and I believe that Bearpaw Meadow and its staff are simply the best in the mountains.

Room Tip: Tent four has a spectacular view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Electric2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2011

It takes a lot of work to get to Bearpaw but it is very much worth the journey. It's a long walk with wildflowers and ferns along the trail, and there is a 600' climb in the last mile. But when you finally walk into camp the Great Western Divide is there in your face and a hot shower awaits.

There is nothing bad I can say about the staff. They did their jobs with skill and with smiles. All were friendly and helpful and appeared to love what they were doing and where they were.

The food is very good and there is plenty of it. The beds, while basic, are just fine and the tent cabins go well with the environment of the Sierra. Down comforters were provided and with the weather we had last week were almost too warm (there are also a couple of spare blankets per person in each cabin).

The worst part: having to leave after our 3 nights were over.

Room Tip: Don't take cabin 6 unless you enjoy an uphill walk to the bathroom. ;)
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank eeekster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
los angeles
Level Contributor
159 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2011

The idea of hiking 11.5 miles into the mountains may seem daunting, however, when you arrive at Bear Paw, you will find yourself richly rewarded. A breath taking view of the Great Western Divide comes into view as you take those last few steps towards the cook house. A friendly host offers you a chair on the porch and a glass of lemonade. Watch the light play on the mountains then head off to your cabin. Comfortable mattresses and down comforters await you. Take a nap, then a hot shower followed by a delicious meal. The next day there are miles of trails to explore. The trip to Hamilton Lake is especially nice. A long hike to reach the place, but a wonderful place to relax once you are there.

Room Tip: Cabins 4 and 6 have the best views. Cabin 1 is closest to the shower and cook house.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank wosli3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Downers Grove, Illinois
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2010

My husband and I spent two nights at the Bearpaw Camp in Sequoia National Park in August of 2010. It was an unbelievable experience. The hike up to the camp was 11 miles and the views/scenery were awesome. The employees at the camp gave us a warm welcome when we arrived. The accomodations were very comfortable. Each couple has their own tent with two twin beds and down comforters. The food was amazing! I would suggest spending at least two nights so you can hike to Hamilton Lake on your second day at the camp. Another amazing hike! After dinner one night we all built a campfire and toasted marshmallows under the stars. We hope to get back there again some day!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ChicagoHiker64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rancho Mirage, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2008

On returning from a 10 day cross crountry backpacking trip with the Sierra Club, I dislocated my jaw while eating a large hunk of cheese and was in severe pain with a lemon size swelling in front of my ear. Never happened before and was frightening. This occured just before our approach down to Bearpaw and Thank God for Miles, their employee, for his expert aid which averted an emergency helicopter rescue. He was calm and professional and caring and a superb example of Bearpaw's staff. Dean Scofield

  • Liked — staff
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed August 2008
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank denniecz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
7.9 mi away
Wuksachi Lodge
Wuksachi Lodge
#1 of 4 in Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,113 reviews
16.6 mi away
Montecito Sequoia Lodge
Montecito Sequoia Lodge
#2 of 4 in Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 583 reviews
22.4 mi away
John Muir Lodge
John Muir Lodge
#3 of 4 in Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 420 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.3 mi away
Lazy J Ranch-Americas Best Value Inn
15.8 mi away
Cedar Grove Lodge
Cedar Grove Lodge
#4 of 4 in Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 140 reviews
16.5 mi away
Sierra Lodge
Sierra Lodge
#5 of 6 in Three Rivers
3.0 of 5 bubbles 279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bearpaw High Sierra Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bearpaw High Sierra Camp

Property: Bearpaw High Sierra Camp
Address: High Sierra Trail, Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA
Location: United States > California > Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 19 Specialty Lodging in Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
Bearpaw High Sierra Camp Hotel Sequoia And Kings Canyon National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing