We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Experience”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Sequoia High Sierra Camp
Certificate of Excellence
UK
Level 6 Contributor
233 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Great Experience”
Reviewed July 21, 2008

We stayed here over a long weekend. Loved the location, the food and the company. It was pricey but we felt the weekend was worth it for what we got. The local walks all require a certain dedication that our teenagers lacked which meant that we had to drive and then walk. However we really enjoyed walk to Weaver Lake where we almost swam and there were almost no mosquitos.

Even though this is luxury it is still camping, the mile walk-in from the trailhead is a proper trail so you will need boots and packs (teenage daughters will not manage in flip-flops and pull alone suitcases!). The camp is mostly on a hill so at 8700ft the walk down to the shower or the dinner can leave you out of breath!

General Sherman tree/Giant Sequoias and Moro rock are worth a visit (the Parker group of giant trees on the way to Moro rock are wonderful)

  • Liked — Luxury in the middle of nature
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Uktraveller84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    62
    4
    5
    4
    4
See reviews for
15
46
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
Level 6 Contributor
95 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 168 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2007

A group of us stayed at the lodge for 4 nights. The access road to the parking area is a bit bumpy and dusty but very accessible. The camp is a short walk uphill from the parking lot. You can request help if you don't want to backpack your clothing in to your tent. Needless to say this is not roughing it by any means.

Upon arrival, the very friendly staff serves refreshments at their elegant parthenon like dining pavilion, where you sign up for your 5 course dinner reservation. The wine selections were very good and well priced. The tents have extremely comfortable beds with nice linens and warm blankets, a few chairs and dressing table, concrete floors with throw rugs - they are missing some storage shelves for clothes and a wash basin/with refuse buckets. But it's a pretty new facility and I'm sure more amenities are on the way.

You do have to walk to the toilet (flush) and shower (heated water) pavilion, perhaps night time alternatives will be made in the future. I was always out of breath hiking up and down between facilites, but you are at 8,500' and it is a beautiful location. The black starry nights are stunning and vistas to the mountains just beautiful.

Breakfast consists of a buffet with some hot items available. You usually make your lunch at this time. Lots of fresh fruit was always available. I would have enjoyed more vegetables with dinner but I am being picky. We had just come from the Ahwahnee in Yosemite and found the dinner selections at the high sierra camp better prepared and better quality than the Ahwahnee fare.

The hiking: depending upon your experience you will find it either easy or hard. We hike a lot and found it very pleasant. Mitchell peak was fun at 2,000' elevation and about 6 miles round trip - a 3 hour hike. Seville lake is a nice swimming hole about a 12 mile round trip with some elevation - it took us about 6.5 hours with a swim.

It certainly is a restful spot away from any crowds since you would otherwise have to backpack in and tent to visit.

The owners and staff could not be more helpful and are very willing to accommodate their guests requsts. We would return and had a delightful stay.

  • Liked — luxurious comfort in a remote natural setting
  • Disliked — a bit dusty (it was a dry year), no chamber pots
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hhl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkeley, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2007

Just got home from 3 days at the Camp and would recommend it to anyone who likes to camp but wants something to look forward to at the end of the day.

If you are looking for a hard core hiking and camping adventure that you can brag about to your friends then this is probably not the place for you. That was okay for me and the other people who were staying there with us because we weren't looking to prove how tough we were. We wanted to spend our days hiking and then come home to the luxury of a hot shower, soft bed and the mouth watering food cooked by Chef Ryan.

Did I mention the food? 5 course meals at night cooked and served by the Chef who obviously delights in watching you devour it all while watching the sun go down. We loved having meals at communal tables where we were forced to talk to other guests.

The amenities were spotlessly clean and rooms were serviced daily. Watching the moon and stars while having a shower was an unexpected delight. It made me think that I should get one at home.

A lot of thought has gone into making this a relaxing experience and it works,

The drive up to the camp trail head is a beautiful winding road through forests and then there is a short one mile tramp to get to the camp.

There are several beautiful day hikes from the camp and after breakfast you pack your own sandwich from the spread laid out by the Chef.

Unless your kids are crazy about the outdoors and want to spend daylight hours hiking and spotting animals like marmots around the camp this is not a great place for them. Watching a 10 year old playing his video game in front of the fire just seemed like a waste. Leave the kids with Grandma and come on your own.

  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Laborfriendly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manhattan Beach, CA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 17, 2007

This place is really different than any other camp I've been to in the Sierras. The gourmet food really makes it worth the money and the trip. There are many different hikes right off the camp property in Sequoia and Kings Canyon parks but the best hikes (Mitchell Peak and Cedar Grove Canyon) off of the camp only take about a half day. It's nice to go hike and then come back to a real bed and excellent food at the camp. It does get a little cold at night even in July.

  • Liked — Food, View, Remoteness
  • Disliked — Chilly at Night
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank LyndsyBeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palo Alto
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2007

The high sierra camps in Yosemite, and the one at Bearpaw Meadow in Sequoia Park , are located in places of great scenic beauty with access to important trails. This camp is at a place of no particular beauty or interest. The only trail, to Mt. Mitchell, is about a 2 1`/2 hour round trip; you will be back in camp by 11:30 AM.
As best I can tell, the cmap is located here simply because this was private land and the builders did not face many enviromental constraints. But it is only 1 1/2 miles from the road. (Actually, the road goes to the camo. They close it off with sawhorses except when bringing in supplies.) If you really really want to see the camp, and there is no reason to, stay somewhere else, save a lot of money, and drive until you reached the roadblock.

Stayed September 2006
Helpful?
8 Thank highsierrahiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2007

This camp was great in so many ways. From the gorgeous sunsets to the five course meals, this was worth the money and the experience! We stayed at the camp in the middle of June and the weather was perfect in the day and a bit cool at night.

You stay in a nice canvas tent with a fluffy mattress, down comforter and wool blankets to top it off. There are wood plantation screens and a screen door, so there is not a lot of privacy if someone is walking by your tent but the quiet and views make you forget all of that. There is a common shower and restroom facility which is very nice for an outdoor camp.

The best part of the trip is meeting and eating dinner with the owners and tasting the wonderful food prepared by Chef Ryan. The five course meal gets five stars from the moment it is served. The wine and conversation is free flowing as well. During the meal, you can watch a spectacular sunset and finish by surrounding the fire pit drinking tea or coffee.

The camp was not full when we visited but the other guest were great to talk to. The owners and the staff were extremely nice and helpful. There are numerous day hikes from the camp or you can just laze away reading a booking or playing Scrabble with a great backdrop.

There are two ways to get to the camp. Driving or hiking. We decided to hike the 11 miles from the Lodgepole Campground in Sequoia. Be warned, that the trail is more than 11 miles, 13-14 to be exact, and it is hard. I would not recommend it for the beginner hiker or anyone that has potential knee, leg, or foot problems. Once you make it to the camp, you are greeted with mint tea and cookies, so you soon forget about the hours spent getting there. I would recommend driving and doing day hikes from the camp.

Overall, it was a great experience!

  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank GrlTrvlr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
8.5 mi away
Montecito Sequoia Lodge & Summer Family Camp
Montecito Sequoia Lodge & Summer...
#2 of 4 in Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
625 reviews
9.2 mi away
Wuksachi Lodge
Wuksachi Lodge
#1 of 4 in Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
2,364 reviews
12.8 mi away
John Muir Lodge
John Muir Lodge
#3 of 4 in Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
507 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Cedar Grove Lodge
Cedar Grove Lodge
#4 of 4 in Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
166 reviews
21.5 mi away
Sierra Lodge
Sierra Lodge
#5 of 6 in Three Rivers
305 reviews
24.1 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Sequoia Kings Canyon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sequoia High Sierra Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sequoia High Sierra Camp

Property: Sequoia High Sierra Camp
Address: 65745 Big Meadow Rd (FS 13S11), Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 19 Specialty Lodging in Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sequoia High Sierra Camp offers a rare opportunity to explore the spectacular background of California's Sequoia-Kings Canyon National Parks – while enjoying the deluxe furnishings, guest amenities and friendly hospitality that are hallmarks of this secluded mountain retreat. You can experience the parks like no other hotel or lodge in the area. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Sequoia High Sierra Camp Hotel Sequoia And Kings Canyon National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing