We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Best meals in the park” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Grant Grove Restaurant

Grant Grove Restaurant
Price range: $5 - $20
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Texas
Level Contributor
39 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Best meals in the park”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2013

Great food and service. We had four of our six meals there and would go back. Steaks were great, and breakfasts were good as well. The staff was courteous and helpful and were our best tour guides to the parks. Never had a reservation but waitress said they are recommended if not needed in summer.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank mb2495
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

220 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    70
    62
    30
    28
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“JULIA!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2013

The dennys in the mountains. Horrid food. Horrid people. Bad.bad. Then we ate dinner. Thank goodness. We were sat and we expected the same ole grumpies from the morning who know absolutely nothing about the park Nd if you ask they make you feel horrid. But we Were greeted with a huge warm smile and the most delightful southern accent! She welcomed us and made us feel like we were in a different place. Answering each food question honestly Nd guiding towards the right foods to eat. She is new and we observed her helping all her co workers Nd never being nasty at all! She led us directly to the most awesomme spot for bear viewing, she delighted us with historical facts on both parks and showed us the baby sequoias right out the window of the restaurNt! Amazing person. I guess were reviewing JuliA not the restaurant. Were going back to say hello as we leave just to talk to her and show out photos!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank phyllychees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fresno, California
Level Contributor
40 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Best onion rings ever”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2013 via mobile

Great location to play in the snow and have lunch. Hours vary- lunch is only 11-2pm. Great prices. Great service. ONION RINGS!!!!

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Sancia_689
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
State College, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good Eats”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2013

My husband and I had lunch at Grant Grove restaurant and very much enjoyed the experience. Our waitress was Keithie and she was excellent and accommodated our requests cheerfully. She was also helpful in answering questions about the area and our sightseeing interests. I would recommend this restaurant.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank CarolB W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
This coast or the other
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Daily Specials Kept Us Going Back While at Muir Lodge”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

Luscious beef tenderloin was the special the first night followed by a jalapeno, ham, and cheese scramble for breakfast. We returned to crumbled bacon in meatloaf with mushroom gravy and had sausage and mushroom scrambles the next morning. Everything was yummy but the tenderloin was amazing. Eating at this restaurant four times over the weekend was a pleasure due to the variety offered by the daily specials.

Things to keep in mind if you visit- it will probably be more expensive than a similar style restaurant in your hometown so you might also consider getting sandwiches at the market around the corner. Additionally, early risers could be frustrated by the 9:00 AM opening time while we were there but the lodge lobby/giftshop in the same building has coffee for sale earlier.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank BirthdayPrincess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Grant Grove Restaurant also viewed

Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA
Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA
 
Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA
Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA
 
Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA
 

Been to Grant Grove Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing