We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Average Lunch” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Grant Grove Restaurant

Grant Grove Restaurant
Price range: $5 - $20
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
California
Level Contributor
127 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Average Lunch”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

Lunch was good, nothing spiecal and it was not over priced for what you got. Lots of parking and near the market and postoffice.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Yellow Bee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

215 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    69
    58
    30
    28
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Palatine, Illinois
1 review
“The staff at Grant Grove Restaurant were wonderful!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

Lindsie and Keithie were exceptional at their job as waitresses at Grant Grove Restaurant. They were genuinely welcoming and friendly, and made our visit to eat enjoyable each time during our three day stay. These delightful young women provided excellent service, attention to detail and sincere concern for the people dining. What a joy! They made us feel at home and welcomed... when we were far away from home. Thank you Lindsie and Keithie!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Karen J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level Contributor
136 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“Really? This is the best they can do?”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

I don't know where to start. I'll try not to be unkind, but this is a very poorly run place. The restaurant is more of a diner. The menu is limited, and the food itself seems pretty much microwaved frozen meal quality. Don't expect good service. It is apparently not required that their wait staff or anyone else be coached or supervised. The servers appear to be nice people with little or no direction or incentive.

Breakfast is marginally better than dinner, but my husband did not get his toast until he was finished with his eggs. The waitress apologized but didn't seem particularly contrite. It was more of an "oh well, I forgot" kind of apology. We left extra early the morning we departed the park so we could find somewhere else to get something to eat. It was a long wait, but we really didn't want to spend another meal or dollar at this place.

Oh! And what's the deal on this mysterious "pizza" restaurant? It does not have its own entrance. You can't see it from the entrance to the main restaurant. No one mentions a choice. You don't see a menu for it. But there is a separate room way off in the back behind the kitchen. Maybe stuff is better in there? Who knows.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Shea1114
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lindsay, California
Level Contributor
43 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“High altitude is the best sauce.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

Just order the special. It's not that special, but you are at Grant Grove. Now you want gourmet food? Be real.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank Tuleguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bozeman, Montana
Level Contributor
42 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Exceeded our expectations”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

We have eaten in many national parks' restaurants over the years and have learned to avoid them, but the restaurant at Grant Grove village exceeded our expectations. Portions were generous, vegetables were fresh and delicious and service was friendly. (Thanks, Andrew!) We ate dinner one night and breakfast one morning. Vegetarian options at both.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank MontanaTravler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Grant Grove Restaurant also viewed

Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA
Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA
 
Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA
Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA
 

Been to Grant Grove Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing