We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Very nice and fine restaurant in the forest” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Peaks Restaurant at Wuksachi Lodge

The Peaks Restaurant at Wuksachi Lodge
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Families with children, Scenic view
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
89 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Very nice and fine restaurant in the forest”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2013

Very nice service, fine food and very nice atmosphere. You need to make a reservation for dinner...I have to say you will need a magnifier glass to read the menu or let somebody to read for you if you are over 40:-)

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank sjveles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

709 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    210
    247
    146
    65
    41
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
North Carolina
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Pleasant, but oh so slow”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2013

It isn’t as if you have a lot of choices once you are here. Happily the food was good, prices not cheap, but for the atmosphere and quality, okay. However, the staff seemed to take advantage of the captive audience.

The service was pleasant enough, but unbelievably slow. It took me 25 minutes to get a glass of wine and a few more to get basket of warm bread although the place was not excessively busy. True, I didn’t have any place else to go, but really.

My pork collar with Asian slaw was an excellent dish and the Granny Smith apple and cranberry salad with candied pecans was good and generous. Overall, the place just didn’t seem very service-focused. I am not usually particularly picky, but when you are eating alone and waiting excessively long, you have time to notice that there is no candle in the candleholder on your table. The dining room is cavernous, so the added light gives a needed light and adds warmth to the atmosphere.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank BeeGirlNC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethlehem, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
138 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“nice selection, average preparation”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2013

We were pleasantly surprised by the selection, and certainly satisfied with the food and service, but not overly impressed by the preparation. We had dinner twice, breakfast twice, and boxed lunches once. Continental breakfast: quite good, with steel cut oats and nice toppings. Watered down fruit juices were not pleasant, but the coffee was good (I was packin Starbucks Via just in case, but didn't use it). Boxed Lunch: Fantastic. Huge and tasty sandwich, and tasty fruit and accompaniments. Dinner: fine, but just not finely prepared.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Roadtripper111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooks, Canada
Level Contributor
90 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Keep driving”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2013

Stopped for lunch
Waited to be seated as per sign, no attendant for a few minutes, restaurant just about empty.
Ordered coffee, received cracked cup, waiter apologized, took the cup n said he would get a new one,, which took more than 10 minutes.
Ordered soup for both of us and main course
Received main course and one soup, had to ask for other soup.
Fries were cold to the touch, they were replaced with hot ones when requested.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Greyfeathers47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crescent City, California
Level Contributor
144 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Meals Good Given Wilderness Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013

We enjoyed the options we were given for our meals. The prices were not low, but the quality was by and large acceptable for the price. We wish the concessionaire would adjust a few items--for example, there's no good reason, for the price, to skimp on the vegetables. The portion size on the asparagas and the basmati rice and red potato hash is unnecessarily small. Substitutions speak volumes: My husband was given a chicken thigh instead of a breast when he ordered the meal, whereas the same meal, NOT in combination with salad and dessert, came with chicken breast, not thigh. This was just a small difference that spoke of "cheap" instead of "quality." The concessionaire saved pennies on this exchange but lost our five-star rating as a result.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Peaks Restaurant at Wuksachi Lodge also viewed

Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA
Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA
 
Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA
Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA
 

Been to The Peaks Restaurant at Wuksachi Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing