We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Location, Location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Peaks Restaurant at Wuksachi Lodge

The Peaks Restaurant at Wuksachi Lodge
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Families with children, Local cuisine, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Minnesota
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Location, Location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

You pay for what you get and you go here for the experience of staying at Wuksachi in a winter wonderland.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank ChewyMinnesota
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

682 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    201
    236
    142
    62
    41
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Germantown, Tennessee
Level Contributor
74 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Good food and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

The food was always good and we enjoyed good service from men and women who were able to give helpful advice on trails to hike.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Stephwall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reseda, California, United States
Level Contributor
81 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“There are reasons for why things are here”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

First off, people need to stop complaining about how expensive the food is here. They get limited shipments & it has to be trucked all the way up from the Central Valley probably, which = not cheap. It is less expensive than most other options around here for what you get though. The only thing that may seem like a real rip-off is $3 for one little scoop of probably Dreyer's ice cream.

With that said, the ceiling fans need to be cleaned. BADLY. There was dust flying everywhere off of them.

Seems that everywhere in the park all the employees are college interns who can't speak any English. Except here. Still college age people, but very professional & good wait staff. We were here right as schools were starting so a lot of the staff we had seen was gone by the last night of our stay at the lodge. Yet the quality of the service & food remained the same, something that is hard to keep up.

The food itself I found was actually very good. Nothing amazing but nothing terrible. The only food I had a problem with was breakfast. We quickly learned though to grab the food from the bottom of the buffet trays because it is more cooked (like the French toast, pancakes, & ESPECIALLY the bacon). The only BAD food I had here was the eggs. Completely bland, rubbery & stuck together. A slight negative to my dinner was the ribeye I had was drowned in Worcester sauce.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank James G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, CA
Level Contributor
58 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“So so food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

(Breakfast)
We had the breakfast buffet adults $13, kids $6.50 - it was pricey but we expected that. They had eggs, bacon, sausage, cut up fruit (honeydew, canteloupe), oatmeal, assorted pastries, french toast, pancakes, bagels, toast.
(Dinner)
The second night, we had reservations for dinner at the Peaks Restaurant (inside the lodge) - the food was just okay and pricey but again we knew this going in and had planned accordingly, spent $100 for 2 adults and 2 kids including dessert. I asked the server what cut of meat the flat iron steak was - she had no idea and went to ask, when she returned
she told me it was top sirloin - I knew at least that much that she was incorrect. The views from the dinning area are amazing though.
Overall the food was just okay and very overpriced. We probably wouldn't eat here again, would go to Lodgepole market/deli instead.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank craftywriter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
46 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Overpriced.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

First off, the chairs are far too uncomfortable to enjoy dinner. Secondly, the food wasn't that good to charge us extra for a side salad. The place was hot on the day we visited and overall it was a terrible resturant that needs a better menu, lower prices, and better seating.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank reitj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Peaks Restaurant at Wuksachi Lodge also viewed

Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA
Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA
 
Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA
Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA
 

Been to The Peaks Restaurant at Wuksachi Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing