We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Wonderful food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Peaks Restaurant at Wuksachi Lodge

The Peaks Restaurant at Wuksachi Lodge
64740 Wuksachi Way, Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA 93262
5595654070
Website
Improve this listing
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Scenic view, Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Northern Illinois
Level Contributor
133 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Wonderful food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

We must have eaten at a different restaurant then some of these people. Our food was superb and the service was great. My husband had pork chops and I had linguine. Both of us raved about the food. We started our meal with a bowl (really big) of tomato basil soup that had feta cheese in it. It was delicious! We talked about this meal for days. Additional bonus for having mule deer in the parking lot.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank treesprite07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

655 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    192
    231
    135
    60
    37
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
84 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“I can't complain.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

How do you beat tasty, well presented food, friendly and knowledgeable staff and a great view of the mountains from a clean and nicely appointed lodge? I had a great lunch today between hikes and thought life simply couldn't get better. Try the quesadilla's, the salsa is freshly made and the best I have ever tasted.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Vance_Neudorf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level Contributor
40 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Beautiful view in gorgeous setting”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

Food was ok, the service was ok, and the price was ok. The view and the setting are the only things that really stand out here. The salmon burger is a little fishy for my taste and the salad was just mixed greens in a bowl with a micro tomato.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Linda L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancing
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great service, tasty food.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

Great selection of dishes and wine. Knowledgeable, quick and friendly service (thanks Aaron). Food well cooked and presented (not Michelin standard but very good). Good portions for the price. Tasty local food.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Wainwright R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Trying Too Hard To Be Upscale”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

We are regular visitors to Sequoia and have eaten at The Peaks at least once every year since the Wuksachi Lodge opened. Sadly, we have found it consistently to be a disappointing experience for dinner but a generally good place for lunch. However, for us, lunch is usually a sandwich on the trail somewhere (unless it is raining hard or snowing), so dinner is the focus of this review. This is especially needed since this year they have removed the one or two sandwich items that used to carry over from the lunch menu to dinner.

This resturant continues to try to serve a "gourmet" style menu and usually fails to meet anything but an average to low average standard of food preperation. Fish are overcooked; meats are often tough; sauces are either bland or over-spiced; vegetables are trite (ie steamed brocoli and cauliflower were the only choice this year). However, their soups are generally pretty good.

The service is very friendly but it tends to be slow. This is easily attributed to a small staff...they all look like they are working as hard as they can but are a bit overwhelmed by the number of tables they have to cover. This is hard to understand given the strict reservation system for dinner--no one gets in without a reservation and they seem to carefully control what times are available.

This resturant is located in a lovely setting, with large windows affording virtually every table in the room a view of the forest. It is the "only game in town" if you don't bring your own food or don't want to eat at the fast-food type deli a few miles down the road at Lodgepole (which closes early except in summer and might not even be open in the winter). It seems The Peaks would do much better with a simple menu of sandwiches and standard dishes (dare I say comfort food?), rather than fancy concoctions with "special" sauces.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank H G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Peaks Restaurant at Wuksachi Lodge also viewed

Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA
Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA
 
Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA
Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA
 

Been to The Peaks Restaurant at Wuksachi Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing