We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't slow down!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Kings Canyon Lodge Bar and Grill - CLOSED

Kings Canyon Lodge Bar and Grill
Price range: $0 - $8
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Takeout
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Don't slow down!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

One of the motivators to get us and our three boys through the 9.2 mile hike to the Mist Falls (which are awesome), was the thought of having some ice cream on the way back. As soon as we walked in, it felt like we were inconviencing the staff. The place was not clean and we saw an elderly couple treated much the same way. I say keep on driving until they get folks who smile serving $3 scoops of ice cream. I was going to order drinks as well, but after the initial service, we just wanted out of there. Thing is, this could have been an awesome experience with just a smile.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JRGinKingwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

45 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    8
    10
    5
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Luis Obispo, California, United States
Level Contributor
75 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Redneck rude”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2014

Ranger at grants grove gave me some bad information that there was no gas anywhere but here, not true, but we stopped here for some instant anti Obama tirade and $6.00 a gallon gas. (5 gallon minimum) We were going to buy some drinks to go with our box lunches but passed on helping this person persist.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank yettie_trapper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fullerton, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“nice for eating in the park”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

food was good. Staff (Andrew) was very nice and helpful. The only drawback is the hours that meal times were available. We ordered Chicken tenders, Black bean burger and the General Grant roast beef sandwich. Plentiful food and tasty. Good food for a good price.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank c3divers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enfield, Connecticut
Level Contributor
38 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Ok it's for entertainment only”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

I wouldn't recommend anyone stay here (which we didn't) but it is one of the few places with gas near kings canyon so we stopped. Brace yourself if you go. The proprietors are indifferent and backwoods and appear that you are bothering them. However the antiquities, stuffed animals and memorabilia give it and old world atmosphere are authentic as it gets. We had decent burgers and fries outside with Sammy the dog who sat in a chair in front of the fan as we watched hummingbirds coming and going from several feeders. And the gas pumps are equally interesting- oldest gravity fed pumps in the nation according to the sign... You watch the clear cylinder fill from tank somewhere up the hill then they flip the lever and it empties into your car with a fascinatingly imprecise ruler inside the clear cylinder to indicate how much gas came out b the gruff attendant noting where the liquid level starts and where it ended. All gravity. But don't expect much except the entertainment value which is considerable

  • Visited August 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank kpvin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
az
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Do Not Stop”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

I agree with most reviewers. Absolutely no customer service. Rude manager. Obviously did not want customers. Dirty, cluttered, dark, smelly. Could not get out fast enough.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank PHOENIX1226
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kings Canyon Lodge Bar and Grill also viewed

Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA
Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA
 
Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA
Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing