We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“This was funny!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Kings Canyon Lodge Bar and Grill - CLOSED

Kings Canyon Lodge Bar and Grill
Price range: $0 - $8
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Takeout
Vancouver, Washington
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“This was funny!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

We stopped only for a beverage. The proprietess was busily writing a letter to Trip Advisor when we arrived. We were the only customers. Thanks to her loud conversation with a delivery driver we learned that she was writing to Trip Advisor to demand you take down a negative review. She said she was prepared to sue for defamation. Our drinks were fine but my husband used the restroom while there. NOT SO MUCH! No towels and dirty. So we found her self righteous outrage over getting a bad rating kinda ironic.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank WigTeig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

45 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    8
    10
    5
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ormond Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
232 reviews
168 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“No no no!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013 via mobile

Creepy weird decor was the tip off that we should keep on going. All the stuffed dead animals were not comforting. Grilled cheese was soggy. The hamburger patties came fresh out if the freezer. Keep on driving. Bathroom out back made a gas station look pristine.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank gatorRPH1990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
73 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Food ok, owner miserable!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

Stopped here as it was the only place around! The owner was so miserable and lacking in inter personal skills I don't believe they can get any repeat custom. If you're looking for somewhere to eat where you are treated with courtesy and a modicum of good manners then keep driving as this is not the place for you! On a slightly positive note the burgers we had were not bad!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank miles2784
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
651 reviews
349 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 314 helpful votes
“Stopped for Ice Cream”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

I have to say I laughed out loud when I read the other reviews for this place because they are so true :) The owners definitely need to retire but that was part of the entertainment. Someone actually asked the wife if they were under new ownership & she said 'I wish!' I thought it was all very entertaining.

They were pretty busy when we stopped & the wife was running around trying to help everyone & the husband comes out from the back looking like he just woke up from his day long nap.
It was pretty entertaining to sit back, enjoy our ice cream & watch. :)

I'm not sure what people expect in the bottom of a canyon but if you want some cold ice cream & entertainment this is your place.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank BrussoDallas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Entertaining stop for a milkshake”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

Stopped on a whim for a milkshake. The owner is a pretty independent cuss and if your looking for pampering forget it, pretty much his way or the highway. Not much of a conversationalist at first but warmed up after a while. A couple travelers came in after us went something like this:
"Do you have soup?"
"Yep' chicken noodle"
"Is it homemade"
"Nope"
"Out of a can"
"Yep"

Watching the looks on their faces was worth the cost of the milkshake.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank fftrumpy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kings Canyon Lodge Bar and Grill also viewed

Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA
Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA
 
Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA
Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing