We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Great Little Cave”
Review of Boyden Cavern

Boyden Cavern
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A 45-minute guided tour takes you into a wondrous world deep beneath the 2,000-foot high marble walls of the famous Kings Gate. Massive stalagmites, delicate stalactites and splendid arrays of crystalline formations are a visual treat. Boyden Cavern is in the deepest canyon in the United States. Open May - October.
Kernville, CA
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
40 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“A Great Little Cave”
Reviewed January 13, 2013

Boyden is one of those caves I visit every few years. Wonderful formations, good lighting and path maintenance, and a "just right" tour length make this a worthwhile day trip.

Helpful?
Thank bobsacerdo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    18
    7
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Fresno, California
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“blah”
Reviewed October 25, 2012

Disappointing, rather small and unimpressive, cute but just cute, uninspired tour. I guess that I was expecting more and this certainly didn't deliver.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank casey h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
84 reviews
40 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“An nice introduction to Spelunking”
Reviewed October 8, 2012

Friendly staff with interesting (albeit a bit exaggerated) stories to tell. Kids will love it and the formations inside are of a good variety. Not too long but the hike up might deter those in poor shape.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Vance_Neudorf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LA, CA
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Cavern Education”
Reviewed October 6, 2012

We stumbled upon Boyden Cavern on our way out to see the Roaring River Falls in King's Canyon (Highway 180), and it was a pleasant surprise. Guided tours are available several times a day, and is only $13 for an adult. Our tour guide (sorry, can't remember his name) was super informative and enthusiastic. I learned quite a lot from the tour guide about caves and the life that exists in it.

I also learned how horribly out of shape I am. We were warned that the walk up to the cavern was quite steep. This is an understatement. It is a MEGA steep walk up to the actual mouth of the cavern.

According to our guide, Boyden Cavern is a more intimate look at caves in comparison to Crystal Cave. I can't advise if this is correct since we opted not to visit Crystal Cave after touring Boyden Cavern.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank funnymoney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“What a nice tour!”
Reviewed September 1, 2012

We really enjoyed our tour through Boyden Cavern. The staff were friendly and helpful, and we enjoyed choosing and opening a geode - what fun! Just note, the walk up to the cavern entrance is rather steep, but short!

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Mooshele
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Boyden Cavern also viewed

Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA
Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA
 
Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA
Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA
 

Been to Boyden Cavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing