We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Peaceful” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Zumwalt Meadow Trail

Zumwalt Meadow Trail
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Eau Claire, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
203 reviews
154 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Peaceful”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2013

We took the trail to the right which took us to the boulder area. My husband wanted to use the higher elevation to get a photo of the meadow in the foreground with the late afternoon light on the mountains. Just beautiful. We saw just one other couple the whole time we were there.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Mary H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    76
    24
    9
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Warrenville, IL
Level Contributor
216 reviews
127 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 188 helpful votes
“Great for a Short Hike”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2013

This is an easy short loop trail (well-maybe more like a lollipop); we did it counter-clockwise. It was leisurely and we just enjoyed the views. Certainly there are some more adventurous hikes in the area - but this one is still well worth it...any easy risk-reward.

When we were walking out, there was a woman on crutches starting the trail. My suggestion for someone with limited mobility would be to go clockwise...onto the boardwalk. Starting out on the trail going counterclockwise wasn't difficult by any means, but for someone with mobility issues - you would probably want to avoid this part. Views are terrific from the boardwalk...even some benches to sit and enjoy.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank warrenville111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
365 reviews
157 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
“Very pleasant, short walk.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2013

Nice walk around the meadow. I think we only saw one other couple when we were there, so it was really peaceful. The scenery is lovely and the walk was a nice break from driving. There is a bit of rough ground to negotiate, so it might not be good for people with limited mobility.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Rick61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
32 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“my best picture of the vacation”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2013

This is such a nice hike. After less than half a mile you reach an old bridge that you cross. On our way back we actually crossed the river by foot as the level was low enough and it was refreshing. A quarter of a mile after that bridge you are on wooden planks in the middle of a flowery meadow surrounded by mountains: perfect. We walked the loop but it does not bring much. Unless if like my kids you enjoy going up and down in rocks.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank JC_CharlotteNC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicago area
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Relaxing”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2013

Very quiet and peaceful trail; very easy to navigate, but if constrained for time skip for more adventurous trails.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jeff S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Zumwalt Meadow Trail also viewed

Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA
Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA
 
Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA
Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA
 

Been to Zumwalt Meadow Trail? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing