We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for a Short Hike”

Zumwalt Meadow Trail
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Warrenville, IL
Level Contributor
229 reviews
136 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 194 helpful votes
“Great for a Short Hike”
Reviewed October 15, 2013

This is an easy short loop trail (well-maybe more like a lollipop); we did it counter-clockwise. It was leisurely and we just enjoyed the views. Certainly there are some more adventurous hikes in the area - but this one is still well worth it...any easy risk-reward.

When we were walking out, there was a woman on crutches starting the trail. My suggestion for someone with limited mobility would be to go clockwise...onto the boardwalk. Starting out on the trail going counterclockwise wasn't difficult by any means, but for someone with mobility issues - you would probably want to avoid this part. Views are terrific from the boardwalk...even some benches to sit and enjoy.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank warrenville111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    77
    24
    9
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
391 reviews
175 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
“Very pleasant, short walk.”
Reviewed September 19, 2013

Nice walk around the meadow. I think we only saw one other couple when we were there, so it was really peaceful. The scenery is lovely and the walk was a nice break from driving. There is a bit of rough ground to negotiate, so it might not be good for people with limited mobility.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Rick61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
32 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“my best picture of the vacation”
Reviewed September 8, 2013

This is such a nice hike. After less than half a mile you reach an old bridge that you cross. On our way back we actually crossed the river by foot as the level was low enough and it was refreshing. A quarter of a mile after that bridge you are on wooden planks in the middle of a flowery meadow surrounded by mountains: perfect. We walked the loop but it does not bring much. Unless if like my kids you enjoy going up and down in rocks.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank JC_CharlotteNC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicago area
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Relaxing”
Reviewed September 4, 2013

Very quiet and peaceful trail; very easy to navigate, but if constrained for time skip for more adventurous trails.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jeff S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterford, Michigan
Level Contributor
50 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Lovely meadow hugged by a river surrounded by grand mountains”
Reviewed September 3, 2013 via mobile

Worth your time while visiting kings canyon. We just took the left fork, walked around the boardwalk until we saw the lovely decking with the benches facing each other, took 50 pictures, then left. Pretty place. Peaceful. We were rushed with time. Wish I could be there a awhile to maybe catch some wildlife in action.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Heidini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Zumwalt Meadow Trail also viewed

Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA
Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA
 
Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA
Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA
 

Been to Zumwalt Meadow Trail? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing