We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“peace” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cedar Grove Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Cedar Grove Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Lincolnshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“peace”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

Lovely peaceful area within earshot of the river passing by, the buildings/rooms do require updating however the staff and in particular Catherine the manageress and the food assistant Wyatt ? (apologies if spelt wrong ) really know how to make you feel at home and relaxed ...wonderful people a credit to the lodge and the USA itself !!

Room Tip: The patio rooms are simple but once stepped outside all is worth the sacrifice :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Thebones766
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    65
    24
    5
    6
See reviews for
49
61
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

We slept in a patio room and could hear the river at night. Very soothing and very relaxing. The hotel manager really understands hospitality and she was a delight. While the menu is limited, we enjoyed our meals at the restaurant. A great stay!

Room Tip: Ask for a patio room to enjoy the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mfach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buena Park, California
Level Contributor
40 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

Very old lodge that definitely needs some upkeep and updating. AC was off for a day and spotty at other times. They did give me a credit for the inconvenience. We had a bottom room which had a patio and fridge and micro which is good to have. One day we did not have maid service by 4:30 and had to request it. Only one person at help desk and they may be on break or attending to other problems. Another time we got no soap and the bed spread was just thrown over the sheets. Very poor job of cleaning if done at all on a few of the days. Because the restaurant and stairs to other lodging is on top of the room it is a little noisy at times, but quiet for sleep. Loved the location and the fantastic view of the river and again the price was right for a NP.

Room Tip: There are only three patio rooms so try to request a end room. All three rooms face the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dave277-12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glendale, Arizona
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

Our grandkids enjoyed running around looking for Big Foot. Very scenic drive. The grandkids got sick from the drive. have some Dramamine on hand. The river running near by was beautiful would be very pleasant to just sit and watch.

Room Tip: didn't have a TV. no phone reception either. which is fine for us.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cynthia L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seagrove Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
87 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

We loved our stay here. This hotel is at the end of the park road. Beautiful scenery! It was definitely the prettiest drive in the park. The hotel was very clean and simple, but the walls were extremely thin. The best thing about the hotel was the river running right along side. It was great to sit by and have a picnic at the tables. At night we left our window open to listen to the roaring sound. The building runs with its end to the river instead of the rooms facing the river. We would stay here again.

Room Tip: Get there early, the rooms are given out on a first come basis. They start assigning them on the end...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank texbeth96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
western Nebraska
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

Cedar Grove is in a very unique area and also very remote. Considering the remoteness, it was a lovely surprise. The scenery driving to the motel was spectacular. We enjoyed several hikes including Mist Falls, Lookout Mountain and the Hotel Creek/Lewis Creek Loop.

Room Tip: We always choose the upper floor to cut down on noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank betsywesternNebraska
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

Scenery driving to hotel and at hotel breathtaking. Many hiking trails available to satisfy different levels of fitness. Food acceptable but basic. Hotel clean and staff friendly and professional. Bring games to play at night if hiking hasn't worn you out. Would definitely go back.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cormorants
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
13.3 mi away
Wuksachi Lodge
Wuksachi Lodge
#1 of 4 in Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
4.0 of 5 stars 2,012 reviews
13.1 mi away
Montecito Sequoia Lodge
Montecito Sequoia Lodge
#2 of 4 in Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
4.0 of 5 stars 534 reviews
16.5 mi away
John Muir Lodge
John Muir Lodge
#3 of 4 in Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
4.0 of 5 stars 383 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.9 mi away
Stony Creek Lodge
Stony Creek Lodge
#19 of 20 in Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
3.0 of 5 stars 100 reviews
22.4 mi away
Silver City Mountain Resort
Silver City Mountain Resort
#4 of 20 in Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
4.5 of 5 stars 109 reviews
24.2 mi away
The River Inn & Cabins
The River Inn & Cabins
#10 of 11 in Three Rivers
3.0 of 5 stars 82 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cedar Grove Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cedar Grove Lodge

Property: Cedar Grove Lodge
Address: General's Hwy, Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA 93633
Location: United States > California > Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Cedar Grove Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in a glaciated mile-deep canyon, Cedar Grove Lodge is located in the heart of Kings Canyon National Park at Cedar Grove Village. Open May through October, this quaint lodge is an ideal location for travelers looking to explore some of Kings Canyon’s most alluring wilderness attractions, including North Dome, Grand Sentinel and Zumwalt Meadow. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Cedar Grove Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cedar Grove Hotel Sequoia And Kings Canyon National Park
Hotel Cedar Grove

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing