We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Stony Creek Lodge
Nearby Hotels
Silver City Mountain Resort(Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park)
$360
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Sierra Lodge(Three Rivers)
$295
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$189
$161
ComfortInn
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$170
$130
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$79
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$110
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$110
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$135
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Timberline Motel(Lone Pine)(Great Value!)
$110
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Comfort Inn(Lone Pine)
$165
ComfortInn
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 13% below average rates

The price you found is 13% lower than this hotel's average rate of $189/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Reviews (122)
Filter reviews
122 results
Traveler rating
16
36
24
23
23
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
16
36
24
23
23
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbest pizzaserve pizzacalzonecozy placelarge fireplacerustic charmfree breakfastthree riversgift shopparksalpinemilesforestclosetmontecitoconveniencebeauty
Filter
Updating list...
105 - 110 of 122 reviews
Reviewed August 14, 2006

We stayed at Stoney Creek Lodge for three nights in August. The Lodge is in a great location if you want to visit the western area of the parks. It's between Grant Grove and Giant Forest. The lodge could use some updating, but was clean and comfortable. There is a nice continental breakfast included in the room fee from 7-10 AM every morning. The little restaurant also offers pizza and salads (extra modest charge), with the hardest working staff. All things considered, we enjoyed our stay very much. "Wildwood, MO guy" needs to realize that he's at 6,500 ft. elev. and the resort is run by diesel generators. If you want luxury, fork over $175. per night at the beautiful new John Muir Lodge in Grant Grove.
Be sure to buy gas in the valley, because it is $3.85 in the park.
If you're lucky you may get to see the black bear that cruises through the Stoney Creek area on a regular basis.

  • Stayed: August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
5  Thank NapaMomster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2006

After a night at Wuksachi, this place was a huge disappointment. The motel is actually on top of a general store. We checked in a little early and asked what time the restaurant opened. It didn't. So we had to drive down to Grant Village to eat. Before we left, we asked for a rollaway bed, since we were travelling with two kids and had a room with a Queen and a twin. When we returned from dinner, the store was locked up, there was nobody available to help us, and there was no rollaway bed. When I mentioned this to the staff on check-out in the morning, they said, "Oh, sorry." Our room was tiny, the bathroom was microscopic. The towels were small and thin. The television didn't work until we unplugged several other things in the room.
We were surprised to find a nice continental breakfast in the morning! We paid way too much for this room... the worst room of our eleven day trip.

  • Stayed: June 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank TwoSue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Wildwood, MO
18
Reviewed June 13, 2006

We just returned from a vacation and stay at Stoney Creek Lodge (6-7-06). From the one picture we saw that is listed in the brochures, it looks very nice, but note that the picture is only the front of the building. The Lodge lists a restaurant which we found was only open two nights a week, and served only pizza. The outside patio looked appealing with the patio tables and chairs, but we quickly found that they were very used and dirty. We were not able to get dinner because the restaurant was not open on the night we arrived. The room was somewhat clean but the bathroom was not in the best shape. Mold in the shower and on the floor, some of the white towels were gray looking, broken lamp in the room, and a window that would not properly close, so it was cold at night. The strange thing is that the management of the lodge closed the building down around 7:00 p.m. and left keys to the front door with the guests. What an odd feeling it was to be left alone in a building with no one at the registration desk. Also, it was an uneasy feeling knowing that you hoped the other guests closed and locked the front door after hours. Anyone could have come into the building if the guests did not properly lock the front door. If I were to give this lodge a rating from 0-5, it gets a -1, which is less than Okay.

8  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2005

Spent 3 days at the John Muir Lodge and then three days Stony Creek. Our room at Stony Creek was worn, but clean and fairly roomy. The TV was ok for catching up with the news. The free morning continental breakfast was a bonus and had enough options to give us a filling meal to start the day. The adjoining store gave us the opportunity to replentish our ice supply daily. A good location between Grant Grove (20 minutes) and Lodge Pole (30 minutes). The small restaurant in the lodge was just reopening from winter damage. We did experience the fan noise but it was more like ambiant noise than a major bother. Our room had three windows which really helped create good ventilation. This helped cool the rooms down rather quickly at night.

  • Stayed: July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank dhen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2005

The lodges at Kings Canyon and Sequoia National Parks are acceptable but not as nice as the lodges at the Grand Canyon, north and south rims. Stony Creek Lodge lies within the Sequoia National Monument. The lodge sells gas and they have satellite TV's in the rooms. Further, they provided a free continental breakfast.

The rooms are old but moderately clean. I would stay there again especially for the TV as neither the John Muir Lodge nor the Cedar Grove Lodge had televisions. When you’re in the park for a week, you’ll love having a television.

  • Stayed: June 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
12  Thank sgriffin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews