We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not worth the price” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Stony Creek Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Stony Creek Lodge
A TripAdvisor Member
“Not worth the price”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2006

We just returned from a vacation and stay at Stoney Creek Lodge (6-7-06). From the one picture we saw that is listed in the brochures, it looks very nice, but note that the picture is only the front of the building. The Lodge lists a restaurant which we found was only open two nights a week, and served only pizza. The outside patio looked appealing with the patio tables and chairs, but we quickly found that they were very used and dirty. We were not able to get dinner because the restaurant was not open on the night we arrived. The room was somewhat clean but the bathroom was not in the best shape. Mold in the shower and on the floor, some of the white towels were gray looking, broken lamp in the room, and a window that would not properly close, so it was cold at night. The strange thing is that the management of the lodge closed the building down around 7:00 p.m. and left keys to the front door with the guests. What an odd feeling it was to be left alone in a building with no one at the registration desk. Also, it was an uneasy feeling knowing that you hoped the other guests closed and locked the front door after hours. Anyone could have come into the building if the guests did not properly lock the front door. If I were to give this lodge a rating from 0-5, it gets a -1, which is less than Okay.

Helpful?
8 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    29
    15
    18
    21
See reviews for
28
47
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Los Gatos
Level Contributor
444 reviews
114 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 300 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2005

Spent 3 days at the John Muir Lodge and then three days Stony Creek. Our room at Stony Creek was worn, but clean and fairly roomy. The TV was ok for catching up with the news. The free morning continental breakfast was a bonus and had enough options to give us a filling meal to start the day. The adjoining store gave us the opportunity to replentish our ice supply daily. A good location between Grant Grove (20 minutes) and Lodge Pole (30 minutes). The small restaurant in the lodge was just reopening from winter damage. We did experience the fan noise but it was more like ambiant noise than a major bother. Our room had three windows which really helped create good ventilation. This helped cool the rooms down rather quickly at night.

  • Stayed July 2005
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
11 Thank dhen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pflugerville, TX
Level Contributor
27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2005

The lodges at Kings Canyon and Sequoia National Parks are acceptable but not as nice as the lodges at the Grand Canyon, north and south rims. Stony Creek Lodge lies within the Sequoia National Monument. The lodge sells gas and they have satellite TV's in the rooms. Further, they provided a free continental breakfast.

The rooms are old but moderately clean. I would stay there again especially for the TV as neither the John Muir Lodge nor the Cedar Grove Lodge had televisions. When you’re in the park for a week, you’ll love having a television.

  • Stayed June 2005
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
12 Thank sgriffin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leigh, Stoke on Trent
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2005

This place is a good point to stay if you are going into the Sequoia area. There is no restaurant there but there is a shop and the staff are very helpful. Two restaurants area a short drive away. We decided to just have snacks from the shop and the staff provided paper plates etc for us and were happy to open wine for us too! Continental breakfast is available which is plntiful. The rooms are pleasant too.

Helpful?
8 Thank Lynn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2002

Management scheduled cleaning of kitchen fan after hours. The cleaning of ventilation system took place from 9:30pm - midnight. It was extremely loud and irritating. Complaints were made and no apologies were forthcoming. "We have to clean the fan, and we have to do it after restaurant hours." EXCUSE ME but we are paying guests. Don't we have rights?

Helpful?
9 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
2.7 mi away
Montecito Sequoia Lodge
Montecito Sequoia Lodge
#2 of 4 in Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
4.0 of 5 stars 522 reviews
6.2 mi away
Wuksachi Lodge
Wuksachi Lodge
#1 of 4 in Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
4.0 of 5 stars 1,920 reviews
8.5 mi away
John Muir Lodge
John Muir Lodge
#3 of 4 in Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
4.0 of 5 stars 349 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.9 mi away
Cedar Grove Lodge
Cedar Grove Lodge
#4 of 4 in Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
4.0 of 5 stars 105 reviews
14.5 mi away
Sierra Lodge
Sierra Lodge
#5 of 6 in Three Rivers
3.0 of 5 stars 253 reviews
18.2 mi away
Lazy J Ranch-Americas Best Value Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stony Creek Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stony Creek Lodge

Property: Stony Creek Lodge
Address: General's Hwy, Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA 93633
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 20 Specialty Lodging in Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Stony Creek Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Stony Creek Lodge is a modest lodge on the Generals Highway between two National Parks, conveniently located to explore both the Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Parks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Odigeo, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Stony Creek Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stony Creek Hotel Sequoia And Kings Canyon National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing