We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“EXTRAORDINARY PLACE!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Stony Creek Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Stony Creek Lodge
Los Angeles
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“EXTRAORDINARY PLACE!”
Reviewed June 19, 2009

We didn’t expect a a wonderful, cozy, rustic, clean and very friendly lodge with such a pleasant people that me and my husband felt were really interested in making your staying a very enjoyable one. The location is very good ( quite in the middle of the 2 parks so we were able to visit both parks Sequoia and Kings Canyon very easily ).I was impressed by the cozy living room ( by the reception area) with a real fire place, the clean of the room and especially the bathroom were awesome !!! I already told my friends to revisit and have fun together.The staff was nice nice nice we made friends with Kathy a very professional and friendly manager.Thanks for all!!! SEE YOU SOON!!!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ellly13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    31
    17
    19
    22
See reviews for
28
54
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
torrance
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 17, 2009

This was a great way to start off our summer vacation. We stayed a Stony Creek for three days while visiting the park. Accommodations were actually better than expected. While the furniture could be updated, the rooms were still well-kept. There's a kind of rustic feel, and this is a beautiful area. The staff was AWESOME!!! They really go out of their way to help you. We have young children. One of the managers, Katrina, really made us all feel welcome. She handles problems really well. My only complaint is the irate guest who complained so much that it made the rest of us irritated. (Please don't go to a national park and expect a 5-star hotel. I mean, really?!?) I would definitely come back.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank isis1998
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2009

My wife and I stayed at the Stoney Creek Lodge for two nights while exploring the Sequoias and wished we had payed a litter extra for another place in the park. First of all, I was not expecting a resort, I just wanted a nice clean room with a comfy bed (for $165 a night). What we got was a dirty room that was last updated in the 60's. Hardly no lighting to see and a 20 year old bed where the seams were ripped and the bedding was coming out. On our second night we were kept awake from a very loud strange sound coming fro the bathroom. We found out that it was the sound of the water being turned off, and air coming into the lines. Thats right folks, no morning shower, no flushing the toilet and no washing your hands. The location is very convenient and there is a store in the building (only open from 8-6) but other than that the place is an over priced dump.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jaymz1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park hotels

Washington DC
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2008

We chose this lodge knowing it was lowest rated, but other accommodations were full.

Our poorly-lit 2-bed room comprised one double (for two people) pushed against the wall, and a twin bed close to the bathroom. Hard pillows and so-so mattresses. Ventilation was from the windows which blew on us all night, or by leaving the door open.

Small bathroom with good shower.

Security was poor - but this seems to be a low crime area - the front door was locked about 9pm, but the back door was propped open each night for 3 of our 4 nights - we closed it ourselves.

These parks have no cell phone coverage! There are two pay phones, and you can buy phone cards.

Free WiFi but no TV for guests (not a problem), despite 2 satellite dishes. The lobby has over-soft sofas, chairs and tables, and several board games.

The restaurant is limited but good - pizza, salad and hot dogs.
Breakfast is prewrapped stale bagels, cereal, an egg-McMuffin thing, and not much else.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — Uncomfortable beds
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank CaroleF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, CA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2007

We chose this facility because it is located half way between the attractions at Kings Canyon NP and Sequoia NP. And indeed it is. Which mean driving a fair distance to reach either. This is a no frills lodge run by the NPS which means very basic accommodations. However, we found the Cedar Grove Lodge in Kings Canyon to be superior in terms of amenities, cleanliness and friendliness. It was also less expensive.

The positives: you are very close to some of the most spectacular scenery in the world; there is reasonably priced gas available; there is a general store with a fair amount of food, essentials, etc.; there is also a relatively inviting lobby in which to read, have coffee, etc.; continental breakfast.

The not-so-positives: the room was passably clean and had a VERY stale odor to it; one rather dim light fixture for the entire room; no AC; you are right on the busy main road; the young staff were, frankly, a bit odd--as if they were unacustomed to helping/interacting with guests.

The verdict: will try other lodging next time around.

  • Liked — Gas
  • Disliked — Everything else
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank kvwbingo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, VA
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2007

My sisters, wife, and two teenage sons stayed here for two nights. The hotel has a great location, situated in woods between sequoia and Kings Canyon. The property itself reminds me of park properties I stayed in the 60's. We needed a cot in our room, but arrived after the lodge was closed, and it wasn't there, so my son slept on the floor. He said the floor was better than the cot which he slept on the second night. The breakfast was ok, but the patio made up for any deficiencies.

The parks were great. Kings Canyon was amazingly beautiful.

  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank katahnic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2007

My husband and I recently spent 4 days in Sequoia/Kings Canyon, and stayed at the Stony Creek Lodge. Like most rustic places in the Sierras, it was simple and modestly decorated, but comfortable and clean. There are several campsites nearby that rely on the small market, shower facilities, and gas station (the only one in the park!). After a day hiking the nearly trails, we spent the evening eating freshly baked Calzones and drinking ice cold beer we bought at the market on the outdoor deck under umbrellas. There are few places in the Sequoia/Kings Canyon area to eat, and it was nice to have a room and meal all in one location. For a splurge, we had dinner one night at the restaurant in Grant Grove, where a traditional sit-down meal could be had. There they served dinner items such as Salmon, St. Louis style ribs, and the all-American basics like hamburgers and the like. Stony Creek also offers a complementary continental breakfast with the basics. And, during our stay the staff told stories of the bears that live in and around the lodge area. We really enjoyed it. The other reviewers were expecting the Ritz Carlton, but remember this is the Sierras, and a room and meal in this lodge beats sleeping on the ground in a crowded campsite (without shower facilities) any day.

  • Liked — Clean, conveniently located in the park
  • Disliked — no refrigerator in room
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank calgirl88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
2.7 mi away
Montecito Sequoia Lodge
Montecito Sequoia Lodge
#2 of 4 in Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
595 reviews
6.2 mi away
Wuksachi Lodge
Wuksachi Lodge
#1 of 4 in Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
2,226 reviews
8.5 mi away
John Muir Lodge
John Muir Lodge
#3 of 4 in Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
461 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.5 mi away
Sierra Lodge
Sierra Lodge
#5 of 6 in Three Rivers
284 reviews
12.9 mi away
Cedar Grove Lodge
Cedar Grove Lodge
#4 of 4 in Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
143 reviews
18.2 mi away
Lazy J Ranch-Americas Best Value Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stony Creek Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stony Creek Lodge

Property: Stony Creek Lodge
Address: General's Hwy, Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA 93633
Location: United States > California > Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 19 Specialty Lodging in Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Stony Creek Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Stony Creek Lodge is a modest lodge on the Generals Highway between two National Parks, conveniently located to explore both the Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Parks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Stony Creek Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stony Creek Hotel Sequoia And Kings Canyon National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing