We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Stony Creek Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Stony Creek Lodge
Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Great location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2012

The room was simple and quaint. The staff was friendly and helpful. The best part of this lodge was the location. It was about 10 miles from the bustle of the lodgepole area so the wildlife was abundant at Stony Creek. I believe the lodge was built in the 1920's and therefore doesn't have the up to date amenities of a more recently built building, like an elevator or instant hot water. But Stony Creek didn't disappoint us. I loved sitting in the lobby area near the fireplace with a book watching the wildlife. Further, the continental breakfast in the morning was good. You will enjoy your stay here.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Penny C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    31
    17
    19
    22
See reviews for
28
53
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2012

The staff was unfailingly polite, friendly and helpful, but this lodge is sadly in need of a complete overhaul of its infrastructure. There is no elevator which made it difficult for myself and a member of my party who have bad knees and all rooms are on the second floor. The rooms, while adequately large, have very poor lighting and virtually no comfortable chairs in which to read. The electricity went out three times in our two-night stay (a sign in the breakfast room states that you shouldn't use the microwave and toaster at the same time) but the worst was the lack of hot water. Another sign in the bathroom recommends running the water for 15 minutes to get hot water for a shower...and, trust me, you need a full 15 minutes! Despite the fact that the lodge is very conveniently located, the price was, we felt, too high considering the many inconveniences. The management would do well to put some of the profits into fixing the items I've mentioned.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Diana T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plainview, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2012

We loved this place...not like a 4-star hotel, but sort of roughing it first class. The room was adequate for the 2 of us, and the staff was so helpful. Would have liked a TV that was easier to use, but that's not why we were there. Location was perfect for travel between the 2 parks. Would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: If you need a hair dryer, bring your own.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank musicgirl3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brevard, North Carolina
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2012

It was wonderful to wake up to a view of deer out in the parking lot! Although this Lodge offers minimal amenities, it's location and friendly staff far out-weigh those who are expecting a pampered lodging experience. If you're traveling between Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Parks, this small and convenient resting place provides an excellent respite. We decided to stay here instead of returning to Three Rivers because of the roadwork on General's Highway - a smart decision! Although it's somewhat dated, the facility is clean and well maintained. Breakfast was well supplied for just 11 rooms of lodgers. We would stay here again!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
35 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2012

Loved the staff very freindly and informative. Thank you Dawn and crew. Also loved the fireplace!! Very cozy! The place itself needs some facelift but it's clean. Thank you again.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mell72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2012

My boyfriend and I really enjoyed this simple, yet cozy hotel. Rooms are clean, staff is great and it got this past-times charm that I sometimes miss in American hotels. In that way it reminds me of an European alpine cabine or Scandinavian Ski lodge. They also got a huge fireplace there the guests can have their meal. The restaurant is very simple, just serving pizza and some other very simple dishes. The pizza is very good though, thin crust and they serve American wine and beer to a very reasonable price. Overall we are really happy with our stay here!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 88Eva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, CA
Level Contributor
63 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2011

Cozy? If you call a small room where you can barely walk cozy, it is! The carpet in this MOTEL (That is what it should be called) was from the 70s. Location was far from General Sherman, but not too far from General Grant.
Disliked: The room, the lobby, the store,....
Liked: The Pizza and the staff.
I would not stay here in the future.

Room Tip: Don't stay here!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WorldWideTravelBoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
2.7 mi away
Montecito Sequoia Lodge
Montecito Sequoia Lodge
#2 of 4 in Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 584 reviews
6.2 mi away
Wuksachi Lodge
Wuksachi Lodge
#1 of 4 in Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,117 reviews
8.5 mi away
John Muir Lodge
John Muir Lodge
#3 of 4 in Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 421 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.9 mi away
Cedar Grove Lodge
Cedar Grove Lodge
#4 of 4 in Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 140 reviews
18.2 mi away
Lazy J Ranch-Americas Best Value Inn
14.5 mi away
Sierra Lodge
Sierra Lodge
#5 of 6 in Three Rivers
3.0 of 5 bubbles 279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stony Creek Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stony Creek Lodge

Property: Stony Creek Lodge
Address: General's Hwy, Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA 93633
Location: United States > California > Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 19 Specialty Lodging in Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Stony Creek Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Stony Creek Lodge is a modest lodge on the Generals Highway between two National Parks, conveniently located to explore both the Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Parks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Orbitz, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Stony Creek Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stony Creek Hotel Sequoia And Kings Canyon National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing