We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
John Muir Lodge
Nearby Hotels
Silver City Mountain Resort(Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park)
$360
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Sierra Lodge(Three Rivers)
$295
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$189
$161
ComfortInn
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$170
$130
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$79
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$110
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$110
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$135
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Timberline Motel(Lone Pine)(Great Value!)
$110
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Comfort Inn(Lone Pine)
$165
ComfortInn
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 11% below average rates

The price you found is 11% lower than this hotel's average rate of $186/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Reviews (582)
Filter reviews
582 results
Traveler rating
180
234
109
38
21
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
180
234
109
38
21
Show reviews that mention
All reviewskings canyonpanorama pointnational parkgift shopvisitor centerpost officegreat roomfood courtgrant groverocking chairsjohn muirgeneral grantfirst floorlobby areabeautiful areaboth parksno elevator
Filter
Updating list...
460 - 465 of 582 reviews
Reviewed August 7, 2014

You're minutes away from numerous trailheads. The rooms are clean and of a good size. Make sure you check the restaurant opening hours, because if can get busy, and closes fairly early. There's a small market store next door you can fallback on.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank davidroessli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2014

We reserved 3 rooms in a different building months in advance knowing we would have 4 - 80+ year old family members traveling in addition to 7 others. At the last moment we were bumped to the John Muir Lodge. Although the facility was adequate and clean it was not set-up for people with accessibility issues. Because of a travel delay we didn't arrive until 11:00 p.m. and it was very difficult to get everyone settled in the 2nd floor rooms we were assigned.

Rooms were clean and hotel was quiet.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank RMEugene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2014

Fantastic location, nice staff, good service, comfortable room.
Not cheap, but the facilities have exceeded our expectations.
We had a nice room facing the meadows.
No TV or wifi inside the room.
Restaurant has good food.
Lots of hiking options, park is just beeeeautiful!!!

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the meadows.
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank cimu0209
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2014

The location is good. Just about 20 minutes to the tallest tree in the US. However, the cabin is terrible, especially the economic one. There is no light in the room. That means you should borrow the lantern form the front desk. Unfortunately, that is not enough to see everything in the cabin. You still need your own flashlight to see clearly. You can imagine the worst thing you can have is living in the dark room in the bear area. That is extremely horrible! In addition, there is no private bathroom. You need to cross a sand area to the shared bathroom. That is to say, you would never get your feet clean! I think I would never visit the lodge (or pick the same type room) again because the night should be comfortable to relax and re-energy myself for the following day!

Room Tip: Never choose the economic room! Please choose the one with LIGHT and PRIVATE BATHROOM.
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 阿波羅
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2014

The lodge is very nice but I would not do the included breakfast. The rooms were being updated with TVs while we were there. It would be nice to have wifi in the rooms but it was also nice to sit in the nice lobby with the fire place and do group activities. The restaurant at the lodge is poorly managed and slow. We had the included breakfast and it was slow to arrive then cold both mornings after it arrived. We tried to eat dinner one night and it was not to be. We were seated and after 20 minutes with no service I asked the manager and she rudely replied that our server was also serving a large party and walked off. Any normal manger would have seen that we at least had menus and water. After an additional 10 minutes of watching other people seated after us being waited on we left hungry.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank Rich M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews