We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Modern lodging alternative to cabins for family of five” 4 of 5 stars
Review of John Muir Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
John Muir Lodge
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   86728 Highway 180, Grant Grove, Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA 93633   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
117 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 232 helpful votes
“Modern lodging alternative to cabins for family of five”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

Good experience at the John Muir Lodge -- they accommodated two adults and three kids with a rollaway at no charge (plus two doubles). Clean room for three nights thanks to diligent housekeeping. No A/C, no TV, no breakfast buffet -- but that's not we expect inside a national park lodge. We want a good location and a functional, clean room, and that is what you get. Summer rates are not cheap but are reasonable. Drawback -- the restaurant in Grant Grove that is walking distance from JMLodge is pretty bad. After one meal there, we to the market and got own food; we didn't care about cooking something hot. If that is important to you, you should consider the cabins.

Room Tip: Get a room facing the forest, not the parking lot, because you have the windows open and it's qu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cgbroderick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

347 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    123
    136
    57
    19
    12
See reviews for
143
138
11
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mobile, Alabama
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

Staff should tell guests at check in that fans are available in the summer. Room on the 2nd floor was so uncomfortably hot that we joined numerous other guests sleeping in the lobby. Staff member said we should have asked for a fan. Did not know that was an option? If I pay that much money for a room I should be comfortable sleeping there.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank susanclint
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

John Muir lodge is very pleasant and a great way to enjoy the real sequoia. It is simple but nice and is in a good location in grant grove village, with various good food options around, including a small supermarket.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank j0hnmuir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa City, Iowa
Level Contributor
60 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

This is a great rustic way to enjoy the Sequoia National Park. We used the package option and first enjoyed the BBQ Dinner. Upon arriving check-in was very smooth - as was check-out. We were very impressed with the lodge building and the rustic feel of the furnishings. It made for a great evening to go for a walk to further enjoy the natural beauty and then return to the "log cabin feel" lodge. Very clean, employees were very friendly, and the scenery can't be beat. Be sure to note the lack of TV or air conditioning if those are "must haves" for you. Otherwise, it is a great way to stay in the park!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Virginia R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Friendswood, Texas
Level Contributor
31 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

This hotel was clean and quite. The best part is the location. It is minutes away from several nice hiking trails within the sequoia forest in the Grant Grove area. The staff was friendly and helpful.

Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Greg L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seagrove Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
87 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

The hotel is about to go under a major renovation. It is clean and quiet. It needs a facelift. I think considering the lodge in Cedar Grove, this hotel is overpriced. It does not have an air conditioner in the rooms.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank texbeth96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

If you come up from Three Rivers, you can get a hike in before getting to the lodge. The drive and trail behind the lodge is surprisingly nice, with a fantastic view at the end. The lodge looks a little like a nice nursing home in the hallways, but the rooms are quite nice. The lounge is cozy, and the porches are great.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Intoadventure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
14.7 mi away
Wuksachi Lodge
Wuksachi Lodge
#1 of 4 in Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
4.0 of 5 stars 1,916 reviews
5.9 mi away
Montecito Sequoia Lodge
Montecito Sequoia Lodge
#2 of 4 in Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
4.0 of 5 stars 522 reviews
16.5 mi away
Cedar Grove Lodge
Cedar Grove Lodge
#4 of 4 in Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
4.0 of 5 stars 104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.1 mi away
Sierra Lodge
Sierra Lodge
#5 of 6 in Three Rivers
3.0 of 5 stars 253 reviews
22.9 mi away
Lazy J Ranch-Americas Best Value Inn
22.0 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Sequoia Kings Canyon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to John Muir Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about John Muir Lodge

Property: John Muir Lodge
Address: 86728 Highway 180, Grant Grove, Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA 93633
Location: United States > California > Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — John Muir Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your John Muir Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
John Muir Hotel Sequoia And Kings Canyon National Park
Hotel John Muir

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing