We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Jul 1”
Review of John Muir Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
John Muir Lodge
Reviewed July 4, 2014

Good location in the entrance to the park make a day in the park a much easier and enjoyable visit. Woke up early and refreshed for a day of sightseeing and hiking. Excellent lodging and amenities for a park.

Room Tip: reserve early to get a room
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vic L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (516)
There are newer reviews for John Muir Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

418 - 424 of 516 reviews

Reviewed June 26, 2014

Absolutely loved our stay at the John Muir Lodge. It is conveniently located centrally to both Kings Canyon and the Giant Sequoia parks. It was nice to have a restaurant close enough to walk to and I really appreciated the vegan options on their menu. The room was pleasant and spacious enough and I had no complaints about anything. We saw a mule deer mother and two fawns out the window in the morning, it was just a lovely setting. The bed was a bit hard for my tastes, but hardly an issue to me.

Room Tip: Wifi is available only in the lobby, so if that is important to you, get a room closer to the lobby.
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DMJ0079
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2014

The Lodge is centrally located between Kings & Sequoia making a great place to be based. The setting is in a wooded area, with a great "back to nature" feel.
Whilst the rooms are basic, they are clean, comfortable and just what's needed after a day's exercise !

Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Dave U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PropertyExecutive, Manager at John Muir Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded June 24, 2014

Thank you for the Great review! I am glad to read it was clean and comfortable. Come visit us again when our remodel is complete. All the best, Brandy Frederich, Assistant General Manager, Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Parks.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2014

Great place to stay if you're on a trip through Sequoia National Park and Kings Canyon. It's about 30 minutes from Sequoia NP visitor center, so it's a great place to stay while visiting the parks. The room was basic, but confortable and clean, and the setting is excellent, right inside the woods, and a market and restaurant just a few steps away.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fabian F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PropertyExecutive, Manager at John Muir Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded June 24, 2014

Thank you for the excellent review! I am pleased to read the place was comfortable and clean and in a great location. Come visit us again, as we are making several upgrades to our rooms. All the best, Brandy Frederich, Assistant General Manager, Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Parks.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2014

Great place to stay in a wonderful setting.
Rooms great and an early warning stroll in the woods is just something else just so peaceful and so much wild life.
Only problem was the lack of staff in the kitchens - food took a long tine to come which put pressure on waiting staff but great food when it came. Can't really fault them as they gave us free breakfast one morning when it took too long to come from kitchen.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Graham S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PropertyExecutive, Manager at John Muir Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded June 24, 2014

Thank you for the great review! Glad your enjoyed the lodge and surrounding. I apologize for the slow service in the dining room, but I am pleased to read that the staff took care of you on the spot. All the best, Brandy Frederich, Assistant General Manager, Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Parks.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2014

The lodge itself was a real retreat - set right up in the woods of Kings Canyon yet within a stroll of the restaurant and shop.

The rooms were basic but clean and comfortable, as others have said a refridgerator would have been nice but we didn't miss the tv or internet at all.

Sitting on the porches at the end of the day with a drink and snacks just enjoying the peace was fabulous.

The restaurant is another matter. We had attentive servers for each of our visits but the time it took for meals to appear from the kitchen was bordering on unacceptable. An hour wait for cereal and toast? In fact the last breakfast we had there was so delayed that the whole meal was given to us for free as the server was so embarrassed.
However when the food appeared it was always very tasty and for a place with only one eatery the variety, quality and price were all very good - just employ some more chefs!

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SarahLS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2014

The room was basic but fine and clean and in a lovely setting.
The shower was set at a height which was fine for anyone under 4ft tall so was a bit of a challenge!

The restaurant food was good but the service was very poor. On our first night 5 tables were left uncleared and a couple near to us complained about the slow service, our mains came out before we had finished our starters. On night 2 we waited ages to be seated (though not as long as some people who arrived after us), again, numerous tables left uncleared and my starter arrived way before my partners and went cold, so had to go back and be reheated. The staff were pleasant but the overall feeling was that they lacked management and pride in their restaurant which was a shame.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sara b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
14.7 mi away
Wuksachi Lodge
Wuksachi Lodge
#1 of 4 in Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
2,393 reviews
5.9 mi away
Montecito Sequoia Lodge & Summer Family Camp
Montecito Sequoia Lodge & Summer...
#3 of 4 in Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
629 reviews
16.5 mi away
Cedar Grove Lodge
Cedar Grove Lodge
#4 of 4 in Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.1 mi away
Sierra Lodge
Sierra Lodge
#5 of 6 in Three Rivers
307 reviews
22.9 mi away
Lazy J Ranch-Americas Best Value Inn
22.0 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Sequoia Kings Canyon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to John Muir Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about John Muir Lodge

Address: 86728 Highway 180, Grant Grove, Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA 93641-9765
Location: United States > California > Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
Price Range: $120 - $198 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — John Muir Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Otel, TravelUp, Cancelon, Hotwire, Agoda and getaroom.com so you can book your John Muir Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
John Muir Hotel Sequoia And Kings Canyon National Park
Hotel John Muir

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing