We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“great service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of John Muir Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added John Muir Lodge to your Saves list
John Muir Lodge
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   86728 Highway 180, Grant Grove, Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA 93633   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence
Santa Rosa, California
Level Contributor
56 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“great service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2014

We had a wonderful time here. Connie, at the front desk, was exceptionally helpful. The road between the lodges was closed and she held a room for us while we went down into the canyon, just in case. It turned out that the road opened and we were able to go along our way. The room was clean and comfortable. There was a deck on each floor where we could eat breakfast outside in very comfortable chairs.
If only there had been a refrigerator in the room we would have stayed here all three nights!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mjt2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

343 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    123
    134
    56
    19
    11
See reviews for
142
137
11
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
51 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2014

The lodge serves excellent base for hiking around. Unlike many similarly located hotels, which take advantage of their location to provide inferior service at exorbitant price, John Muir lodge does everything perfect: is very well maintained and honestly priced.

Room Tip: West side faces forest; East side faces parking. Second floor better if you don't mind carrying...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Menahemk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WV
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

This lodge is not on par w/ other national park lodges. The walls are thin. The beds are soft. The rooms, while large, are a bit worn looking and dark. The log style furniture is nice though. The communal area isn't as grand as other park lodges. That said, it is a long, windy drive from this park to anywhere. Therefore, it is a much better alternative than staying off site. For that reason, I recommend it.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hdog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, California
Level Contributor
52 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2014

On one hand this is a budget motel dressed up with some wood and with a large lobby and fireplace. There are dorm-looking hallways, there is nothing special.

On the other hand there is a beautiful wood exterior. There is a communal lobby where you get to enjoy the fire, games and company with travelers from all over the world.

There is the incredible forest, hiking, wildlife, clean air, all literally just outside your window.

The staff (of the hotel) was kind and accommodating.

There is only one restaurant in the Grant Grove area, and it is horrible (food and service) so you may want to bring your own food and cook it at the campgrounds nearby and/or plan on driving elsewhere to eat.

Overall we had a great time in Sequoia and would return

Room Tip: Second floor rooms looking away from the parking lot and toward the forest are better
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank christopherkoontz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
28 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2014

This area is not to be missed. Unsurpassed beauty all around you. Rained basically the whole time we were there. Took a few short hikes into the majestic red woods. Fireplace at the lodge felt great after damp walks. Lodge has lots of character, nothing fancy. Small rooms, spent most of the time enjoying the fire while inside. Had the place to ourselves, off season.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Oldnway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Augusta Ga
Level Contributor
120 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2014

Great place to stay. Very good for the price. Matter of fact i thought it was a great value. Comfortable clean room. Quiet, peaceful, and a walk to many large trees. For the view (and the buffet breakfast) next time I would stay at the Montecito Sequoia Lodge however. Wish we would've scheduled more than one night here but we got to see the "major" trees.
Don't come in using road 245 though. After a long day on the road getting here 245 was nothing but curves without the views If you're coming from Death Valley avoid road 155 at all costs for the same reason. Theses 2 roads made the San Joaquin valley a slice of heaven.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DoWeDive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
684 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 469 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2014

The John Muir Lodge is located in the lodge and cabin area behind the Grants Grove Village and Visitor Center inside of Kings Canyon National Park. The Village is right off of Highway 180 which runs through the middle of the Village. The Lodge is so close to the Visitor Center and restaurants that you can walk there in under 5 minutes. The Lodge is also next to the small and windy road that leads to Panoramic Point.

The rooms are basic National Park hotel rooms so are a little rustic and have no TV sets. We stayed in a room on the first floor with 2 queen beds. The room was nice but has an odd layout with the sink basically in the entry way and has no place to put your toiletry bag. There is a large meeting room on the first floor where you can go to play games and put together puzzles. The lodge has a bunch of games and puzzles to choose from. This room was pretty crowded in the evenings with both kids and adults. At he end of each hallway is a deck with pine furniture to relax and talk after a day of hiking. These pine chairs and rocking chairs are popular so grab an open one when you can. I really enjoyed relaxing there. My wife and I enjoyed reading on the rocking chairs after a day of hiking. We also enjoyed the game room and tried to put together a tough puzzle (the puzzle was a picture of LOTS of old baseball cards and we never finished it).

I stayed here for two nights with my wife and we paid about $190 per night. We were on the 1st floor and it was quiet and the fans kept us cool at night. I read some of the negative reviews of the Lodge before leaving and warned my wife that the place would be really old and rustic. Since my expectations were low I was amazed at how nice the room was (I was expecting the worst). They had free Wi-Fi but I had a lot of trouble connecting. Check in was a little confusing as the Registration desk in not inside the lodge. We initially drove straight to the lodge and walked around looking for the registration desk before we figured out the lodge office is back by the visitor center and gift shop (right next Grant Grove Restaurant).

The John Muir Lodge is in a good location if you want to visit Grants Grove, take a day trip down into Kings Canyon and also drive 45 minutes to hike the trails in Sequoia National Park. The best feature of this property is its location inside the Kings Canyon National Park. The rooms are on the rustic side so you need to keep your expectations lower as you are in the wilderness and not in New York City. The prices are on the high side but what do you expect since you are in the mountains (where the demand for rooms exceeds supply).

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rockyjoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
14.7 mi away
Wuksachi Lodge
Wuksachi Lodge
#1 of 4 in Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
4.0 of 5 stars 1,910 reviews
5.8 mi away
Montecito Sequoia Lodge
Montecito Sequoia Lodge
#2 of 4 in Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
4.0 of 5 stars 522 reviews
16.5 mi away
Cedar Grove Lodge
Cedar Grove Lodge
#4 of 4 in Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
4.0 of 5 stars 104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.1 mi away
Sierra Lodge
Sierra Lodge
#5 of 6 in Three Rivers
3.0 of 5 stars 253 reviews
22.9 mi away
Lazy J Ranch-Americas Best Value Inn
22.0 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Sequoia Kings Canyon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to John Muir Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about John Muir Lodge

Property: John Muir Lodge
Address: 86728 Highway 180, Grant Grove, Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA 93633
Location: United States > California > Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — John Muir Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your John Muir Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
John Muir Hotel Sequoia And Kings Canyon National Park
Hotel John Muir

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing