We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Go see this stump” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Big Stump Basin

Edwards, Colorado
Level Contributor
28 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Go see this stump”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

I thought that seeing a stump was dumb, I was wrong. This is completely worth the short hike. You can stand on top of the stump of the cross section of Sequoia Tree that is in 2 museums. One in London and one somewhere in the US. (I cannot remember where). You can stand up on a 40 foot diameter stump, it is amazing.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Jill F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    14
    1
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Minnesota
Level Contributor
173 reviews
102 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“Impressive stumps...!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

My wife had spotted a picture of a stump with a ladder and hoped to see it. It is actually the "Mark Twain Stump" and it is easily accessed from the pullout just past the entry station near Grant Grove. Most other spots in the park don't invite you to get so 'up close and personal' with the trees, so check this one out!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank UncleCharlie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ridgecrest, California
Level Contributor
110 reviews
75 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Big Stump Basin, Sequoia NP”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

stumps of huge Sequoias cut 100 years ago; now part of Sequoia National Park - to stop the logging of the giants. The wood is not valuable like Redwood is - it shatters. Pretty place, young sequoias growing nicely.

Helpful?
3 Thank Janet W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
84 reviews
40 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Leave the Parking Lot!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

Watching people pull up, get out of their cars, use the washroom and then take a photo of the smallish (they think its big) stump by the bathrooms almost makes you weep. If you have driven all that way take 30 minutes and take the trail to the Mark Twain stump. Its a great walk and the site of all the stumps along the way, trees sacrifice for very little gain (they shattered when they fell) is a sobering lesson. Your kids might want to jump back into the car to watch The Lorax on their iPad. Show them the real thing.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
7 Thank Vance_Neudorf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Porter Ranch
Level Contributor
43 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“See why this park was created”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

We hiked the Big Stump Trail near the Grant Grove entrance station to see the impact of deforestation at Sequoia. Our daughter was working on her Girl Scout Cadette Trees badge, which called for understanding more about deforestation and logging. What better place to see the impact?

We easily completed the trail in an hour. We got the one page trail guide from the Grant Grove Visitor Center. It was also a great opportunity for our Cadette to work on map reading skills and identify where we should be looking for the key sites on the map. We were able to walk inside the Burnt Monarch tree and on the Shattered Giant tree. There are huge piles of sequoia sawdust leftover from the logging days. The Mark Twain Stump was created when the American Museum of Natural History wanted a slice to show their visitors. Shame on them! There are lots of trees growing back and I think this helped cement in our minds why this park was created. That the threat of cutting down all the trees was real.

We paired this hike up with an afternoon swim at Lake Hume, which was refreshing.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank GiftofVacation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Big Stump Basin also viewed

Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA
Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA
 
Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA
Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA
 

Been to Big Stump Basin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing