We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Big Stump Basin, Sequoia NP” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Big Stump Basin

Big Stump Basin
Ridgecrest, California
Level Contributor
135 reviews
90 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Big Stump Basin, Sequoia NP”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

stumps of huge Sequoias cut 100 years ago; now part of Sequoia National Park - to stop the logging of the giants. The wood is not valuable like Redwood is - it shatters. Pretty place, young sequoias growing nicely.

Helpful?
3 Thank Janet W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    14
    1
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
84 reviews
40 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Leave the Parking Lot!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2012

Watching people pull up, get out of their cars, use the washroom and then take a photo of the smallish (they think its big) stump by the bathrooms almost makes you weep. If you have driven all that way take 30 minutes and take the trail to the Mark Twain stump. Its a great walk and the site of all the stumps along the way, trees sacrifice for very little gain (they shattered when they fell) is a sobering lesson. Your kids might want to jump back into the car to watch The Lorax on their iPad. Show them the real thing.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
7 Thank Vance_Neudorf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Porter Ranch
Level Contributor
55 reviews
32 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“See why this park was created”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2012

We hiked the Big Stump Trail near the Grant Grove entrance station to see the impact of deforestation at Sequoia. Our daughter was working on her Girl Scout Cadette Trees badge, which called for understanding more about deforestation and logging. What better place to see the impact?

We easily completed the trail in an hour. We got the one page trail guide from the Grant Grove Visitor Center. It was also a great opportunity for our Cadette to work on map reading skills and identify where we should be looking for the key sites on the map. We were able to walk inside the Burnt Monarch tree and on the Shattered Giant tree. There are huge piles of sequoia sawdust leftover from the logging days. The Mark Twain Stump was created when the American Museum of Natural History wanted a slice to show their visitors. Shame on them! There are lots of trees growing back and I think this helped cement in our minds why this park was created. That the threat of cutting down all the trees was real.

We paired this hike up with an afternoon swim at Lake Hume, which was refreshing.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank GiftofVacation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
712 reviews
377 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 637 helpful votes
“Preservation, not devastation.... a sad reminder”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2012

Probably not the most popular of trails as was the case the morning we did this hike. Who wants to see a 'bunch of stumps' right? My good rating is not for the awe-inspiring width of these felled giants but for the educational hike itself.
This is a close look at what necessity, survival, greed and ignorance can do to nature. Then along came the naturalists lobbying for change such as John Muir to help man understand and stop irreparable damage to these gentle giants and other trees.

The trail is an easy 2-mile hike, which focuses on mature trees, meadows, wildflowers, forest growth and the stumps that lie abandoned in among the living trees. Some trees still have huge wound like scars, which had been left standing for unexplained reasons. There was a mill located here so that these huge sentinels could be logged and processed much easier.

The Mark Twain stump, which is in an open meadow, is one of the largest and stairs leading onto the stump gives you an idea how wide and how old this giant was when it was felled.
Over 1350 years old when logged it is now a sad memorial to a once living thing. A cross section of the tree was cut and sent to a museum and is still on display today. Most of the stump wood is still in good condition as the decay rate is far slower due to the makeup of the timber.

So seeing the result of past misadventures we were glad to have the chance to see other living giants of the forest in this beautiful setting. This trail is not just about seeing the stumps but the amazing living trees and growth that are now protected.

Please enjoy your visit!

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Globebugs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orem, Utah
Level Contributor
106 reviews
52 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“a sad reminder of what man can do”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2012

This is a beautiful area to drive to. The Hugh stumps that are left after the trees were logged look to be a memorial to there lives. It looks like gravestone in a beautiful meadow. I was hurt by the loss of such beautiful giants.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank vwsjones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Big Stump Basin also viewed

Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA
Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA
 
Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA
Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA
 

Been to Big Stump Basin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing