We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Beautiful landscape surround you” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Grant Grove

Grant Grove
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Inside Kings Canyon National Park is this grove of giant Sequoias.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
162 reviews
41 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Beautiful landscape surround you”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2013 via mobile

I've been wanting to visit this place for months after seeing it on a nature show. $20 will get you into the park for a day, $30 is an annual pass for sequoia national park and kings canyon park good for 12 months from when you buy it. $80 for USA national parks annual pass. If you enter the sequoia national park it's quite a drive up the one road. It starts off very curvy with lots of switch backs.

Make sure to top off your gas tank before you head up the mountain; it's about 1 hour slow drive before you get to a gas station. The gas prices are slightly inflated but that's expected. There are a few small markets on the drive but you'll be better off packing your own food.

Went Labor Day weekend and the weather was hot/warm at the base of the mountain. As you climb in altitude you can expect it cool down significantly, even during the hottest hours of the day. When you finally get there, spend about a half hour to an hour walking on the paved walkway through the grove. It was all breath taking. I'm sure I stopped to take pictures with every tree and huge rock in the grove. Definitely looking forward to visiting again.

Best part of the trip are all the convenient pull off parking areas on the shoulders along the most scenic spots on the road.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank UHcougarBdaygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

208 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    152
    41
    14
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“I've now seen the LARGEST LIVING THING on our planet!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2013 via mobile

This place is just awesome! To some, yes they are just trees..
But to the ones who really think about it... These trees have stood the tests of time!!!
They have born witness to many major events of our time as well as having stood tall and strong durning the time of Christ!
They are also the LARGEST LIVING THING on our planet! Bigger than whales... And they have survived all of the harshest environments nature can throw at them: fire, freezing cold, drought, floods...
And the BIGGEST THREAT YET to their continued survival is MAN!
Just think about it... As well as all the other beautiful wonders of nature this park has to offer...
Awesome place to visit!
A very humbling experience...:-)

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Vicki M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Concord, CA
Level Contributor
31 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Stop by and get food, info, gifts, etc”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2013

Grant Grove village has the following: a vistor center, a small grocery/basics store, a gift shop, a pizza parlor (in the back of the restaurant), a restaurant, bathrooms, etc. The check in for the John Muir lodge and all the Grant Grove cabins is here, just in between the gift shop and restaurant.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank TeddiBytheBay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hythe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Trees are awe inspiring”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

This site is great providing a bit more history on the sequoias which was fascinating. Take your camera and enjoy. Don't forget to look for the squirrels too.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank kannys_mum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Washington
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“How can you not love a Sequoia Tree?”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2013

This park is astonishing. We've been to many many national parks and always marvel at our good fortune to live in such a amazing country with all this preserved for everyone to enjoy. This park is in our top 5....it is a bit off the beaten path but for us, it was so worth the effort to get there.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank WigTeig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Grant Grove also viewed

Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA
Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA
 
Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA
Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA
 

Been to Grant Grove? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing