We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Stop by and get food, info, gifts, etc” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Grant Grove

Grant Grove
Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA
5595653341
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Inside Kings Canyon National Park is this grove of giant Sequoias.
Concord, CA
Level Contributor
32 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Stop by and get food, info, gifts, etc”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

Grant Grove village has the following: a vistor center, a small grocery/basics store, a gift shop, a pizza parlor (in the back of the restaurant), a restaurant, bathrooms, etc. The check in for the John Muir lodge and all the Grant Grove cabins is here, just in between the gift shop and restaurant.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank TeddiBytheBay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

181 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    129
    38
    13
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hythe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Trees are awe inspiring”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

This site is great providing a bit more history on the sequoias which was fascinating. Take your camera and enjoy. Don't forget to look for the squirrels too.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank kannys_mum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Washington
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“How can you not love a Sequoia Tree?”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

This park is astonishing. We've been to many many national parks and always marvel at our good fortune to live in such a amazing country with all this preserved for everyone to enjoy. This park is in our top 5....it is a bit off the beaten path but for us, it was so worth the effort to get there.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank WigTeig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Loius
Level Contributor
28 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“A quiet and peaceful place for a night’s rest”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

We drove from San Francisco and stayed one night at the cabin in Grant Grove before going to Sequoia National Park the next day. The location was good. The stores, restaurant, and visitor center were right next to each other. The General Grant Tree Trail was also close by. Very convenient. The cabin was rustic and basic. Not the best but good enough to rest a tired soul. You need to pay for hot water in the shared bathroom. But the sink outside did run hot water in case there was a need. We walked around the area and saw sea of giant pine cones on the side of the road. Quite fun for some photos.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank traveler_of_lifetime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Livermore, California
Level Contributor
68 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Tourist Stop, but Small & Quaint”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

We walked through the visitor center, and the gift shop. It was small, but not mobbed with people. They have a nice restaurant here, but we were not hungry. I liked it here because it is much smaller than Yosemite, and much more humble. During the day they set up a little bbq/food service outside.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Kel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Grant Grove also viewed

Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA
Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA
 
Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA
Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA
 

Been to Grant Grove? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing